We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely night”
Review of Ca Centopietre

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ca Centopietre
Ranked #134 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
65 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A lovely night”
Reviewed 8 June 2013

We had a rough day coming from Paris into Venice. But this little place was wonderful. The bed was comfortable and the pillows were soft. A good bathroom finished it off. Our room's window opened on the little alley running alongside the hotel. It felt very real. The owner pleasantly greeted us in the morning and brought us coffee. Overall we had a good night sleep, the location is off the beaten track and it felt very real.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TbabydollW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    81
    25
    10
    3
See reviews for
28
133
12
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Pickerington, Ohio
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

This is not a hotel for the high maintenance traveler; no pool, no exercise room, no bar, no chocolates on the pillow, no round-the-clock liveried staff anxiously awaiting your silliest request. But it is a wonderful find for anyone looking for a wonderful value. Clean, reliable, prefectly located, and run by the very most accomodating man in all of Venice, Carlos The Magnificent. There is absolutely no length to which Carlos will not go to make your stay perfect. When he could not make a train reservation for me on line with my credit card (while I was out enjoying myself about town) he even tried to book my ticket on his own card, which didn't work either, as the system was throwing a fit that day. On my return to the hotel he actually offered to send someone to the terminal for me to get my ticket from a machine, at NO CHARGE!

If you are not the type of traveler who demands all the amenities of the big chain hotels, this is the best value in Venice, no question.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank David S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2013

We booked a double room based on other travelers' comments which, for the most part, seemed very favorable. The hotel advertises air conditioning. It was a muggy day and after hauling suitcases over bridges, we were very hot and anticipated a nice cool room. It turns out that the air conditioning is only available when the owner feels it is necessary. It is not a feature necessarily available when the guest feels they require it. This was my 5th trip to Venice and this was the first hotel where this was the case. I was told there was a screen on the window to avoid mosquitoes but it was ripped and didn't close. The walls needed a paint job badly. The window in the bathroom had a hole in the glass that was stuffed with paper. The shower curtain was moldy. The bed only had an unfitted sheet over the bare mattress. We had to search out toilet paper as the last roll was never replaced. This hotel is in a lovely location and many of these items do not seem to be costly to fix and would give a much better impression. We are budget travelers and are not used to luxury at all but budget doesn't mean that standards of cleanliness or repair should be lowered.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank PeppinaD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carlo P, Manager at Ca Centopietre, responded to this review, 26 May 2013
Dear Guests,

thank you for your review we are sure that will help us to improve or services,

I can immagine that you carry your luggage over the street and bridges can be very hot but we dont think is reasonalble to have air condition on with a temperature so low please review the forecast of the past two months and you will see the bad weather we had and still very cold. we provided toilet paper every day with an extra roll, i dont think is a dramma if you have to request an extra non body tell is not available. Maintenance we are continuosely provided during the year.

Ca Centopietre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Stayed in the Annex above the bar on the same street. Yes there was music from the place underneath from midday to about 11pm, but it wasn't too bad. (I wear good earplugs at night anyway.)

Rooms cleaned very well daily, linen refreshed + bed made. Two bottles of wine for 6 Euros to choose from if you want. Roomy bathroom and room.

Carlo was a gracious host and there from 7am to 7pm in case of problems. I left my bags with him til late afternoon too, after checkout.

As some reviewers pointed out, breakfast lacked ham but I was fine with that, as there was a nice selection of Continental style food (croissants, bread pieces, cereals juice etc)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nickeroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013 via mobile

Ugly, old and scary room decoration, very noisy and you can only has a sleep from 2am to 6am. The air conditioning is failure so you can't close windows and sleep with those "noise" and mosiquito.

Location is bad and difficult to go there.

Not recommend and i definitely wont visit this hotel again !!!!


Helpful?
2 Thank Mcchoychai
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Carlo P, Proprietario at Ca Centopietre, responded to this review, 7 May 2013
Dear Guests,

I am sorry that your accomodation dont meet your expectation I could accept about room decoration question of taste. for the rest i dont agree with you: air condition since we have temperature of 20° during the day and 12 during the nights, if you open the window and tun on the light mosquito is coming inside the room. Location: Dorsoduro district is considerer one of the most interested area of Venice, and to find us you have a lot of information on the web, map direction and any other information if you visit our website you can find also video showing the way from the nearest boat station, our if you contact us we send you all the information necessary.

Ca Centopietre
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

We booked this B&B based on the excellent reviews.

We booked what was called a "Dependence Double" on Lastminute.com which we thought would be just a standard double room. On arrival it turned out that this was actually a room in what was called "the annex". The Annex was around the corner from the B&B (so wasn't actually in the B&B at all - although breakfast was served there).
It was directly above the local Taverna. The taverna is packed and pumping music from around 12pm to 12 am and you can hear EVERYTHING from the bedroom. From the music, to the people talking right down to people cutting their food.
Not only did this noise keep us up until 12 am but then the room's windows are directly on the alleyway / road and not having double glazing meant that we could hear absolutely everything that went on around us. We were woken every 2 hours or so to "merry" tourists and locals chatting loudly outside our window all night long.
So not a very peaceful setting..

That being said - the room was very spacious, bed comfortable and the room was cleaned on a daily basis.

The location is perfect - very close to the Accadamia (sp?!) boat stop and museums which was very handy.

The breakfast left a bit to be desired. Consisted of 3 cereals, tea/coffee, croissants & Jam and that was it. In other Europe destinations we've stayed there is usually at least some cold meats and fresh cheeses...

I think if you were staying in the main B&B part then this would be a great stay - Just don't book the Dependence double!!!

Room Tip: Don't stay in the Annex or book a "dependence double"
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JRS2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baia Mare, Maramures, Romania
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 March 2013

We loved the location, not too close, not too far from San Marco and Grand Canal and the produce market. The hotel staff is very nice. We had our room cleaned every day. Breakfast was very good, still it was missing some ham&eggs (if you're accustomed to have a rich meal in the morning). Staying in the hotel's annex was a bit annoying because it has a cafeteria right under the rooms, very noisy 'till late in the weekends. Also, the street noise is very loud during the day.

Room Tip: Better not to stay in the annex. Take a room in the main building, if it's available. They are n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Hotel Agli Alboretti
#179 of 385 in Venice
235 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#151 of 385 in Venice
638 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Pausania
Hotel Pausania
#166 of 385 in Venice
451 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Tivoli Hotel
Tivoli Hotel
#198 of 385 in Venice
291 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Palazzo Guardi
Palazzo Guardi
#99 of 457 in Venice
557 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Antica Locanda Montin
Antica Locanda Montin
#117 of 457 in Venice
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ca Centopietre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ca Centopietre

Property: Ca Centopietre
Address: Campiello Centopietre Dorsoduro 1198 | Campiello Centopietre, 30123 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #134 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ca Centopietre 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ca Centopietre is situated in the heart of Venice, on Dorsoduro district, just a few steps from the Accademia Bridge, the Galleria of the Fine Arts, and at 20 minutes walking distance to St. Mark's Square and major point of interest. There are 5 rooms, each one different from the other, with copies of paintings by Canaletto and Guardi on the walls, some rooms with view to a private garden. Rooms complete of heating, AC, minibar, tv, hairdreyer and free wi-fi connection. On request instruction and video on how to reach the hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Ca Centopietre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ca Centopietre Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing