We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bauer Casa Nova
Ranked #27 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've just returned from 8 days at the Bauer Casa Nova in Venice. The hotel is a real gem and we couldn't fault it in any way. The location is excellent, overlooking the Grand Canal where breakfast can be taken outside when the weather is dry. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble - a small problem with the bath plug one evening was resolved while we had dinner. The food is very good indeed - a great choice at breakfast including prosecco, and we had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant on one occasion. The room was wonderful, on the top floor with a small balcony overlooking the roof tops and beyond them the Campanile in St Mark's square, yet was very quiet. The room was very spacious and very well appointed, with a small kitchen area which we didn't use, and a marble bathroom with bath and shower, robes and slippers were provided too. The vaporetti are just a short walk away, as are San Marco, shops and excellent restaurants. An excellent hotel! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Pendeb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and for highlighting the positive features of the Bauer Casa Nova. We are pleased that you found the experience satisfactory and that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel and our attentive staff.

We certainly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back on another trip to Venice.


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (169)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

57 - 63 of 169 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well, I was thinking what to write about hotel in premium location of Venice. It is quite difficult to measure "value for money" if the location drives the price more than any other factor.
I have stayed in many 5* hotels. For sure, this hotel has all features you would expect from hotel of this category. But, if you spend a weekend in centre of Venice, you would expect something special. Esp. for price you pay in this hotel. Thus I will not describe all things which were right. This is what other reviewers did. I will focus on what should be better as this will result in our looking for another hotel when coming back to Venice.
Casa Nova is depandance of Bauer hotel. It is separate building with very nice rooms. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. But a few details downgraded the stay in our eyes.

1. Check-in. Yes, we arrived quite soon, about 11:30 am, although check in is since 3 pm. We asked receptionist whether it is possible to check in earlier. As expected, answer was no as the hotel was fully booked, but they "will put our room to priority list". But when we asked once again at 2 pm we were told that our room will be earliest at 3 pm. We were tired, so we sit down at lobby in place where receptionists could see us. But nobody shown care to let us know when the room is ready. There was almost no traffic at the reception, so they had plenty of time to do it. At 3 the room was ready.
2. Housekeeping. Next day we left hotel at 8:30 to the city. We left "please make up our room" sign on our door. Surprisingly, when we arrived back at about 1 pm, room was not touched. I would expect from hotel of this category to check regularly whether something happens and arrange cleaning.
3. Wifi - compared with experience of previous reviewer, wifi was already for free, but connection was terrible. Signal was very poor and often disconnected. It was almost impossible to do such easy task like checking opening hours of museum we wanted to visit.
4. Last, but not least, air condition in our room stopped cooling every few (approx. 4) hours. Thus if you set AC for some temperature in the evening, you wake up during night with temperature in the room 3 degrees above your selected temperature.

As I wrote above, all other features of the hotel were on expected level. But ..... when you book weekend in the centre of Venice, you would expect something special.......or at least that you do not need to care about such details.....

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank mrjohn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your detailed review on Tripadvisor as it helps us improve our standards. We hope you will reconsider not staying with us in the future as I would be delighted to show you we can really do better.
Thank you for complementing our staff, rooms and feature as well as our location, just one block away from San Marco. I regret to read about the three issues experienced and will follow up with the heads of department involved for better supervision in their area. It would be very helpful if you could let me know your last name or room number so that I may take the appropriate measure to prevent similar problems to surface again in the future. I would be very grateful if you could write to me at: prusconi@bauervenezia.it
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Bauer Casa Nova for 2 nights at the end of June on a trip with my teenage cousin and Nana. We actually booked a different hotel but were upgraded through BA holidays. The Bauer is a series of hotels near each other and Casa Nova is the most modern (i.e not a beautiful old building and not in the main part of the hotel) and consequently the least expensive.

Location is perfect, a few steps from St Mark's square and in a beautiful canal side building.

Breakfast is nice - a small buffet of mostly continental style, but the seating outside along the grand canal is fabulous.

Rooms in Casa Nova are heavily decorated in Venetian style, overwhelmingly heavy fabrics and quite dark which isn't to my taste but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Beds are comfortable, everything's clean and the shower was good.

Massive drawback- there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel ( they charge 20 euros) which really needs to change.

Worth it for the breakfast view but I'd try somewhere new next time I'm in Venice.

Stayed: June 2014
3  Thank SamC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for the time to review our property BAUERs Casa Nova.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location, the breakfast and the view.
Regarding the Wi-Fi, our charge is 20 Euros for the whole stay, but hopefully we will be offering it free in the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit sometime in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The main hotel is beautiful with a great location we stayed in the annexe Casa Nova. Loved having clean bedding and towels everyday and appreciated the robes and slippers, our room was small, clean and comfortable, unfortunately no view. The breakfast choice is extremely good and enjoyed the lovely views on the terrace. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had problems with the Wi Fi more off than on. The only disappointment, this was our honeymoon and the hotel management did not make any effort to make our stay special, a room upgrade or even a bottle of Prosecco, which other hotels offer.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeniseSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2014

Dear guests,

We appreciate your comments on BAUER CASA NOVA. It is a pleasure to know you were properly looked after and that the staff was helpful and friendly.
Nevertheless, I am extremely sorry to read that your special occasion was not celebrated by the hotel. We normally do send a bottle of Prosecco or a gift and it is upsetting to read that on this occasion we did not.

I hope you will have a chance to visit us again (perhaps on your wedding anniversary?) so that we may have a chance to make up for our mistake.

Wishing you a wonderful life together!

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had to stay in the Bauer Casa Nova because we had 5 people - 3 teenage kids. It is in a great location, close to San Marco. The hotel restaurant is right on the Grand Canal, which was nice during cocktail hour and breakfast. Breakfast was lovely. The staff helped with transportation and dinner reservations. We had a great time in Venice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sjane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 24 June 2014

Dear Guests
We are delighted you enjoyed your family stay at the BAUER CASA NOVA and that you appreciated our effort to make your stay with us special.
Sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed in the Casa Nova for 4 nights in February and woudl definately recommend to anyone visting Venice. The location is perfect, just a two minute walk to Piazza San Marco. The hotel itself is beautifully appointed, and we found the rooms to be comfortable and welcoming.
We stayed bed and breakfast, which is taken in the main hotel. This was great, really enjoyed looking out over the grand canal over breakfast.
We stayed the week before carnivale, and managed to get a fantastic rate on the room. Not sure if this is because of the timing, but it was a great time to go. We even go to see Venice in flood as it was high spring tide. This was magical, and added to the great experience we had.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janeyb24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2015

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bauer Casa Nova.
We really appreaciate your comment, it gives us great pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.

Your feedback is important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the next future!


Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The hotel is brilliantly located and the food is divine. The terrace has to be the best in Venice. Our room no 26 was spectacular , extremely large and spacious - we loved it. Casa Nova is located in an annex to the main hotel but all meals etc are taken in the main building. The prices for Casa Nova reflect this. The second night we were there our stay was disrupted by an extrememly noisy group with childred screaming and shouting in the corridors into the early hours. The reception asked them to tone it down to no avail. The third night we were moved to a much smaller and less well appointed room to get away from the mayhem downstairs. This was effectively a DOWNGRADE. The hotel offered us no recompense or apology for the inconvenience - we felt very let down.

Room Tip: no 26 is fabulous
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HPJDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Thank you for submitting your review of the property. I am disappointed to hear of your concerns with the room downgrade. Our records show you were moved to a room of the same category and that our apologies for the previous night were extended. If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please feel free to reach out to me at gcellerino@bauervenezia.com or +39 041 5207022.

Warmest regards,

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#69 of 385 in Venice
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#76 of 385 in Venice
914 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#43 of 385 in Venice
1,211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Casa Nova

Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 230 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range: £89 - £365 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Casa Nova 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Bauer Casa Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Casa Nova Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing