We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A trip to the glorious decadent past of a magnificent city !”
Review of Bauer Casa Nova

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bauer Casa Nova
Ranked #19 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“A trip to the glorious decadent past of a magnificent city !”
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Had an amazing time ! Glorious as Venice is ,Bauer Casa nova is one of its many treasures.The rooms are breathtaking ! We stayed in two of the superior suites ,as we are a family of five ,with two grown up kids and a 9 year old ! The staff are extremely helpful and the service five star ,in the true meaning of the words. The location is so central and has the best spot on the banks of the grand canal .Breakfast every morning is one of the many highlights of the stay at the hotel . The Casa nova is tucked away from the hustle and bustle of the main building and feels much more private and relaxing .

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sammyjaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 1 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for the kind words, it was an absolute pleasure to lern that you really enjoyed your stay at The Bauer Casa Nova.
It gives us great pleasure to learn that we managed to exceed your expectations across every aspect of your stay as our team take great pride in providing services.


We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers in the near future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    87
    48
    12
    5
    7
See reviews for
36
96
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014

We stayed in the penthouse suite for 3 nights in July. It was great. This property is a 5 second walk from the front door of the Bauer Hotel and you have full access to all to the amenities and services of the hotel, but you get the benefit of being in a separate, more private and less bustling building. The suite is large, with two bathrooms and a private rooftop terrace, and was more than enough room for parents and three kids. Being in the separate building was quiet and great for a family. The location is also perfect - 2 minutes from San Marco, right in the middle of everything and a great place to base explorations of Venice because it is easy to get back to - you just find your way back to San Marco and you can find your way back to the hotel - that is by no means a given for other locations in Venice. The main hotel also has a patio/terrace at the restaurant-bar with one of the best outdoor canal views in all of Venice. The hotel staff is outstanding, helpful, and professional and everyone spoke excellent English. The concierge was very responsive and helpful - our first visit to Venice. It's expensive, but that's to be expected with this level of location, service and being a five star property. A word to the wise, this is not the place to order a casual cocktail unless you don't care about being charged 23 euros for a Stoli and tonic, which is incredibly ridiculous and way more than other local bars charge - I guess you pay for the view. We got a good laugh. The wifi was intermittent but it was like that in all 4 luxury hotels we visited in Italy, so I think it's just to be expected. Breakfast was great except the runny scramble eggs, but again, that's an Italy thing and has nothing to do with this particular place. We would go back and we would definitely recommend this place to friends and family.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We've just returned from 8 days at the Bauer Casa Nova in Venice. The hotel is a real gem and we couldn't fault it in any way. The location is excellent, overlooking the Grand Canal where breakfast can be taken outside when the weather is dry. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and nothing is too much trouble - a small problem with the bath plug one evening was resolved while we had dinner. The food is very good indeed - a great choice at breakfast including prosecco, and we had a lovely evening meal in the restaurant on one occasion. The room was wonderful, on the top floor with a small balcony overlooking the roof tops and beyond them the Campanile in St Mark's square, yet was very quiet. The room was very spacious and very well appointed, with a small kitchen area which we didn't use, and a marble bathroom with bath and shower, robes and slippers were provided too. The vaporetti are just a short walk away, as are San Marco, shops and excellent restaurants. An excellent hotel! We will definitely return!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pendeb_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 1 December 2015
Dear Guest,

Many thanks for your kind comments and for highlighting the positive features of the Bauer Casa Nova. We are pleased that you found the experience satisfactory and that you enjoyed the unique location of the hotel and our attentive staff.

We certainly value your patronage and look forward to welcoming you back on another trip to Venice.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prague
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Well, I was thinking what to write about hotel in premium location of Venice. It is quite difficult to measure "value for money" if the location drives the price more than any other factor.
I have stayed in many 5* hotels. For sure, this hotel has all features you would expect from hotel of this category. But, if you spend a weekend in centre of Venice, you would expect something special. Esp. for price you pay in this hotel. Thus I will not describe all things which were right. This is what other reviewers did. I will focus on what should be better as this will result in our looking for another hotel when coming back to Venice.
Casa Nova is depandance of Bauer hotel. It is separate building with very nice rooms. Hotel staff was pleasant and helpful. But a few details downgraded the stay in our eyes.

1. Check-in. Yes, we arrived quite soon, about 11:30 am, although check in is since 3 pm. We asked receptionist whether it is possible to check in earlier. As expected, answer was no as the hotel was fully booked, but they "will put our room to priority list". But when we asked once again at 2 pm we were told that our room will be earliest at 3 pm. We were tired, so we sit down at lobby in place where receptionists could see us. But nobody shown care to let us know when the room is ready. There was almost no traffic at the reception, so they had plenty of time to do it. At 3 the room was ready.
2. Housekeeping. Next day we left hotel at 8:30 to the city. We left "please make up our room" sign on our door. Surprisingly, when we arrived back at about 1 pm, room was not touched. I would expect from hotel of this category to check regularly whether something happens and arrange cleaning.
3. Wifi - compared with experience of previous reviewer, wifi was already for free, but connection was terrible. Signal was very poor and often disconnected. It was almost impossible to do such easy task like checking opening hours of museum we wanted to visit.
4. Last, but not least, air condition in our room stopped cooling every few (approx. 4) hours. Thus if you set AC for some temperature in the evening, you wake up during night with temperature in the room 3 degrees above your selected temperature.

As I wrote above, all other features of the hotel were on expected level. But ..... when you book weekend in the centre of Venice, you would expect something special.......or at least that you do not need to care about such details.....

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrjohn888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,

We appreciate your detailed review on Tripadvisor as it helps us improve our standards. We hope you will reconsider not staying with us in the future as I would be delighted to show you we can really do better.
Thank you for complementing our staff, rooms and feature as well as our location, just one block away from San Marco. I regret to read about the three issues experienced and will follow up with the heads of department involved for better supervision in their area. It would be very helpful if you could let me know your last name or room number so that I may take the appropriate measure to prevent similar problems to surface again in the future. I would be very grateful if you could write to me at: prusconi@bauervenezia.it
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at The Bauer Casa Nova for 2 nights at the end of June on a trip with my teenage cousin and Nana. We actually booked a different hotel but were upgraded through BA holidays. The Bauer is a series of hotels near each other and Casa Nova is the most modern (i.e not a beautiful old building and not in the main part of the hotel) and consequently the least expensive.

Location is perfect, a few steps from St Mark's square and in a beautiful canal side building.

Breakfast is nice - a small buffet of mostly continental style, but the seating outside along the grand canal is fabulous.

Rooms in Casa Nova are heavily decorated in Venetian style, overwhelmingly heavy fabrics and quite dark which isn't to my taste but we didn't spend much time in the room anyway. Beds are comfortable, everything's clean and the shower was good.

Massive drawback- there is no free wifi anywhere in the hotel ( they charge 20 euros) which really needs to change.

Worth it for the breakfast view but I'd try somewhere new next time I'm in Venice.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank SamC123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for the time to review our property BAUERs Casa Nova.

We are pleased you enjoyed the location, the breakfast and the view.
Regarding the Wi-Fi, our charge is 20 Euros for the whole stay, but hopefully we will be offering it free in the near future.

We hope to have the pleasure of your return visit sometime in the near future.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

The main hotel is beautiful with a great location we stayed in the annexe Casa Nova. Loved having clean bedding and towels everyday and appreciated the robes and slippers, our room was small, clean and comfortable, unfortunately no view. The breakfast choice is extremely good and enjoyed the lovely views on the terrace. The staff were very helpful and friendly. We had problems with the Wi Fi more off than on. The only disappointment, this was our honeymoon and the hotel management did not make any effort to make our stay special, a room upgrade or even a bottle of Prosecco, which other hotels offer.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DeniseSar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear guests,

We appreciate your comments on BAUER CASA NOVA. It is a pleasure to know you were properly looked after and that the staff was helpful and friendly.
Nevertheless, I am extremely sorry to read that your special occasion was not celebrated by the hotel. We normally do send a bottle of Prosecco or a gift and it is upsetting to read that on this occasion we did not.

I hope you will have a chance to visit us again (perhaps on your wedding anniversary?) so that we may have a chance to make up for our mistake.

Wishing you a wonderful life together!

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kimberly, Idaho
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

We had to stay in the Bauer Casa Nova because we had 5 people - 3 teenage kids. It is in a great location, close to San Marco. The hotel restaurant is right on the Grand Canal, which was nice during cocktail hour and breakfast. Breakfast was lovely. The staff helped with transportation and dinner reservations. We had a great time in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sjane74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Casa Nova, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests
We are delighted you enjoyed your family stay at the BAUER CASA NOVA and that you appreciated our effort to make your stay with us special.
Sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
892 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Casa Nova? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Casa Nova

Property: Bauer Casa Nova
Address: San Marco 1459, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Casa Nova 5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, LoveHolidays and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bauer Casa Nova reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Casa Nova Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing