We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Understated luxury” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Oltre Il Giardino

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Oltre Il Giardino
Ranked #117 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Canterbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Understated luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 April 2014

We loved this hotel although it wasn't exactly what we'd expected from the reviews. I think we'd expected something grander and it was more like a very exclusive B & B. The staff were fantastic - very welcoming but didn't impose on you at all - they were there if you needed them but didn't crowd you. This is the only hotel I have ever gone to breakfast wearing my slippers - but that's how comfortable it felt. The breakfast was amazing. The hotel is fantastically located - off the beaten track but an easy walk or water bus ride to all the main things you want to see. The most magical thing about the hotel was walking into the grounds - just a gate in the wall next to a small canal- but as you closed the gate the hub bub of Venice was blocked off completely and bird song took over. Our tip for Venice - buy a water bus ticket for the whole of your stay - whenever your legs get tired jump on one for a sit down and carry on site-seeing - either Venice itself of across the lagoon.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank KateC222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

310 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    282
    27
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
50
221
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
97 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My partner and I have traveled all across the United States, plus Brazil, Argentina and nearly all the major European capitals. But this hotel was the best of all. I'd go back to Venice just to stay there.

Oltre il Giardino is in an old palazzo, but it's been beautifully renovated inside. Our room was very spacious by even U.S. standards -- an even rarer find among older European hotels. Also unusual for a hotel in Venice: it has a lovely garden where they serve the excellent daily breakfast.

But don't delay in trying to get a reservation. Oltre il Giardino has only six rooms, according to its website (although it shows photos for seven rooms on the site).

A word of advice, however. Make sure you get very detailed instructions for finding the hotel. I got very lost before I discovered that the map I bought didn't show the hotel's street.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank jimhopkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

I am so glad that they had a room available for us at this 6-room gem in this quiet but convenient area of Venice. It was evident that much of their business was from repeat customers.

Our suite was not luxurious (though the bathroom was), but there were many windows and much more light and air than one expects in Venice. The house that has become Oltre Il Giardino is very homey and charming, from the garden to the breakfast room to the wall that is its public face to the fondimenta.

Service was great, the kind of personal attention that comes from care and enthusiasm (not just training.) The breakfast was very good, especially the sweets. The bed was too firm for our middle-aged American bodies -- enough so that our sleep was impacted a bit.

The location is great for Venice veterans, but some first-timers might feel that they are not close enough to the action at San Marco. The location is really great if you would prefer to avoid the biggest crowds and would like to enjoy restaurants that actually have a few Venetians as patrons. It should be noted as well that the train station and bus station are both within easy walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BaronVonH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
82 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

Recommended by friends for its quiet intimacy and superb service, on our first trip to Venice we also decided the location was perfect as well. We were well located to access all parts of Venice by foot or boat, but away from the crowded tourist areas. And some of the nicest shops we found in Venice turned out to be in this area as well. The staff hospitality was great in all aspects of service and guidance. The room was a combination of nice restoration and modern touches, and our only complaint would be the mattress was a bit firm and the pillows a bit stiff. Nonetheless we slept peacefully because the whole atmosphere was quiet, relaxed and comfortable. We would absolutely return here if we visit Venice again.

Room Tip: We really liked having a junior suite on the upper floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank WarrenShoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hereford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

This was great choice B&B. We stayed in Venice for a long weekend on the end of our Italian trip before heading home. Again location was key and it's a good central one. The room was on the first floor and was great. Bigger than expected with a strong shower flow. The staff were helpful with short cuts on how to get to places and gave good info about reasonable places to eat. Drinking can cost a fortune in Venice so be aware. Interesting place, glad we made the effort.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2013

A hidden home in the center of Venice, this b&b has a great location, is quiet and charming. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Located about a 5 minute walk from the Vaporetto stop, 25 minutes to Piazza San Marco, and 15 minutes to the Rialto Bridge and the Accademia. There are some nice restaurants and shops very close by. The ambiance is great, but is more English cottage than Venetian style, which may not be what some people are looking for when in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeckyDonahue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Princes Risborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have recently returned from our first visit to Venice and stayed here. I can highly recommend this small hotel. All the staff were extremely friendly, kind and helpful. Nothing was too much trouble - even a delicious cup of tea brought up to the bedroom on our return from a hard day's sight seeing (all included)! Delicious breakfast included too. Only 6 bedrooms and ours was extremely comfortable with a sitting area as well with sofa and TV. It is in a very pretty, quiet area, tucked away from the hustle and bustle of Venice and yet just around the corner from Santa Maria Gloriosa del Frari. We do hope to go back again one day soon.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Novecento Boutique Hotel
Novecento Boutique Hotel
#53 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 410 reviews
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#103 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 883 reviews
San Polo
Palazzetto Madonna
Palazzetto Madonna
#112 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Maria Adele
Ca' Maria Adele
#5 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 607 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#7 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Pisani Hotel
Ca' Pisani Hotel
#15 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oltre Il Giardino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oltre Il Giardino

Property: Oltre Il Giardino
Address: San Polo 2542 | Fondamenta Contarini, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Suites
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The house, which once belonged to Alma Mahler, the composer's widow who lived there in the 1920's, lies next to a small canal just a stone’s throw from the Church of the Frari, has now been turned into an exclusive but homely retreat. This enchanting place in the hearth of Venice offers something unique to those visiting the city. Our guests will feel that they have really found a home away from home. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Oltre Il Giardino Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing