We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Classical Beauty”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Allegany
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Classical Beauty”
Reviewed 28 August 2013

I selected the hotel because of the recommendation in Rick Steves' guidebook. The building was built in 1288 and the hotel is adorned with style. The owners were friendly and helpful. The location was great because it is located by the market (midway down the Grand Canal). The croissants at breakfast are simply splendid and melt in your mouth. There is no television in the room which is okay because you should be spending your time in the beautiful city. I would recommend this hotel without any hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CJ C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    278
    210
    56
    25
    3
See reviews for
207
236
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Yes we were on the top floor and yes there is no elevator and we had to slug our cases up 6 flights of stairs but what do you expect with a building built in 1288! This is a charming hotel in the San Polo district. The staff is friendly and breakfast is included in the price of your stay. It is a simple breakfast with coffee, tea, orange juice biscuits etc...
I would personally stay here again.

Room Tip: Stay on the ground floor if you can
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Gusv638
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2013

I booked a stay at the Guerrato for an intended visit to Venice. Unfortunately there was some confusion about the dates and the trip was aborted. However, thanks to the understanding and excellent customer service from Roberto, we were able to save some of the costs and reduce our losses. We look forward to staying here when our plans materialize.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jasonbourne100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois, United States
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

I stayed at the Guerrato three nights in early August 2013. It is in a PRIME location (and is quite easy to get to (Rialto Mercado Vaporetto stop). The first night I was in a room literally off the lobby and while I was advised it might be a little noisy, I did not find it at all noisy. This room and my room for the other two nights shared a shower/toilet and while you might THINK this would be an inconvenience, it was no problem at all.

I rate this hotel HIGH for its "continental" breakfast (brads, cheese, cereals, juices and coffee). And HIGH for location. be aware that there is no elevator (I saw several guests struggling with their luggage up two flights or more of stairs). If you travel solo or on the cheap and pack lightly, this is a no-brainer stay. Great desk staff, prime location, solid breakfast. The AIR CONDITIONING was GREAT!!!

There is a LITTLE night noise in the street and the market noises begin about 5:30 a.m. or so, but that did not keep me from sleeping. A solid value!

Room Tip: Get a 1st floor room if you do not mind sharing toilet/bath space There is no elevator
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2013

We had a room on the fourth floor, overlooking the square. Noisy if the windows were open, but very quiet if you shut the windows and had the air con on. Great location, 15 mins walk to St Marks, nice places to eat and drink near the Rialto bridge. Staff lovely, even presented me with melon and a kiss on my birthday!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

Very large family room in this nice little hotel by the Rialto bridge. Breakfast was great and A/C worked well. Very clean and central. Kind of a hassle to have to pay cash - may be better if they took credit cards and offered a discount for cash. No elevator but not a big deal for us. Venice is expensive so this was a good value considering the options. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KaperKate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2013

This hotel offers a great location in Venice. It is very close to a water bus stop which means you do not need to drag your luggage around a maze of a city. Very walkable to all attractions in Venice. I found it to be clean and safe with large rooms. Breakfast was also included in the price with many options. I found this hotel to be very reasonable in price, as Venice is a very expensive city in general. Ask for a "Rick Steve's" discount and pay cash to knock off 5%.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snazzy507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
433 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#96 of 385 in Venice
420 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#99 of 385 in Venice
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
425 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#107 of 385 in Venice
482 reviews
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#93 of 385 in Venice
836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Property: Pensione Guerrato
Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#83 Family Hotel in Venice
#114 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing