We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #147 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Great location near the Rialto Mercato vaporetto stop and the market itself. Clean, roomy, very nice and knowledgable staff. Only complaint is that it could get a little noisy with market setting up in the morning or late night revelers. But this really didn't bother us much.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank rkniffen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (596)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

249 - 255 of 596 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

Short stroll to Rialto Bridge, fresh produce market just around the corner and vaporetto stop along the Grand Canal. Rooms are spacious for European hotels. Excellent staff eager to please. Only con of this 800 year old facility is its lack of an elevator. Carrying luggage up four flights (in my case) was extremely exhausting and would be impossible for elderly or mobility- challenged guests. A/C wasn't properly operating during our stay and opening windows let mosquitoes in. Large bath with huge shower.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank RCT63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We stayed at Pensione Guerrato for just one night in late October. At first sight, we were very disappointed by the location that seemed to be down a dark alley - a bit hard to find as it was our first trip to Venice - and not what we are used to in a "hotel". We learned later that a "pensione" is really more a boarding house, offering a room and breakfast, and not much more. We embraced the experience of being in Venice! The pleasant and helpful owners made our experience a positive one. They shared the history of the building as a nunnery in years past. The gentleman came down to carry our bags upstairs, as there is no elevator, and he did the same upon check out. The location is great - just steps from the Rialto bridge, night life, morning market, shopping, and even walkable to St.Mark's square (about 20 minutes). The vaporetto stop is close and a nice way to see the canal system but walking is so much more enjoyable as the vapaorettos are very crowded. An upgrade in the mattresses and bedding would be a huge plus for Pensione Guerrato; we had a quad room with a double bed and 2 singles - one of the singles was a cot and none of the mattresses or bed coverings were in very good repair. In contrast, the bathroom was very nicely updated. All in all, we would probably stay here again if visiting Venice because of the great location, excellent prices and very friendly owners.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mmpul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in Pensione Guerrato 4 nights in late October. We got a good price for Venice and it was discounted slightly for paying cash.

The location is awesome for exploring Venice. Because our night train from Paris arrived to early to check in, we decided to walk from the train station. Even though Venice is a maze, the signage pointing to the train station and the other direction towards Rialto (where the pensione is located) made it very easy to find our way. The trickiest part was actually finding Pensione Guerrato down a narrow little side street, you really have to watch for their sign. We bought a good map that showed the little street so that helped (highly recommend a good map).

Then every morning we jumped on the very conviently located Vaporetto stop at the Rialto Mercado to start our explorations. Coming back every night it was nice to spend a few minutes on the Rialto bridge watching the water traffic and listening to the street musicians before the 3 minute walk back to the hotel.

The hotel and rooms are really nice, good size rooms and updated bathrooms. The WIFI was a little sketchy on the fourth floor, we had to sit in the lobby one morning to get any signal. A couple of concerns that caused me to limit the stars I gave them: Lots of stairs with no lift. If you have mobility issues then look somewhere else. Just to get to the hotel from street level there is a floor of stairs.
They advertize AirCon, but only offer it during the hottest months of the year. In October it was unseasonly hot and humid and NO AC. We asked for a fan and they don't offer any. We had to leave our windows open and seriously got eaten alive by mosquitos even after coating ourselves with repellant.

Right below our window were a couple of bars that would play ridiculously loud music until 1 AM or later. Druck teenagers would be yelling and making noise the whole time. The small square on that side echos and amplifies the sound. The windows are double paned, but they didn't do much to keep the sound level down. Every morning at breakfast I heard other guests complaining about the noise.
Speaking of breakfast, (its included, which is good) it was pretty decent and what you usually get in Italy: cereal, yogurt, cornettos, coffee and OJ.

Overall I think we would stay here again for the price and location, but the noise and mosquitos might be a deal breaker.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 42MarkB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2013

I stayed here prior to my cruise. The hotel is conveniently located in what I would consider to be a central location. Although it is about a 2 minute walk from the Rialto Bridge, if you take the Rialto Mercato vaparetto stop, it is about 30 second to the front door. As others have stated, there is no elevator. There are a lot of steps. However, Roberto carried my bag up and down the stairs. So very appreciated! My room was on the second floor (using the American way of counting floors) and had a private bathroom. There was a lot of storage space, although the bath was tiny, it was more than adequate. Yes, I could hear outside noises, but it did not prohibit sleeping. An earlier review stated they didn't take credit cards, but they took mine. You do have to pay the daily tax in cash, but it was only one euro per day. I don't know if this is person room or per person, so make sure you have some cash on hand. The room didn't have a hair dryer, but they have them at the front desk. The bed was too hard for my preference, but I find that the beds are too hard in all Italian hotels. The breakfast did not have fruit or meat but there is the market just downstairs so you could pick up some really fresh food on your way out. There is a fabulous wine store just at the end of the street. There is a lot of wine in the back rooms, just ask the clerk to point the way.

I would stay here again and again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank GirlTraveler70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

Located near the Rialto bridge and adjacent to the market, our small group stayed in the apartment on the 4th floor- 3 bedrooms, 1 bath, kitchen and dining room. Clean and spacious. Air conditioning. The breakfast was good, but breakfast area can get very crowded.
We stayed 3 nights- one Saturday night. VERY noisy- the plaza was rocking! Better the other 2 nights, but the market vendors start unloading, etc. in the middle of the night. Since our visit was in October we wanted the windows open, which proved problematic. The mosquitos ate us up, but the easy remedy is to close the windows.
Staff was very helpful with suggestions, directions, maps.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dn483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

The hotel is set apart by its excellent location - mere steps away from the Rialto Market, a few minutes from the Rialto bridge and both Rialto vaporetto stops - and great price. My husband and I spent only 1 night there and took a night train both in and out of Venice. The hotel staff were incredibly accommodating in allowing us to drop out luggage off when we arrived in Venice (at 6 am) and to leave it again after we checked out until our next night train. Our room was clean and comfortable (the dark curtains were especially appreciated after a rather sleepless night train.) We did choose a room with a shared bathroom (for a cheaper rate) but there was a sink in the room and we didn't have any trouble taking showers or running out of hot water. We were served a good breakfast by European standards: coffee, juice, yogurt, cereals, but it was set apart by hot croissants straight from the oven! The front door was locked after 8 pm but the desk was open 24/7 which was very convenient.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jess N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#97 of 385 in Venice
585 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#121 of 385 in Venice
449 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#106 of 385 in Venice
437 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#150 of 385 in Venice
946 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Villa Rosa
Hotel Villa Rosa
#187 of 385 in Venice
531 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#64 of 385 in Venice
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#113 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £53 - £143 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing