We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”
Review of Pensione Guerrato

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pensione Guerrato
Ranked #143 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Greensboro, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Charming”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This was exactly what we expected. Charming, perfect location near the Rialto Medcato, clean and affordable. My family of 5 and I spend 2 wks in Italy and traveled from Venice to Rome.. Although it was not a budget friendly trip by any means we tried to save money where we could. Per our request we had one room that accommodated us all and it was comfortable and clean. Loved the old style. Felt like we were taken back in time a little. Breakfast was fine. I would have liked the option of a boiled egg or two but that was not typical of any place we stayed.This isn't luxury. This is character and charm. I would stay here.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tammym m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

551 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    204
    53
    23
    3
See reviews for
197
225
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Strongsville, Ohio
Level Contributor
245 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

This is a very convenient location from which to base your Venice exploration. Steps from the Vaporetto stop and in the middle of the Rialto market. Lots of food options close by. WARNING the Internet service is slow and not dependable. Breakfast is a bit minimalist but for the money, this is a good property.

Helpful?
Thank Cliff B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
much travelled Canadian
Level Contributor
90 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

The building has great character with venetian glass chandeliers and great pieces of furniture.
The location is right beside the Rialto market and close to the Rialto Mercato stop.....it's easy to walk everywhere.
The from desk staff (Roberto, Pietro and the lady with the short dark hair who gives excellent recommendations) were very friendly and knowledgeable. We travelled with our little dog and they are most welcoming of pets . He loved them and he is a good judge of character.
As said in other reviews the internet is a challenge due to the thickness of the walls. We had no problems with our Air Con and it worked well. The beds were a bit too hard.

Breakfast was fine. Fruit would be a welcome addition.
The one things which perplexes me is why a place of this quality with such attention to detail would have little packets of shampoo and tiny soaps. This is definitely something which could be upgraded.
Yes we would stay here again !!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travellingcanadian_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Issaquah, Washington
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This hotel was okay. We had to carry our own luggage up 3 flights. There was no lift. Some of the staff was friendly, others were not. It was clean and in a good location. Breakfast was fine and it was included.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coral Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We really enjoyed our stay at this hotel. Coming from the airport with luggage can be difficult, but this hotel is a 2 min. walk off the Rialto Mercato Stop. (Not the Rialto Bridge) It is right behind the market, so in the morning it was interesting to watch the set up and the sales. The included breakfast was great and served in a really nice room. We were able to walk everywhere from the hotel and there are nice shops and restaurants right near the hotel. The air worked well and the staff was very friendly. They let us leave our luggage the last day since we were heading out before leaving for a cruise and even let us use the bathroom before we left for the boat. (Great since the public bathrooms charge money in Venice.) We did have to walk up stairs. That didn't bother us, but if you have tons of luggage you may find that difficult. The price was very good for Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bribart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 171 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

This is the most torn I've ever been when writing a review. I want to give this place a 5 but while we loved it, there are things I didn't love. The price was great and we were able to sleep 5 in one room, saving us even more. I feel like I got a great value for my money, but not without some compromise. After spending some time in Europe we knew some things are different so we were very aware going in that was the case. The hotel was on a small back street, which to me was a plus.

Good: Nice convenient location to the valpretto and market. Great price. Large room and bathroom. Decent breakfast. Friendly and helpful front desk. Overall feel was very positive and we would return in a heartbeat.

Less Good: AC was almost worthless and just took the edge off if that. Luckily it wasn't very hot the time we were there. No TV, which was fine but would be nice for the short times we were in the room or at the end of a long day of walking. Beds are rock hard and bedding isn't high end. I slept great from all the walking but more than a couple days I might have been miserable. Wifi worked great, but not in the room. Old walls and big doors meant we had to either open the door or sit in the second floor common area to get internet.

As I said, we loved this place and I struggled to not get a 5 ranking, but even knowing it was Europe and things are different, I feel like there were too many knocks to give it a 5 overall.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dpuck1998
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

This bed and breakfast is ideally located at the Rialto Mercato valporetto stop on the Grand Canal. It's a very safe and clean area with lovely produce stands and all sorts of shopping nearby. The Rialto Mercato area is lively with a popular market by day and equally lively in the evening as a result of a couple of nearby bars serving the local favorite, 'Spritz', and also prosecco and beer. A well-behaved crowd lingers on the piazza, chatting good-naturedly and we happily joined them on our return from sightseeing each afternoon. Our room for three (mom, dad and 20-year-old daughter) was modest, immaculately clean and quite spacious, including the ensuite bathroom, which was larger than I had expected. The bed and bath linens were very nice. The hosts we met, Roberto and Monika, were welcoming, helpful in getting us oriented, and directed us to a few locally favorite restaurants at our request. The included continental breakfast was plentiful (including the best croissants we had anywhere in Italy) and served in their airy breakfast room.

As a result of this wonderful location and The Venice Travel Card, we were able to easily get around Venice by valporetto (water bus) as often as we wanted or walking. Pensione Guerrato had everything we needed without a moment's fuss.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NotinIrvineanymore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Castello
Hotel Al Piave
Hotel Al Piave
#51 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
Castello
Hotel Campiello
Hotel Campiello
#95 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 807 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#69 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 666 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#103 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 406 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Dalla Mora
Hotel Dalla Mora
#75 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 550 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pensione Guerrato? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pensione Guerrato

Property: Pensione Guerrato
Address: Calle drio la Scimia 240/a | Rialto, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#10 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#83 Family Hotel in Venice
#114 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Pensione Guerrato 1*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the pulsing heart of Venice, adjacent to the vibrant and brightly colored Rialto fish market, it's the perfect place to start experiencing life the venetian way. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Pensione Guerrato reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pensione Guerrato Venice
Pensione Guerrato Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing