We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel”
Review of Relais Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Relais Venezia
Ranked #117 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“excellent hotel”
Reviewed 15 July 2013

An excellent hotel located just behind St Marks Square, a map is provided to get to the hotel from the square and we managed quite well even though out sense of direction is dreaful. Very pleasant and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them, would definately recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

507 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    327
    147
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
82
324
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel’s apartment, just a few steps from the hotel. The apartment is big for 2 people, there where beds for at least 5 people.
The decor is nice. It’s well equiped: you even have a laundry machine.
You don’t have the breakfast included but have everything you need to make it, they even left coffee, tea and sugar.
Venice was the first stop in our honeymoon, they knew it and when we arrived we had champagne as courtesy. They also helped my husband with his request to leave a bouquet of flowers in the apartment.
The location is perfect: very close to Rialto and to San Marco.
People from the hotel can’t be nicer and helpful: they recommended us the best places for eating, sightseeing, and the best way to the train station when we left the city.
The apartment doesn’t have wifi, but you can use it every time you need in the hotel lobby.
Great price for the location, the city and the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located between Rialto bridge and St. Marco square, a five minutes walk each. It is beautiful and clean and stuff are very helpfull and nice.

If you have suitcases make sure you take a taxi to the hotel, otherwise you'll have to drag it over the small streets and stairs.

The hotel has an elevator going up only one floor. The second floor, where the suprier rooms are located, as 50 stairs more with no elevator!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revital M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and would definately recommend it.
We booked the top floor ''double gold room with a view' which was beautiful (room is a little bit smaller than it looks in the photos but still has perfectly adequate space for 2) - but then, for our last night, we were then upgraded to the 'triple/junior suite' which was wonderful. This room is much BIGGER than it looks in the photo, has a settee and a view straight out to the tower in Piazza San Marco - wonderful!
The staff were lovely, especially Dario who took time to enthusiastically recommend places to walk/eat etc, despite probably having been asked the same questions a thousand times! - a really warm, kind, funny and lovely man. Another guy behind the reception (didn't get his name) heard me struggling very slowly down the stairs with my bag on the last day and came running to the rescue! Thanks to all for such a lovely stay.

Some 'practical info':
- If arriving by water taxi, insist that they drop you off right at the hotel and not at San Marco, as ours tried to do! There is a dock literally 5 paces away from the front door of the hotel, so give them the phone nbr of the hotel, to call for directions if necessary (San Marco is only easier for THEM!).
- Hairdyer in the room is 1200 Watts - so good power/don't bother bringing your own.
- Only 2 small pots of combined shampoo/shower gel in the room so DO bring your own!
- There is a supermarket 2 minutes away - just ask the reception for directions.
- San Marco 5 mins /Rialto bridge 10 minutes brisk walk away.
- Our rooms were really quiet - only noise we heard was the clock in San Marco at midnight!
- If you like a really firm bed/pillow, you'll sleep well - if not, then less so!
- Individually controlled air conditioning.
- Last but not least....girls, there's a great handbag shop around the corner :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T0urist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was clean and well equipped, the staff were charming and friendly. The directions given to us to find the hotel were very good and the map provided is useful. The distance behind St Marks square is only about 10 minutes walk with plenty to see on the way. The continental style breakfast was plentiful and refills for the splendid cappuccinos were always offered by the friendly waitress.

Very comfortable bed and small but modern charming bathroom en suite.

We left the hotel by private water taxi just outside which the hotel arranged, only 25 minutes and we were at the airport.

We would recommend.

John and Shirley
.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucestershire
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2013

We chose this hotel because of its proximity to St Mark's Square. It was a little tricky to find, but it was worth it. Our room was nicely furnished and very clean and we were made to feel very welcome. We were very grateful for help in sorting a problem with our airport transfer and really appreciate the hotel going 'the extra mile' to give is breakfast an hour before the usual start time so that we wouldn'tisd out because of our early start. Thank you to Relais Venezia - we would definitely recommend you to others!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Currym0nster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level 5 Contributor
45 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Stayed in the "aparment suite" of the Relais V for three nights in April. As another reviewer noted it is an apartment not a suite, the hotel owner should probably change the language, but we knew that going in and were happy with our stay. We were courteously received on check in, then taken next door where you access the 2nd floor apt. via a small courtyard. There is a bedroom, small hall and kitchen overlooking the nondescript courtyard, and a bathroom that overlooks a lovely garden (you can't get to it, too bad!). Everything was clean and the kitchen was fully equipped - it would be ideal if you wanted to self-cater. We booked via the Relais website and then were offered a 15% discount for paying cash on checkout. In the end, it's not a romantic getaway sort of place, but we really liked having our own apartment. Note the pull-out bed is in the main bedroom and I imagine when pulled out it would occupy almost all the room. Two coulples could not comfortably stay here. Other points: the internet did not work during our stay; the shower in the bathroom is very narrow: it would be uncomfortable or possibly unusable for a wide person. We did notice the loud bar a couple of doors down from the hotel, and in fact had to step over a young American couple rolling(!) on the narrow street on our way home one night, but from the apartment you pretty much can't hear it.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank canuck_at_large
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#113 of 385 in Venice
1,107 reviews
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#86 of 385 in Venice
419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#107 of 385 in Venice
895 reviews
Castello
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
Hotel Palazzo Vitturi
#31 of 385 in Venice
938 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,011 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Venezia

Property: Relais Venezia
Address: Castello 5285, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#135 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Venezia Venice
Relais Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing