We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Give it a pass”
Review of Relais Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Relais Venezia
Ranked #111 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Keene, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Give it a pass”
Reviewed 19 July 2013

We stayed here for two nights. For less than three night stays you have to pay in cash so make sure you have plenty. Upon arrival they informed us that we would be in a different room each night. What a hassle but at that point no choice. Room 1 was dark and needed serious updating. Room 2 was a little better but small and not great air conditioning. They would only give us one room key by policy. Breakfast was very basic and the lowest quality that we had during our travels in Italy. The only redeeming factor for this hotel is that the location is great. I would not stay here again nor would I recommend it.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Raptorfolks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

504 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    324
    147
    20
    6
    7
See reviews for
82
321
7
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2013

I say enjoyable meaning the hotel itself, not for the time I spent here with food poisoning. The room was clean and nicely decorated, with space enough for our teen daughter who accompanied us. Unfortunately, I got food poisoning (not from the hotel) and spent most of my time in the bathroom. This was immaculately clean, although the shower cubicle had concertina doors to close it which were difficult.

When we had to check out I could not move so the hotel kindly let me stay longer until I could get on my feet again.

The location of the hotel is perfect, just a few streets away from the square, but do get the walking instructions and map from the hotel to find your way.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ozallens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north east
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2013

An excellent hotel located just behind St Marks Square, a map is provided to get to the hotel from the square and we managed quite well even though out sense of direction is dreaful. Very pleasant and helpful staff, nothing is too much trouble for them, would definately recommend

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cazjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We stayed in the hotel’s apartment, just a few steps from the hotel. The apartment is big for 2 people, there where beds for at least 5 people.
The decor is nice. It’s well equiped: you even have a laundry machine.
You don’t have the breakfast included but have everything you need to make it, they even left coffee, tea and sugar.
Venice was the first stop in our honeymoon, they knew it and when we arrived we had champagne as courtesy. They also helped my husband with his request to leave a bouquet of flowers in the apartment.
The location is perfect: very close to Rialto and to San Marco.
People from the hotel can’t be nicer and helpful: they recommended us the best places for eating, sightseeing, and the best way to the train station when we left the city.
The apartment doesn’t have wifi, but you can use it every time you need in the hotel lobby.
Great price for the location, the city and the place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Viribar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013 via mobile

The hotel is located between Rialto bridge and St. Marco square, a five minutes walk each. It is beautiful and clean and stuff are very helpfull and nice.

If you have suitcases make sure you take a taxi to the hotel, otherwise you'll have to drag it over the small streets and stairs.

The hotel has an elevator going up only one floor. The second floor, where the suprier rooms are located, as 50 stairs more with no elevator!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Revital M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Valbonne, France
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

Just returned from a 3 night stay at this lovely hotel and would definately recommend it.
We booked the top floor ''double gold room with a view' which was beautiful (room is a little bit smaller than it looks in the photos but still has perfectly adequate space for 2) - but then, for our last night, we were then upgraded to the 'triple/junior suite' which was wonderful. This room is much BIGGER than it looks in the photo, has a settee and a view straight out to the tower in Piazza San Marco - wonderful!
The staff were lovely, especially Dario who took time to enthusiastically recommend places to walk/eat etc, despite probably having been asked the same questions a thousand times! - a really warm, kind, funny and lovely man. Another guy behind the reception (didn't get his name) heard me struggling very slowly down the stairs with my bag on the last day and came running to the rescue! Thanks to all for such a lovely stay.

Some 'practical info':
- If arriving by water taxi, insist that they drop you off right at the hotel and not at San Marco, as ours tried to do! There is a dock literally 5 paces away from the front door of the hotel, so give them the phone nbr of the hotel, to call for directions if necessary (San Marco is only easier for THEM!).
- Hairdyer in the room is 1200 Watts - so good power/don't bother bringing your own.
- Only 2 small pots of combined shampoo/shower gel in the room so DO bring your own!
- There is a supermarket 2 minutes away - just ask the reception for directions.
- San Marco 5 mins /Rialto bridge 10 minutes brisk walk away.
- Our rooms were really quiet - only noise we heard was the clock in San Marco at midnight!
- If you like a really firm bed/pillow, you'll sleep well - if not, then less so!
- Individually controlled air conditioning.
- Last but not least....girls, there's a great handbag shop around the corner :-)

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank T0urist100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights and were very pleased with our choice. Our room was clean and well equipped, the staff were charming and friendly. The directions given to us to find the hotel were very good and the map provided is useful. The distance behind St Marks square is only about 10 minutes walk with plenty to see on the way. The continental style breakfast was plentiful and refills for the splendid cappuccinos were always offered by the friendly waitress.

Very comfortable bed and small but modern charming bathroom en suite.

We left the hotel by private water taxi just outside which the hotel arranged, only 25 minutes and we were at the airport.

We would recommend.

John and Shirley
.

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Shirley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
San Polo
Locanda Sant'Agostin
Locanda Sant'Agostin
#96 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 889 reviews
San Marco
Ca' Pagan
Ca' Pagan
#78 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 539 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#114 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,085 reviews
Castello
Hotel da Bruno
Hotel da Bruno
#49 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 961 reviews
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#117 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Relais Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Relais Venezia

Property: Relais Venezia
Address: Castello 5285, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
#70 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#135 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Relais Venezia 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Relais Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Relais Venezia Venice
Relais Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing