We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good with the Bad”
Review of Dolomiti Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Dolomiti Hotel
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Good with the Bad”
Reviewed 25 July 2013

Two of us stopped for 1 night end of June, having arrived at the train station from Germany at 9am I though I would see if it would be ok to leave the bags at the hotel and come back for check in, the hotel was only 5 mins walk from the train station, it is in a small side street but keep your eyes open for the entrance to the street as it can be easy to miss, having reached the hotel, the gentleman behind the desk was nice and polite I asked about leaving the bags, he had a quick look and was happy for us to check in then, this was fantastic as we had an overnight train so the use of a shower and ability to get changed helped.
we had a room with out an ensuite so it was use of a shared bathroom, although the toilet was outside our room, the shower was other side of the hotel and next floor down, it was clean and tidy but it was on the very small side, barely enough room to open the door and get out, which made it difficult to get changed and have a place to leave our clothes while showering. The breakfast well we found it really disappointing, there where two rooms we was told we was in the first room, there was only us while the 2nd room had a few tables of people nicely lit while our room was empty and dark, and to be honest the food was hard and stale and drinks were awful we left with out touching it there was no service just a “you sit here”. We had a room at the front and there can be a bit of noise from people passing, and we had a double bed room, but it was two single pushed together with two single duvets.
good for a short stay if your on a budget good service with a clean room, but lots could be improved

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank eddie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

300 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    129
    77
    28
    20
See reviews for
72
122
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Otley, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 July 2013

I have just returned from 4 nights at the Dolomiti, having stayed there before, I hoped it would be as I remembered it, and it was. Clean rooms, comfortable beds, good breakfast and friendly staff. Shower was excellent. It's a great location for seeing Venice, quiet at night, but near to the station, waterbuses and a short walk from the People Mover.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have air conditioning, but the fans are good on the lower floors. Floor 4 does get hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank anni a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

We enjoyed our stay at Hotel Dolomiti in May, 2013.

The reception staff were very friendly and helpful, the rooms really nice, clean and had a nice simple Venetian feel. The breakfast was fresh and sufficient. The breakfast staff looked after us well and ensured we had a very pleasant breakfast. The location is quiet and great for train travellers as it is just one lane on the left past the church as you come out of the railway station.

Room Tip: There is no lift so asking for a lower floor room would probably be a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Juliea657
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Location is excellent. Just couple of minutes walk from the main train station.

No Elevator which is common in such hotels in venice but what i dont like is that i put the request to give us ground floor or 1st floor because of our kids. But they didnt confirm/reply and also gave us room on 2nd floor. There is no Air conditioning (again hotels of this range dont have it mostly in Venice). Mosquitos are common problem in Venice so be Ready :)

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sightseer2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mildura, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

Great location right near the station. Staff were very friendly and helpful. The room was nice and clean, quite large also. There is a television and hair dryer. The bathroom and shower are both very small. The hotel has no lift and also no air conditioning in the rooms made it extremely difficult for us to sleep as we had to leave windows open and were still sweating from the heat. On the second day though we were brought a fan which is very kind of the staff. If you stay here find a room with an aircon!! Breakfast is average with not much choice, a croissant brought out to you and instant hot drink machines available. We enjoyed our stay here.

Room Tip: Find a room with an air conditioner.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank frequentraveller1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vienna, Austria
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2013

Since our first stay at Hotel Dolomiti in 2008 we always return there when we are in Venice. It's an old fashioned family hotel, clean and beautiful, service is excellent, people are very friendly. There is just one incommodity: no lift. But we don't mind.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Eboli158
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Having thought we would spend less nights than we actually did in Venice, the hotel that we had been previously staying at (Stella Alpina Edelweiss, which is good value for money) we booked Dolomiti Hotel which was located just in front. We werent able to look at our room before we paid, unfortunately! It was very disappointing, we had to share bathroom but there was only one for every 3 floors or so!!! There are no stairs, and we were almost at the very top, you could hear everything from inside the room, what was going in the exterior, and also in the halls... It seemed like a hospital room, not cosy at all. The shared bathroom didnt have toilet paper, and were in very poor conditions. The shower, again there were about 2 in the whole hotel to share! Staff wasnt friendly, and breakfast was average... Unfortunately, cannot say anything good, other than the hotel has a great location.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lina G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 385 in Venice
656 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Agli Artisti
Hotel Agli Artisti
#273 of 385 in Venice
554 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel San Geremia
Hotel San Geremia
#271 of 385 in Venice
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Il Mercante di Venezia
Cannaregio
Hotel Atlantide
Hotel Atlantide
#342 of 385 in Venice
318 reviews
Cannaregio
Universo Nord Hotel
Universo Nord Hotel
#256 of 385 in Venice
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dolomiti Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dolomiti Hotel

Property: Dolomiti Hotel
Address: Cannaregio 73-74 | (Calle Priuli ai Cavalletti), 30121 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #242 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Dolomiti Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 32
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Dolomiti Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing