We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B&B Casanova ai Tolentini. Not quite as it seemed.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casanova ai Tolentini
Ranked #185 of 454 Venice B&B and Inns
Venice
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“B&B Casanova ai Tolentini. Not quite as it seemed.”
Reviewed 22 April 2013

It is not a B&B as advertised - breakfast is not included. It is however available for 5 Euros, and is good value, at the Hotel Florida, to which this B&B is linked, some 6 minutes walk away. The Casanova itself has only 4 rooms hidden away behind an anonymous (except for its number) brown door. Our room was spacious, looked out over a typical venetion alleyway and was quiet. We enjoyed our stay even though it wasn't what we had originally expected. An early morning stroll before breakfast became a pleasureable part of the day!

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

301 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    145
    98
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
47
174
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
139 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

As this was our first time in Venice, and travelling with 2 children, we were keen to find accommodation within a short walking distance of the car hire return centre. After looking for weeks we settled on the b&b Tollentini as this was close to where we wanted to be, the only drawback is that you have to check in at the Hotel Florida (located near the railway station) collect your key from there and navigate to this hotel, not sure if they can offer any other alternative in the future however this would be appreciated by all the guests. The hotel does not offer canal views so look elsewhere if this is your desire but it does offer free wifi which the kids loved and a good choice of eateries around this location to keep you full! Also close to the "Glass bridge" and the Vaporetto (public water transport) boarding station. Sleeping was very easy because you are not located in the midst of tourists (whilst being this ourselves) and the windows offered great solace during the night. A good shower each morning and good beds provided for my rating.

Room Tip: We were located in room 21 and found this to be of good quality and at the end of the corridor so th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank 8Aussietravellers8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Midlands
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a 2 night stay in this B&B. The location was perfect in a beautiful spot which was nice and quiet.

Our room was small but pleasant although the bed was quite hard and we had a separate private bathroom. It was really the bathroom which let the accommodation down. There was black mould growing everywhere due to poor ventilation, this made the room smell and feel quite dirty. We avoided leaving anything in the room and used it as little as possible.

Breakfast was served in the cafe just around the corner which was nice with a lovely canalside setting.

On the plus side the location was great, close to everything and we loved the little food and drink bar recommended by a previous TA reviewer where you can grab a small glass of Chardonay and a ham roll for less than €2!

As keys have to be collected from the Hotel Florida, 10 mins away, I wouldn't recommend taking lots if heavy bags but for us with just hand luggage it was fine.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank I-J1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 4 April 2013

We spent few days in Venise in this B&B ans were delighted about the room, where it was and about how we were welcomed by the staff there.
For sure, we would take the same room if we had to come back.

Superbe endroit! Je le conseille vivement!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Yves-France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
230 reviews
158 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 213 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2013

We stayed in the quadruple room and were quite surprised how clean, spacious, and modern it looked. The location is also quite good - very close to the station and about 20 minutes away from Rialto. During our stay, it was quite cold and rainy in Venice, but the apartment was heated really well.

The only negative that I would mention is the check-in process which took quite a long time. We arrived to Venice at 12:30PM and were told at Hotel Florida reception that the room would be ready about 2PM. However, it was not ready until 4PM. As the weather was terrible, we were sort of stranded for couple of hours.

Other than that, we would recommend this affordable and homely place in Venice!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank goshan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arendal, Norway
1 review
Reviewed 22 March 2013

the hotel is very nice, the staff is very nice also.
The staff in the reception provide excellent service for us.
we arrived very late and left for the airport very early the next morning. The staff called the taxi for us without any complaints.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Xie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London SE27
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 February 2013

Good location-5 mins walk from the bus station & 10mins from the train terminus.

Be aware though you have to go to the Hotel Florida a few minutes from the railway station to check in & collect the keys to the B&B which is then a 10 minutes walk on the other side of the Grand Canal. Not far in terms of distance, but far enough when you are lugging suitcases up & down steps over Venice's famous canals.

Also, take note of the map & directions hotel provide to locate the entrance to the B&B, which is down the side street adjacent to the cafe where breakfast is offered. The entrance is secure with two doors both with security codes (given at check in).

We had a room for 4, on the first floor which was spacious & clean. The main bed was large & for us, very comfortable, with crisp white linens & feather comforter- cosy. Heating was good- too good at times even though outside the temperature dropped significantly ( there was snow on the ground when we arrived) in the afternoon.

The other double bed was a sofa bed- but this too was a good size & the kids shared without too many rows!

There was a fridge (useful for storing draft prosecco from the 'sfusi'), but sadly no kettle, which would have been great & is the reason I only give a 4 rating. It was a real downside not to be able to make a cup of tea in the morning.

Bathroom was very clean with lots of hot water from a powerful shower. The room was cleaned everyday, but towels only changed every 3 days. (However, we were provided with a good quantity of towels for our stay so this was not an issue for us).

The B&B is about a 20 minute walk to St. Mark's Square & there are two places a few steps away that we would highly recommend:(1) Restaurant Ribot- just over the canal- lovely food, good friendly service, reasonably priced. (2) Bar 'Da Lele'- over the little bridge- straight on-you'll see the crowds!Tiny place- serves glasses of wine from under a euro & small freshly filled rolls (cured meats, cheese, ham etc.) for 90cents. Absolutely delicious! The place is always packed with locals, spilling out onto the adjacent square & is open from early in the morning to 9pm/10pm. It's closed on sundays though & half day (2pm) on saturdays.

There was no safe in the room. There was free WiFi- but the connection varied & was not totally reliable & could be quite slow when it was working. There was a small flat screen TV-OK, local channels only.

In our room there was a kitchen sink & hot plate- but these were not connected & could not be used- bit of a shame, would have been useful.

Breakfast was included in the price & provided in the cafe next door to the B&B. It was not very inspiring- one hot drink each, 2 small hard white rolls & a cold croissant, with sachets of butter & jam. If you were desperate it was OK. Staff were friendly though & Venice is expensive, so perhaps I'm being a bit too negative.

All in all we really enjoyed our stay at the Casanova ai Tolentini. It was good value- 80 euros a night for the 4 of us (not including the mandatory 3 euros a night per person city tax) & would not hesitate to recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank southlondonerSE27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Hotel Florida
Hotel Florida
#232 of 384 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#212 of 384 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 242 reviews
Santa Croce
Maria 3536
Maria 3536
#37 of 213 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Ca' della Corte
Ca' della Corte
#65 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 356 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca dei Polo
Ca dei Polo
#20 of 454 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 558 reviews
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#167 of 454 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova ai Tolentini

Property: Casanova ai Tolentini
Address: Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #185 of 454 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova ai Tolentini is the Bed and Breakfast where you will find a perfect combination of comfort and discretion in an exclusive home-like environment, we offer the perfect atmosphere to appreciate the magic of the most romantic city in the world.Venice was home to adventurer and irresistible seducer Giacomo Casanova and a city where artists and poets from all over the world left their hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Casanova ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Ai Tolentini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing