We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casanova ai Tolentini
Ranked #188 of 458 Venice B&B and Inns
Missouri
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Excellent Stay”
Reviewed 27 July 2014 via mobile

I would first like to say that the man who worked the front desk at Hotel Florida was a tremendous help and deserves a big compliment. His English skills were superb and he answered all of our questions on Venice. The Bed and Breakfast is a great value and the views of the smaller canals are amazing. A great stay.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

302 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    146
    98
    36
    13
    9
See reviews for
48
174
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Barrie, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 158 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

A house by the canal with gondolas passing by, with two bridges just outside, a great café/restaurant downstairs, short walk thru that great labyrinth of streets and piazzas - does not get any more Venice than that!
We arrived by train from Florence, and had to pick up the key from Florida hotel next to the station. As we arrived about 11 am and they do not let you check in until 2 pm (nor take your stuff to Casanova), we left our luggage and wondered nearby streets. Also, check-out is at 10:30, they are very strict with that. I believe it is too early - all our other places had a 12 pm check-out. Very inconvenient, considering you have to shlep with your stuff back to Florida to drop off the key (they don't let you leave it at Casanova), then just wander around until time you have to leave Venice.
Other than that, the stay was perfect. Room was quite large, so was the bathroom. Very clean. WIFI reception was superb. The restaurant just outside is great for breakfast or lunch, costs the same as breakfast they offer at Florida but the setting is uncomparable. The walk to St. Marco is about 30 minutes, to Rialto area about 20. It is the first time we stayed in this part of Venice and glad we did. We discovered countless hidden gems of restaurants, piazzas, canals, churches and streets that we would never visit having stayed closer to usual attractions, or Mestre. We saw more of Venice this time than in all previous visits combined. We avoided taking vaporettos (did it once only) - they were too crowded, lines were long, so we walked everywhere. It is very safe.
Something about Venice restaurants. The farther you are from the main tourist landmarks, the better the food and service. Not too far, but only 2-3 blocks away. But the cafes at St.Marco at night are a must - even with their 6 euro cover, 6 euro coffee and 12 euro glass of wine. What an enchanting experience! The music, the scene, the setting. One of a kind.
Venice is truly the most beautiful and magic place in Europe. Staying at Casanova Tolentino adds to that charm.

Room Tip: It is a quiet part of town, so any room will do for good night sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mosaic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Truro, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 July 2014

If you've never visited Venice before it can be a strain on the wallet! Accommodation near the main sights might be attractive but you are going to either have to lug suitcases a long way or pay for a very expensive water taxi. This B&B is less than 10 minutes walk from the Bus and Train station.
Make sure you read the the instructions about checking in at Hotel Florida ( tip: leave one of your party at the station with the cases) and listen very carefully to the directions. Book direct with the owners http://www.casanovaaitolentini.com/ to get a free breakfast at the cafe next door.
The accommodation is clean and spacious and the location quiet. Hotel Florida will also store your bags for you after checking out.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank morriswoodyman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Nice enough place. Staff at the main hotel (where you check in) all very friendly, nice breakfast. The b&b was a little tricky to find but it was dark when we arrived . Comfortable, clean accommodation within walking distance of the main attractions. Venice itself is amazing.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank marty1yan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed 1 night and it's located 5 mins walk from main Venice train station (through shortcuts). The b&b is part of a hotel Florida and the staff is extremely friendly and breakfast next to the canal is amazing. Room is clean and spacious, however the mattress is uncomfortable and wobbly.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank IonaB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed three nights at Casanova ai Tolentini in the larger (triple) room (104). The room was spacious, comfortable and clean. The bathroom was spacious, modern and clean- excellent shower and hot water. The location is very quiet but with easy access to eateries, vaparetto and train station. We paid an additional 5 euro per person for breakfast at the Hotel Florida which was good value and recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
2 Thank Jeanette G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed in the suite over looking the canal, which is only available when booking on the website, breakfast at the downstairs patiseria was included. It was perfect for three of us, a huge double bedroom (160 euro) and a separate smal room (30 euro extra). Location was perfect, very close to Piazzake Roma, only two bridges to cross, also an easy walk to Campo Santa Margherita. The rooms were spotless, cleaned daily, and the beds extremely comfortable. Check in at Hotel Florida next to the station was smooth and on our last day we caught a vaporetto with our luggage from P Roma to the station and had an excellent breakfast at the hotel. The only negatives were that there was only one set of keys for three people, and on the first night I slept with the window and shutters open, so was woken by people on there way to work on the bridge just below the window (not really a negative, because I had the experience of a Venice waking up, it was absolutely beautiful)
The website directions from P Roma were to cross at Tre Ponti, but we found the second bridge at the gardens far easier, as the steps were much shallower, so much easier with luggage.

Room Tip: Canal suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shellsea001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel ai Tolentini
Hotel ai Tolentini
#208 of 385 in Venice
248 reviews
Santa Croce
Venice Resorts
Venice Resorts
#166 of 458 in Venice
221 reviews
Santa Croce
Maria 3536
Maria 3536
#38 of 219 in Venice
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Palazzo Odoni
Palazzo Odoni
#14 of 458 in Venice
598 reviews
Santa Croce
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
B&B San Giacomo Venezia
#110 of 458 in Venice
140 reviews
Santa Croce
Ca' Doge
Ca' Doge
#124 of 458 in Venice
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casanova ai Tolentini? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casanova ai Tolentini

Property: Casanova ai Tolentini
Address: Fondamenta del Gafaro 3515, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #188 of 458 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Casanova ai Tolentini is the Bed and Breakfast where you will find a perfect combination of comfort and discretion in an exclusive home-like environment, we offer the perfect atmosphere to appreciate the magic of the most romantic city in the world.Venice was home to adventurer and irresistible seducer Giacomo Casanova and a city where artists and poets from all over the world left their hearts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and Evoline ltd so you can book your Casanova ai Tolentini reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casanova Ai Tolentini Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing