We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a good place to sleep”
Review of Hotel Giovannina

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Giovannina
Ranked #168 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Savannah, Georgia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a good place to sleep”
Reviewed 25 March 2014

We were two american girls traveling through, and this place was great for just coming back to relax and then sleep. Everything was clean, the shower was nice and hot, the worker made the bed in front of me so it was clean as well. A great location as well, we were able to walk our big luggage all the way to the train station, as well as straight across the street is a good little super market where you can get a cheap breakfast and then catch the number 2 bus which is right in front and go to venice. Get a bus pass for 36hr it's worth it and it also you can get on the water bus and a water bus to burano and murano. worth the risk, good for a budget.

Room Tip: We had a private room, not sure about shared, good deal for private
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank penley007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    9
    13
    39
    39
    59
See reviews for
21
51
25
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Queensland, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2013

Stayed here on our way back through Italy on our way home. We had just gotten off the overnight ferry from Split, which was a terrible night, so we were looking for somewhere last minute. Lots of bad reviews, but we were at the point of just wanting a bed and a shower. So we took the risk, and it paid off!

The gentleman at reception when we arrived was humourous, and helpful, and tremendously Italian. Travelling as 2 single females, we got a twin room, with comfy single beds, no ensuite, but a shared bathroom at the end of the hall. Bathroom wasn't anything special, but after 6 weeks of backpacking it was definitely not the worst I'd seen. Our windows faced onto the street which was a little noisy at some ridiculous hour of the early morning, but nothing to really complain about.

A short walk to the train station, and a nice town area heading the other way, with shopping and restaurants. We chose to dine both nights at the hotel's partner restaurant, Historia Dante (perhaps, I can't remember) also on Via Dante. Good value deal when staying at Giovannina.

A pleasant Hotel, with mostly wonderful staff. I would stay again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sacramento, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 September 2013

We definitely had some problems with the room itself, but the staff was pretty friendly, and we were glad to have the hotel so close to the Mestre train station. Just a one-minute walk to the hotel, and when we wanted to go into Venice itself, it was only a couple euros to take the train. We were only staying one night, so it was fine for us. You might be very disappointed if you're expecting more than barebones accommodations.

Room Tip: If you choose an ensuite for a couple, make sure the beds are together. Ours weren't. : /
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kelly E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madrid, Spain
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013

The single room had sheets, a pillow, a towel, a sink with soap and a mirror, a closet, a table with a fan (it was very hot at night) and a radio clock.
I needed to look for a hotel that day so I was searching for something just available, so in the end this was one of the only places that had a room last minute. To not even be in the center of Venice and then provide customers with a dirty single room for an expensive price is appalling. The man at the front was nice to me though, the staff were friendly. It was right next to the train station which was the only good thing, not far of a walk once you get back from the center of Venice. But honestly to spend that much on a room that cheap and far from the center, make plans and go to the youth hostel in Guidecca which I hear is a lot nicer from people I met and it is in Venice, it is also 5 euros cheaper than this hostel.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank akochiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

Kluczbork, Poland
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2013

You can't expect more for that price. All you need is there: tiny (but private) bathroom, big bed, towels, soap, shampoo. The only thing we were really missing was the air conditioning at night. There was a fan but when it was working it wasn't that quiet. The staff were really nice, helpful and speaking English. Location is very good. It's very close to Venice (and that's why it's cheaper than in Venice), to train and bus station, and also to Ryanair bus stop.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank magdapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 July 2013

Location is good as in just out of Venice and near mestre however that is the only positive. Stayed in twin room. Cold water tap doesn't work in room and left leaking onto floor. Huge puddle of water in our room on arrival. Staff are by far the rudest I've ever come across in my travels. I witnessed them twice yelling abuse at customers for trivial matters. Very disappointed. The wifi only works in the lobby an it gets super crowded and has no air con. It is quite the hell hole. Only stay here is you are really desperate

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dmgp87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Petaling Jaya, Malaysia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2013

Going up the stairs to the room, it was dark. The lights were turned off or their motion sensors weren't working. Very bad first impression.
The moment we entered our room, my brother, 65 yr old mother and myself agreed we best go some place else. The room was in a very bad condition. The bath cubicle was tiny. Mosquitoes abound. And there was only a small table fan to accomodate the 3 of us.
Being on the 1st floor, we didn't even feel safe as there were shady characters outside the establishment. So leaving the windows open for fresh air was out of the question.
Half-way thru the night, at about 2:30am, the electricity to our room was lost. I actually had to go to the nearest power fuse box to see if anything tripped and tried to turn it back on. Unsuccessful, I went down to the concierge, woke the guy up and told him the issue. Seems like this is not a new occurence at this place.
Checked out the very next morning.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TimothyMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Venice
Hotel Regit
#30 of 58 in Mestre
339 reviews
Hotel Paris
#15 of 58 in Mestre
428 reviews
Castello
Ca'Sa Linger
Ca'Sa Linger
#156 of 223 in Venice
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
Youthvenicepalace San Marco
#120 of 223 in Venice
6 reviews
Villa Ricordi
#43 of 75 in Mestre
71 reviews
Bed & Breakfast Moderna
#54 of 75 in Mestre
17 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Giovannina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Giovannina

Property: Hotel Giovannina
Address: Via Dante 113 Mestre, Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Hotel Style:
Ranked #168 of 223 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Giovannina 1*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Giovannina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing