We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Grandi Vedute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Grandi Vedute
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We stayed here for two days pre-cruise and it was a perfect choice. We arrived by a shared taxi from Marco Polo airport to the Hilton Molino Stucky. The Residenza is next door (a residential part of the refurbished complex) and half-price. What can be better than waking up in a corner apartment overlooking the Giudecca canal to the waking traffic on the canal as well as greeting and bidding adieu to grand cruise ships and others sailing past. The apartment was cleaned daily and a fine continental breakfast (parma ham, bread, cream cheese, milk, cream, cereal, coffee and tea ) was available daily which we enjoyed at leisure. We shopped for fruit and tomatoes at a grocery along the Fondamente San Biagio after visiting the Il Redemptoe church. Giudecca island is a quiet retreat from the madness of Venice in tourist season and allows for a sense of Venetian life. A free shuttle from the Hilton next door to Zattere and San Marco is available at regular intervals. The Alilaguna line stops at the Hilton on the way to the cruise terminal so we were able to take advantage of that easily for 7 Euros each at the end of our stay. The staff were very kind and helpful and charged our iPhone and camera as we had forgotten our European adaptor. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanadole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
95
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

We were having trouble finding accommodation in Venice in high season. Look no further than this lovely converted warehouse. This isn't the cheapest accommodation in Venice, but if you want to have an experience that will be remembered long after the price - stay here! It was incredibly hot and crowded when we arrived in Venice in July 2012, and our initial impression was that were too far from the action - how wrong we were. It is only a short boat shuttle trip from Residenza across to San Marco and all the tourist attractions, and at the end of a day battling crowds, wonderful to come to a relatively quiet area of Venice. Our apartment was on the top floor, so spacious, cool and beautifully furnished. A really smart well equiped kitchenette with everything you could ask for a delicious breakfast, allowed us to relax in the mornings watching the water traffic pass by. For dinner we sometimes opted to stay on the main island, but more often on Guidecca Island, because there are several lovely little restaurants in walking distance. Harry's bar is a must.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank westee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth WA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2012

Stayed at Rezidence Grandi Vedute in July 2012 for two nights. The property is magnificent. It is an old warehouse meticulously and beautifully renovated into gorgeous apartments. The breakfast supplied for our apartment was great, consisted of continental plus bacon. The views over the canal were sensational, watching our cruise ship sail past was exciting as we could almost reach out and touch it. Luca was fabulous and nothing was too much trouble for him. The free 5-7 minute shuttle across the water to St Marks was easy. My family and I are extremely fussy travellers - definitely the opposite of backpackers - and we couldn't fault this apartment. If staying again in Venice I definitely wouldn't stay anywhere else now - I have been spoiled.

Room Tip: We stayed in a corner suite - worth every penny
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank gayrayvic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami , florida
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2012

we had a great experience at the Grandi Vedute apartments--the view was great, the unit spacious and comfortable,clean, well serviced each day, and breakfast was perfect--ti felt like a home away from home. For those of u that know Venice,u can really appreciate that statement.
Luca, the manager, is always ready to help in any way and did the most he could to make us comfortable and see that our needs were met.
thanks Luca
It is definitely gooing to be a repeat for us.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank murrydiamond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2012 via mobile

This is an excellent alternative to staying in a hotel in Venuce. Very well appointed, lovely friendly staff and just minutes by free water taxi to San Marco and all the sights of Venice. A quiet and peaceful apartment offering local restaurants and ships without the hustle and bustle of the major tourists sights and a beautiful view of the lagoon. We will defiantly head straight for Residenza on our next trip to Venice

Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ShaunCollinsEsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

We booked an apartment at the Residenza Grandi Vedute after reading the raving reviews. We weren't sure about staying on Giudecca, which is definitely more residential and quiet, but it ended up being perfect for our needs. Our one-bedroom apartment was beautifully decorated and extremely clean. The views were breathtaking. It was so nice having a little kitchen where we could cook a few meals (especially breakfast for our 20 month old daughter). The Hilton shuttle was a nice option to reach the main areas in Venice, but we actually found the short walk to Palanca (the closest Vaparetto stop) to run more frequently. A grocery store was located close by, and it was fun exploring the residential island after being with tons of tourists all day long near San Marco, etc. Venice is not the greatest place to visit with young children with its lack of parks and green space in general, but we lucked out and found two playgrounds on Giudecca where our toddler could release some energy :) I would highly recommend this place to anyone wishing to have access to all of the major sights in Venice while escaping the crowds and crowds of tourists. Of course, it is a boat ride back and forth, so if you are only there for a night or two and want to be in the center of it all, this might not be the place for you. But if you are not in a rush to see Venice and don't mind taking it all in at a leisurely pace, I would highly recommend staying in one of these beautiful apartments. You will not forget it!!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Looruh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 July 2012

After staying in a very small hotel in Siena, we had a "WOW" surprise look on our faces when we saw this place! It was huge. You can really spread out! There are 2 bedrooms with queen size beds (one is upstairs). There are large windows with awesome water views. It is so nice and relaxing too! The food and drinks (water and juice) are plenty for breakfast and a snack later. My 22 year old daughter liked making ham sandwiches with cream cheese. They had croissants with chocolate filling, crackers, nutella, cookies, etc. It was great! Luca, man in charge was very nice and so were the house keepers. I can't think of anything I didn't like!! Thanks for a great stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kathy r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,772 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,882 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 609 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Grandi Vedute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Grandi Vedute

Property: Residenza Grandi Vedute
Address: Fondmenta San Biaggio 812 | Isola della Giudecca, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Grandi Vedute 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury apartments decorated in a 17th century Venetian Style with all the modern comforts are located on the top floors of the right wing of the Molino Stucky, a late 19th century art nouveau grain mill on the Giudecca Island in Venice. Six of our apartments overlook Venice. Each of them with a unique view of the Serenissima. Their size varies from 45 to 90 square meters with high wooden ceilings, big queen size beds, spacious living rooms and bathrooms in Verona marble. We are only 10 minutes by boat from Saint Marks Square and 5 minutes from the Grand Canal. After a long and complex restoration finished in 2003, the Molino Stucky is one of the finest and most comfortable buildings in the city. We assure you that our luxury apartments and the peaceful Island of the Giudecca are the way of enjoying a relaxing holiday in Venice. This Island, just across from Saint Marks Square, has always been one of the favorite summer places of the noble Venetian families who built beautiful villas surrounded by lovely gardens and orchards, as well as churches, monasteries and convents. Some are still standing and others like the monastery of San Biagio became the Molino Stucky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Residenza Grandi Vedute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Grandi Vedute Hotel Venice
Residenza Grandi Vedute Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing