We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly excellent!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Residenza Grandi Vedute

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residenza Grandi Vedute
Ranked #7 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Truly excellent!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 March 2014

We stayed here for three nights in Bucintoro- this was a wonderful holiday experience. In particular the unforgettable views and sunset over venice, the ease of transfer on the free shuttle directly to San Marco or Zattere stops. The transport runs regularly and reliably and the views were incredible. The room was a high standard and immaculately clean with a kitchen which enabled me to do some cooking when we were tired from all the sights. This was easy to get to from the train station (using the vaporetto) and easy to return to the station also. We visited Murano from this location and that was a beautiful vaporetto ride approx 45 mins. Breakfast was cornflakes, yoghurt, crackers, biscuits, ham, bread, juice, milk - there is a supermarket on the island and over from the Zattere stop. I cannot recommend this highly enough! And hope to return.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    15
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
37
95
1
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed here with my partner for 10 days in August/September last year to celebrate his 40th and it was amazing - one of the best holidays we've ever had! Luca had emailed all the travel information needed beforehand so we'd booked tickets for the Alilaguna and arrived more or less at the door.

Luca gave us a warm welcome and we were so pleased with the apartment (Mascareta) - very spacious and beautifully decorated. We loved the location - very quiet with a lovely view of the lagoon - welcome after the hustle and bustle of the more touristy areas of Venice. After covering most of the sestieri on foot it was good to have somewhere so relaxing to collapse afterwards with a chilled glass of wine, and regroup ready for the evening. Giudecca itself has lovely restaurants and bars and residents were so friendly too. We went to the Skyline bar at the Hilton, which we enjoyed, but were so glad we stayed at the Grandi Vedute instead. Breakfast provisions were just what were needed and really quite generous - enough to suit everyone, although we did try some of the local produce too.

Luca left a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge for my partner's birthday - a very thoughtful touch. It's the finishing touches that really make the difference.

It was the perfect time to visit Venice - great weather and the Biennale - so we visited lots of art installations and also the film festival on the Lido.

When we next come to Venice (hopefully in summer 2015 for the next Art Biennale) we will definitely stay here - you couldn't pick anywhere better!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WeesyT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
59 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

I accompanied my partner, who was attending a conference at the Hilton next door. In order to save a few bucks we decided to be sneaky and stay here instead, and it was a very good thing that we did! The small apartment on the ground floor corner on the Quay was gorgeous. The moment we walked in I asked him if we could please come back again next year! Having a fully stocked kitchen with food, appliances, and a nesspresso machine was super handy. The ladies at reception were charming. From what I heard of the conference attendees who stayed at the Hilton, we were living in the lap of luxury and at a much more reasonable price. If we ever come back to Venice I will refuse to stay anywhere else….

Just one thing to be aware of: If you go to Venice during the aqua alta the vaporetto times and routes can be affected to Giudecca. But the ladies at reception can give you the title of a great smartphone app that forecasts the tides and you can use it to plan your travel to avoid problems.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stural
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth Western Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2013

With another couple, we stayed at this place on the island Of Giudecca a few hundred metres south of Venice proper. It is part of an old mill renovation which is attached to the Hilton Stuckey. Marvellous views of Venice with easy access courtesy of the Hilton ferry. The sumptuous residence was perfect for two couples, albeit a shared bathroom and a spiral staircase to the upper bedroom.
Venice was very busy even though it was late October, but is avery special city and we were able to take in all the sights in 3 days.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fryzer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blue Rock, Ohio
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

We were so impressed with this hotel. It was our first time in Venice, Italy and we were so happy we choose Residenze Grandi Vedute. The apartment was very clean and nice. We had a fantastic view from our room (the Mascareta room). What we loved the most about staying there was the manager, Luca. He helped us with anything we needed and we talked to him everyday. We had a really early flight when we left and he made all the arrangements for us. We would have been lost without him!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Courtney C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

What more can be said. We stayed in the Tartana room for 7 nights. Found it to be just what the other reviewers have described. Quiet, clean, great views, friendly and accommodating staff (Eleanora, Ester, Giovanna & Luca). We did find that the Hilton shuttle did not run frequently enough, so our vaparetto pass was very handy.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hubbledouble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cambridge
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed in the Gondola apartment of the Grandi Vedute, following a friend's recommendation. The apartment was spacious, sparkling clean and thoughtfully planned. It was wonderful to have our own kitchen with microwave, hob, all the equipment we could have needed to cook for ourselves when Venetian cuisine palled. The views are just incredible, it was very convenient, and so great to have a peaceful retreat from the crowds. Giudecca was interesting and we loved shopping locally.

Room Tip: 'Gondola', and the family apartment above it, best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NightingaleYoga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hilton Molino Stucky Venice Hotel
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,776 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,438 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Canal Grande
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,885 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#16 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residenza Grandi Vedute? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residenza Grandi Vedute

Property: Residenza Grandi Vedute
Address: Fondmenta San Biaggio 812 | Isola della Giudecca, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Residenza Grandi Vedute 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our luxury apartments decorated in a 17th century Venetian Style with all the modern comforts are located on the top floors of the right wing of the Molino Stucky, a late 19th century art nouveau grain mill on the Giudecca Island in Venice. Six of our apartments overlook Venice. Each of them with a unique view of the Serenissima. Their size varies from 45 to 90 square meters with high wooden ceilings, big queen size beds, spacious living rooms and bathrooms in Verona marble. We are only 10 minutes by boat from Saint Marks Square and 5 minutes from the Grand Canal. After a long and complex restoration finished in 2003, the Molino Stucky is one of the finest and most comfortable buildings in the city. We assure you that our luxury apartments and the peaceful Island of the Giudecca are the way of enjoying a relaxing holiday in Venice. This Island, just across from Saint Marks Square, has always been one of the favorite summer places of the noble Venetian families who built beautiful villas surrounded by lovely gardens and orchards, as well as churches, monasteries and convents. Some are still standing and others like the monastery of San Biagio became the Molino Stucky. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Residenza Grandi Vedute reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residenza Grandi Vedute Hotel Venice
Residenza Grandi Vedute Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing