We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, but some problems”
Review of Domus Cavanis

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Domus Cavanis
Ranked #317 of 385 Hotels in Venice
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great location, but some problems”
Reviewed 14 May 2013

This hotel is an awesome location, as noted by other travellers the reception is unmanned and open 24/7 with no security and check in is at a hotel across the road.
The room was good and clean and the only problem which became irritating for us was that the double bed was made up of two single mattresses that kept coming apart every night so there was a big gap between them.
For the price and location in Venice it wasn't too bad but given how small Venice is I would stay further away because hotels in this area of Venice are a bit of a rip off price wise.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tenfourty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

267 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    24
    96
    77
    33
    37
See reviews for
41
137
12
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pushkar
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2013

A very functional hotel for a city break in Venice. On promotional offer at 45 Euro a night for a double - very good value for money but the room was tiny - just enough space for the (comfortable) double bed! Not the sort of hotel where you'd want to spend much time in your room, but then we didn't want to do that in Venice! Good breakfast with a lot of variety and located in a good area near the Accademia.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Donatella65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashhad, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012 via mobile

We were planing to stay two nights in venice but the hotel location was so bad we decided to go back to rome the next day the mosqitus ... Were awefull... Our room was in another building that no body was there not a receptionist or even a maid ... So scary.... Anybody could. Kill you and no body would notice ... The good thing was the breakfast in other building which was a very gool hotel with three times the price for a night .... Very nice garden and good breakfast .. I dond recomand domus . Dont go there you lose your holiday spirit ....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank katy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Venice hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

I chose to stay at the Domus Cavanis as a solo traveller looking for a cheap weekend option of staying in Venice, close to the San Basilio cruise terminal where the ship I was visiting was docked.

The hotel is easily reachable from VCE airport via the Alilaguna water bus, which runs a regular schedule for 27 Euros return. In fact, it is only a two minute walk straight on from the 'Zattere' stop, which is on the BLU Alilaguna line that runs from the airport. The staff will shout out the stop names and you can download a map from the Alilaguna website if you want to be sure you're getting off at the correct stop! Waterbus journey comes in at just over an hour, but it is a great way to see the city from the water, and cheaper than hiring a water taxi or land taxi.

Check in happens at the 'Belle Arti' Hotel, which you will find on your left hand side about two minutes walk from the water bus stop. As you come away from the stop, just carry on walking straight. There will be a church on your left and a cafe bar (Laguna) on your right, and the Belle Arti a bit further along.

The lady at reception spoke good English, explained where the Domus Cavanis was and gave me my key. As you exit the Belle Arti onto the street, turn left and look on your right hand side- you are looking for a green door with a '895' above it. The door may or may not be propped open, and this is the Domus Cavanis.

Other reviewers have mentioned the spooky abandoned lobby, and will agree that it does feel strange walking through an abandoned hotel lobby. Another thing to bear in mind with this is that there isn't anybody controlling access to the building and anyone can walk into the lobby and the hotel if they want. This, combined with the fact that there is no in room safe means I definitely would not recommend leaving any valuables in your room. That being said, I found the surrounding area to be pleasant and trouble free.

The room I had (104) was basic, but exactly what I needed- it was clean, quiet (on the weekend) and somewhere I could sleep and recharge after a long day stomping the streets of Venice. Realistically that is all you need, because you aren't coming to Venice to spend time a lot of time indoors in your hotel room (and this isn't the type of hotel you take your other half for a romantic weekend) :)
An important fact to note is that there is a school next door to the Domus Cavanis, so I imagine it would get quite noisy during break times during the week, but I visited during a weekend so did not experience this.

There was a small, old TV set with 6 Italian channels just in case you are bored and there was an air con unit in the ceiling, but it did not appear to be working. This did not affect me as it was not hot enough to warrant using it. A window overlooks a quaint little courtyard, although there is no guest access to the courtyard itself. There was one towel on the rail in the bathroom that was slightly dirty, but I just dropped it on the floor to be replaced the next day. The shower doors also seemed to be missing their lower rail fixings, but this did not stop me using the shower. There was also a toilet and a separate bidet in the bathroom.
Everything was very basic, but did the job just fine.

In terms of breakfast, there is a continental breakfast that is served at the Bella Arti from 7.30-10.30 every morning. This included cheese, a few different cuts of meat, cereals, juices and some Italian cakes/croissants. I found the breakfast to be perfectly adequate to set me up for a long day of exploring.

Location wise, you are very close to everything. Piazza San Marco is about a 10-15 minute stroll away and I had no trouble getting around. Zattere is a great promenade to have a stroll, and is especially beautiful in the mornings around sunrise. If you get up earlier, you'll be able to get a real feel for Venice, as the locals go about their business as opposed to the hordes of tourists which are present in other areas of Venice. Plenty of great cafes and restaurants nearby to sit down and have a meal too.

Overall, as a solo traveller this was a great call in terms of a room in the heart of Venice, as opposed to getting a room somewhere on the mainland. I wouldn't book here for a romantic weekend (splash that cash!!), nor bring my nearest and dearest to a hotel that has no security in the lobby but it suited my needs perfectly. The staff were all perfectly happy to help me when I required it and generally I came away with a positive impression of my stay. As long as you bear in mind my comments above I think it can be a great (cheaper) place for a room!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank oh-noes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2012

Went on a cruise that started in Venice so we stayed here the night before. As we had very limited time here we wanted something budget-friendly yet centrally located. The building is unmarked from the outside so you have to check in across the street at their partner hotel, Belle Arti. The breakfast is included (and very tasty) which is also at Belle Arti. Domus Cavanis is a little eerie when you walk in..there's a lobby and a bar filled with tables and chairs but it is completely abandoned. Our room was average, the bathroom was completely run down with rust everywhere and broken shower doors. The bed was hard but we were tired enough to get a good sleep regardless. You get what you pay for, as they say! Our room opened up to a cute courtyard so it was nice and quiet. Location was FANTASTIC, close to everything.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yvy-s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2012

The location was great but we had issues with lack of aircon in scorching heat, no hot shower and poor breakfast. staff was ok but not very helful about anything, not even knowing how we could best get to the main train station.

Room Tip: Some Roomy are big and others are very tight, but the same price...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank julianoble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 August 2012

To go to the hotel you can take a waterbus and get off at Acedemia stop then take the road on your left. It's only 100 metres and you should see Belle Arti on your right.
Domus Cavanis itself is in a building with no sign. There's no staff at the building so you have to go to Bell Arti if you need anything. The place looked deserted on the ground floor.
No supermarket near the hotel to buy drinking water so we had to go buy it elsewhere. Not very convenient.

The double room we stayed was quite okay (not too small and quite clean) However the bathroom stinked. The room has small TV but no fridge. The air-conditioner worked but wouldn't say that it actually chilled the room. The breakfast worths the money spent.

Overall, nothing impressive but you wouldn't expect more from a budget hotel.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vaew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Belle Arti
Hotel Belle Arti
#242 of 385 in Venice
839 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Messner Palace
Hotel Messner Palace
#295 of 385 in Venice
688 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Locanda Ca' Zose
Locanda Ca' Zose
#152 of 385 in Venice
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Galleria
Hotel Galleria
#181 of 385 in Venice
444 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Ca' Turelli
Ca' Turelli
#233 of 385 in Venice
98 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Salute Palace
Hotel Salute Palace
#186 of 385 in Venice
41 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Domus Cavanis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Domus Cavanis

Property: Domus Cavanis
Address: Rio Tera Antonio Foscarini Dorsoduro 895, 30123 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #317 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Domus Cavanis 2*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and Cancelon so you can book your Domus Cavanis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Domus Cavanis Venice
Domus Cavanis Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing