We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome return”
Review of Sandra B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandra B&B
Ranked #9 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Eccleshall
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A welcome return”
Reviewed 1 April 2013

My eighth visit to Sandra and Leos wonderful home in Canareggio district. such welcoming and kind hosts who make your stay truly memorable even down to rescuing with wellingtons during aqua alta.! the rooftop altana gives a spectacular views of the city and the b and b is close to the grand canal, the beautiful Ca Doro and the Ghetto. Even so it is an oasis of calm and beauty, perfect for your first introduction to La Serenissima.

Room Tip: Try to book the altarna. You need to plan well ahead.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

445 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    410
    31
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
55
315
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2013

Sandra and Leonardo are warm and welcoming hosts in their lovely home. Their B&B was easy to find using the superb directions from the their website, and in a delightfully quiet neighborhood and quick walk from the train station. We arrived late our first night and Sandra made us reservations at the Rioba restaurant around the corner. It was a great start to our stay in Venice. The attic room was such great fun and the view from the altana (rooftop deck) was delightful. We loved the breakfast which included fresh fruits, yogurt, delicious pastries, and meats/cheeses each day. Sandra and Leonardo pay attention to every detail, including sending me the recipe for the cheese/egg dish served on our last morning. As others have said, the B&B Sandra experience most definitely deserves its 5-star top rating. We could not recommend it more highly and feel so fortunate to have found this great place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mek_rag_jnk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Island of Anglesey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2013

Three Grannies took and trip to Venice for a few days!
One Granny chose the accommodation.
She could not have chosen better.
We were warmly welcomed by Sanda and her lovely husband Leonardo.
They took care of us admirably and helped with every query we had, always finding time for our many questions.
The breakfast is scrummy and certainly sets you up for a day of miles of walking around the streets if Venice. Sandra makes delicious cakes daily and it was a great treat to find cake left from breakfast in the room to have with tea on returning from a tiring day of exploring the streets.
We stayed in the attic room which was so cosy and we had such fun. It was like being back at school ! The beds are very comfy.
I could not recommend this B & B more , it has everything you could need and Sandra and Leaonardo richly deserve their 5 stars!
The only complaint I can give is that Sandra's cakes are too good and I have returned with jeans somewhat tighter than they were when I arrived!
We would all definitely return here.q

Room Tip: We loved the attic room and it is perfect for three but would also be great for two. It has wonderfu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honey T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2013

The place looks amazing and it is very well located. There is a bathroom in every room and the living room is very cosy and the owners are very discrete.
The breakfast is excellent and copious which makes a big difference as Venice requires a lot of walking...

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicolas R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkeley
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2013

It was a year ago today that my son and I stayed at Sandra Bed and Breakfast in Venice. This was our first stop on a three month trip, but it was by far the most memorable. B and B Sandra definitely lived up to all of the excellent reviews. Sandra and Leonardo are the consummate Venetian hosts: warm and welcoming, refined and helpful. Plus, Sandra speaks excellent English. We stayed in the attic suite which was huge, with two sofas, tea service, a balcony, views of the canals, and very comfortable beds. The decor in the room and throughout the house is elegant yet understated.

The breakfast was unbelievable. Fresh bread, fresh fruit, different cheeses and charcuterie every morning, along with fresh savory and sweet pastries, cereal, yogurt, coffee and tea, and more! The breakfast room was so pretty and sunny. We just loved it.

A few things to keep in mind: B and B Sandra is in the Cannaregio sestieri, so it is about a ten minute walk or vaporetto ride from St. Marc's Square. I liked being away from the maddening crowds, and seeing a more authentic part of Venice, but others might feel differently. Also, the B and B is on the top floor of a building, meaning you must climb four or five flights of stairs, a big consideration if you have mobility issues or will be traveling with heavy suitcases. (A great advantage if you want to walk off some of the cicchetti you've been eating or all those chocolates from VizioVirtu'.)

The one thing I would do differently is take a water taxi to the B and B from the airport. We arrived at night and had just a little trouble finding the place. Bear in mind that I am directionally challenge and that Sandra gives excellent directions. Apparently taxis can be shared, mitigating the 100 euro cost.

A Helpful Hint: if you pop around the corner from the B and B (kind of do a u-turn, really) onto Strada Nuovo, heading towards Ca D'Oro, there's a great little supermarket (probably a Coop) next door to the McDonalds. They have hot and cold food and you can put together a delicious and reasonably priced picnic. Their roasted chickens were excellent. We liked to picnic at Giardini ex Reali just behind Piazza San Marco, facing the San Marco Giardinetti boat platforms. Hope you enjoy your stay in Venice. I really can't wait to return.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Karen N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toulouse, Midi-Pyrenees, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 February 2013

Together with a friend, we stayed at Sandra's a couple of days last May on the occasion of the Americas's Cup. They were very welcoming, the flat is very cosy and the breakfast is just great. I strongly advise it, especially for cats lovers.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank FrancoisMillet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2013

My husband and I have been staying with Sandra and her husband Leonardo in their beautiful home for the past 5 years and we can't think of a better place to stay.
We have just returned from another wonderful weekend with the most amazing and generous hosts. We always stay in the attic room however all her rooms (only 3) are beautiful, spotlessly clean and welcoming. The breakfasts are incredible and each day Sandra presented us with a buffet of fresh fruit, cereal, juice, yoghurt, bread, cheese, meat, amazing home-made savoury pastries and wonderful home-made cake....and of course as much coffee and tea as you want.
The location is amazing - close to the main sights and shopping but incredibly quiet.
We are already planning another trip back to Sandra's b&b later this year - we love it!
Mary & Greg

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 385 in Venice
2,281 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 385 in Venice
1,865 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 385 in Venice
3,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#70 of 457 in Venice
193 reviews
San Marco
Locanda ai Bareteri
Locanda ai Bareteri
#27 of 457 in Venice
583 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandra B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandra B&B

Property: Sandra B&B
Address: Sestiere di Cannaregio 2452, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Sandra B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandra Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing