We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice's gem of a B&B”
Review of Sandra B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sandra B&B
Ranked #23 of 479 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 May 2014

As always I search Tripadvisor for the best and interesting places to stay. This B&B seemed to stand out but I was concerned it may be too far away from the popular tourist spots. How wrong was I and I almost changed it! We had visited Venice some years ago and just wanted somewhere to call home for this visit. Sandra, the perfect host, has a beautiful home, a breakfast to die for, a typical compact Italian bedroom but a nice quiet location. We frequented the local cafés and restaurants and found it less populated by the hordes of tourists and much more enjoyable. And in 3 days we still had time to tour the main areas twice. The 20 min walk was always enjoyable because of the abundance of quality shops.

Room Tip: Try for the loft room if you can. We missed it but we're still very happy with our canal facing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank biggles54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 456 reviews

Reviewed 10 May 2014

We chose Sandra's from TripAdvisor reviews for its location - it was everything we expected and everything we wanted. We're not very good at being tourists and it was a real relief to stagger away from the crowds of people holding up phones and tablets into a part of the city where people were just getting on with their lives - and not a mask shop in sight! As close as we could hope to get in just a few days to seeing what living in Venice might be like

Room Tip: Book early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geraldine218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I cannot speak highly enough of Sandra and this magnificient B&B. I stayed with a friend in the attic room and was just amazed at the beauty and tranquility whilst sitting on the roof top enjoying Sandras home made cake each afternoon with a lovely cup of tea.

The room was spot on for cleanliness, the breakfast was to die for. The location is superb and the service is outstanding.

For my friend and I whom had not had any experiences staying at B&B's this will sure take some beating!

I would highly recommend this property and will most certainly be back when I can.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Akim30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We very much enjoyed our stay in the wonderful home of Sandra and Leonardo. The B&B is away
From all the crowded areas yet close enough to walk around the city easily. I will recommend the porter service that was suggested to us as an option by Sandra, if you have larger luggage it is very helpful to have someone ( porter) with a cart to push over the bridges. Sandra's breakfast
Each morning was divine. The rooms are very clean with good storage. This B&B is a wonderful option for your stay in a truly magnificent city. Would highly recommend this B&B .

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 746Jenniferb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

My fiancé and I have just returned from our wonderful 4 night city break to Venice where we stayed in the 'Suite on the Roof'. We are both keen travellers and we can honestly say that this is one of the best places we have ever stayed. Sandra and Leonardo were both really accommodating and were always happy to help with any questions we had; whether this was help with the water bus timetable or recommending a place of interest. The walk from Fundamente Nova ferry port (which was where we caught the water bus to from the airport) was about a 10 minute walk to the B&B, which was really convenient and the main sights were all within walking distance too. The area (Cannaregio) has a real Venetian charm and we loved strolling along the beautiful canals slightly away from the bustley tourist streets . Al Timon is a delightful wine bar and Trattoria Antica Mola was our favourite restaurant (both situated on Fondamenta degli Ormesini in the Cannaregio area). The breakfast was amazing and really filling, which was great given that we had 4 action packed days seeing the delights of Venice and the surrounding islands. The views from the terrace were lovely and one evening we made the most of this with a bottle of a prosecco and antipasti. We will be recommending this place to everyone who wishes to visit Venice. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Attic room - something slightly different from the norm and an amazing private terrace
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gemma L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

It is my eighth time staying with Sandra and Leonardo.they are great hosts nothing is to much trouble for them.from helping you with your cases to that fantastic breakfast and the specially baked cakes that Sandra cooks fresh daily and the great coffee that Leonardo serves.the rooms are all very good so different , the attic has a view to die for. A great B and B in the real part of venice, once you have stayed with Sandra and Leonardo you will not want to stay any where else in venice

Room Tip: The attic room is great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diana K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We have just come back from a 6 night stay in the "Suite on the Roof" at B&B Sandra. We stayed with Sandra & Leonardo in 2009, but for the last 2 trips we had to stay in other B&B's as they were fully booked. We wanted this room so that we could enjoy the fabulous view from the private terrace on the roof and sit there in the early evening, listening to the bells and life on the canal.

As other people have said, Sandra and Leonardo are really nice people who have consistently worked hard to give pleasure to their guests. Having stayed in other B&B's in Venice, we know that they are exceptional in the way they are available for their guests. They have a beautiful home which is spotlessly clean and comfortable. We very much doubt that a 5 Star hotel could compete with the breakfast that they offer:- Freshly squeezed orange juice, really good strong coffee, an artistically created fresh fruit salad, wonderful quality cheeses and hams and freshly baked cake or pastries - not the time to be on a diet!

If you want to stay in a genuine Venetian area (Cannaregio) with warm and generous hosts who treat you as friends and really care that you have a good time, this is the place to stay - it is a "haven" when one wants to get away from the busy bustle of tourism. Sandra's website is very good with clear directions and helpful information.

(We did not mean to rate the Fitness Centre as it does not exist, but we can't remove it).

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jane_way33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ca' Pozzo Inn
Ca' Pozzo Inn
#16 of 479 in Venice
786 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
la chicca
la chicca
#108 of 479 in Venice
184 reviews
Castello
Oceano Mare B&B
Oceano Mare B&B
#57 of 479 in Venice
187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Casa Genoveffa
Casa Genoveffa
#282 of 479 in Venice
30 reviews
Castello
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
La Porta D'Oriente B&B
#122 of 479 in Venice
88 reviews
San Polo
Residenza degli Angeli
Residenza degli Angeli
#12 of 479 in Venice
674 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandra B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandra B&B

Address: Sestiere di Cannaregio 2452, 30121 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Cannaregio
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 479 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range: £111 - £136 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Studio Scivoletto S.r.l. so you can book your Sandra B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandra Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing