We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“AN EXCELLENT CHOICE”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2011

When you read through the other reports most things have been said to form an opinion that this is a very good hotel. Location, spotlessly clean, helpful staff, good breakfast, some nice room amenities all score highly in the reports. I wont go on with the superlatives this is an excellent choice and you won't go far wrong choosing this hotel. Tips have been offered throughout these reports and forums however i offer a couple to you which may go to re-enforce what's been said before or as a reminder, should you be travelling in the near future.
The Grand Canal is less than 2 minutes walk from the hotel if you are arriving from the airport used the Orange line Aliaguna water bus its 25 Euro return and stops at the Rialto the walk is about 200 mtrs to the hotel.

To see the Grand Canal on a budget buy a 12 hour pass( 16E) and sit on the No 1 water bus it tours the Grand Canal and takes in each stop eventually taking you to the Lido you can stay on and return and see the canal again. You can use this pass to take you the the Islands as well as all the Venice area its great value. If you have the time take the LN to Burano you won't be disappointed.

Back to the hotel -- All the staff were extremely helpful and i would especially like to thank Lorenzo, his personal attributes are exemplary, his knowledge and willingness to assist us at every opportunity made our stay so much more enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank airsealandandsand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,045)
There are newer reviews for Hotel a La Commedia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,171 - 1,177 of 2,045 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2011

Seeing Venice in only a few days is very simple when staying at a La Commedia. It is about 2 minutes from the Rialto Bridge and maybe 5 minutes or so from San Marco. If you get tired of walking, the Rialto vaporeto stop is very close, making it wasy to go up and down the canal. The rooms were clean, spacious and nicely appointed. I especially liked the Etro bath products. The breakfast was nicely organized and food was plentiful. The men at the front desk were very helpful with getting us oriented. The hotel will help organize gondola rides (either 30 euro per person shared with 2 other couples or 120 for one couple and no sharing). Ours was a lot of fun and much less cheesy than I had expected. The hotel also organizes a free taxi to Murano. Of course, you are obligated to check out one glass factory for a few minutes, but it was still a convenient way to get to Murano quickly. Our 3 nights here were very enjoyable, and I would love to stay here again when we return to Venice.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoraNJtoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2011

We spent the easter vacation at a La Commedia. When I tarvel to Europe unless I stay at a 5 star hotel, i always keep my expectations very low. But this hotel was a miracle. A very goosd sized room, very tastefully decorated, newly refurbished with all the necessary amenities. I felt that the service was 5 star. The staff were so helpful and nice. It did not have much of a common area to sit and relax but somewhere like Venice one spends very ittle time at the hotel so it did not not really matter much. The location is also great, 5 minutes from St Marco Square. I wouls strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gamze68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Our Christmas in Venice was magical with the help of this hotel!
Some general notes:
-The staff was incredible! Very friendly and helpful. Got us discounts at restaurants and pointed us to the best shops. The bartender in the main lobby was a lot of fun too.
-Rooms were cozy and clean. Great marble bathrooms with big mirrors.
-Free breakfast was a great value. Fruit, granola, oatmeal, toast, breakfast bars, etc. for free and a small additional fee for made-to-order eggs/meat.
-Perfect location! Near the Gran Canal, Rialto Bridge, and a short walk to St. Mark's square.
-The only downside was that internet access was very pricey. I recommend going to a cafe instead for a better deal

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank caspervr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2011

The position of the hotel is perfect for the exploration of Venice without being on a tourist throughway and therefore relatively quiet.
The service was excellent, they couldn,t do enough for you. They also organised little tours for about ten people of "hidden venice" or a gondala ride if you wished to go. This hotel was one of the best I've ever sayed in.
The rooms were very tastefuly done out in neutral shades and were spotlessly clean. The only thing the room lacked for us was a kettle. The bedroom and bathroom were both well designed and spacious.

Room Tip: Close to St Marks Square and Rialto Bridge
  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank david220860
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2011

This was definitely the find of the holiday for us. Good price, good location, good service. Quite close to perfection for a romantic holiday in Venice!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Avataarkaap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2011

Don't be fooled by the name "commedia'. They take their business seriously. This hotel is extremely well run. The staff could not have been more kind and helpful. The rooms are sumptuously designed. The breakfast room is well managed and the breakfast good. We paid when we booked months ago and when we arrived we were upgraded to a Suite. Magnificent. Highest compliments to this fine Venice hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PaulTB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,860 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 385 in Venice
789 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £127 - £619 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing