We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #27 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 January 2012

This was our first trip to Italy and Venice was our last stop after 3 visits. We really enjoyed the hotel. The room was the nicest of the three that we stayed in.
Pros: Readily accessible from the Vaporretto stop with easy directions to find. This was really important for us because my wife was 5 months pregnant and we did not want to be lugging luggage through the streets of Venice. The room was a good size based on European standards. The staff was very friendly at the front and our room was always immaculate when we returned at the end of the day. It was a more modern hotel so the ammenities were also nice. The location was also convenient. We were about 5 minutes from St. Mark's Square and 2 minutes from the Vaporretto.
Cons: The breakfast was just ok for us. It seems to be a standard European style breakfast. I was a little disappointed the bacon and eggs weren't ready when the breakfast started at 7am because we had to catch our plane. I also think the milk for the cereal might have spoiled. I did love the croissants and the free hot chocolate in the morning was also nice.

Room Tip: Book early.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank William G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,182)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,167 - 1,173 of 2,183 reviews

Reviewed 22 January 2012

Stayed at La Commedia last October and this January we had an equally pleasant and relaxing time. Hotel accommodation was excellent, staff were very helpful and courteous as before and we were only sorry that we were not staying longer. Venice itself is equally fascinating in winter as in summer. The Basilica has no queues at this time of year! The city itself positively overflows with art and atmosphere and hopefully we will return again to explore further as there is still plenty to see.

Room Tip: higher floors quieter, a few have balconies which would be great in warmer weather as is the roof te...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geoff R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 January 2012

Stay in this hotel approx 2 years ago at the end of September for one night before catching a Greek Isle Cruise. Our first trip to Venice and fell in love with the city.
Location was perfect for us - the rialto bridge is just around the corner. There is a lovely court yard with a restaurant just outside. Shops and restaurants are just a stroll down one of the many quaint streets.
Rooms are a bit on the small size but im assuming this is the norm for a city like Venice. Room were decorated lovely and contained everything we needed. The bathroom was sizeable in comparison to the bedroom.
There is a quaint bar area beside the reception area - from what I recall the roof terrace bar wasnt open for drinks but you could still go up there.
For the time of year we stayed I did feel that the hotel was a bit pricey.
I would most certaintly stay at this hotel when we return to Venice, if the price is right.
TIP: We made the mistake of hopping on the first water taxi that came along and would recommend that you do your homework as we were taken on a very long scenic route.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlondieL20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

The hotel is in a great location, just off the Rialto vaparetto stop, near the Rialto Bridge and a short walk across to San Marco square. The staff introduced themselves as true Venetians and took pride in giving us info and directions to all the best sights on the map. We didn't take up the shared gondola ride or free trip to the Glass manufacturer on Murano options that can be organised through the hotel.

Our room was 102, so an easy walk from reception up one flight of stairs. There was quite a small lift so it was good not to need it too often.

Overall, we enjoyed our two night stay here.

The room was comfortable, the bathroom quite large with all the extras you need, the cupboards held our bags and an in-room safe was available for our valuables. Breakfast was included and served just down the corridor on level 1. It had plenty of variety and helpful staff to bring tea/coffee/hot chocolate to the table.

The bar across from reception is quite small with only 3-4 table settings. There is usually lots of bustle in and out around this area, so not somewhere to relax for long.

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2012

We recently stayed at la Commedia Hotel with our 2 kids and were allocated a lovely set up with two rooms (210 and 211) with their own private passage between them which was ideal for a family. The hotel is very well located near the Rialto Bridge with easy access to vaporettos. However, there are definately areas that they could improve on including that the reception staff while friendly, could not direct us to any really good restaurants in the area that were not expensive tourist traps, which I really think is a service that should be offered by any good hotel. Also, the WIFI offering is also not up to scratch. You are given 30minutes of free time and thereafter you are charged. However, before the time that you have paid for is up, you are disconnected and are forced to pay again although you have not used up the previous time that you have paid for. This is hugely frustrating not to say expensive. Another area that could really be improved on is their room service offering - this is very poor.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lisa d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

a La Commedia Hotel in Venice was gorgeous, rich in color and fabrics. 5-Star quality Staff. Continental breakfast was delicious, set in a cozy room with white table-linens, silver-ware, fresh croissants & jams, yogurts, cereals, the usual European fare. The room was designed with clean lines & rich colors and it was very quiet. The evening prior to our departure (Wed., 11/9), my husband became ill. We had to cancel a scheduled boat ride to the San Marco airport for 4am and reschedule our flights to Paris. The gentleman on staff at 4am was very gracious. He generously prepared a Sterling Silver Platter with Hot Tea and brought it to our room on the 3rd floor for my husband. Very kind. All staff spoke English very well. The hotel's location was perfect - 2 minute walk to the dock, and high-end shops, cafes, restaurants, just outside the door. We will stay at a La Commedia on our next trip.

Room Tip: The '2nd' floor is technically the '3rd' floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heather363
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2011

We stayed at the Hotel A La Commedia Venice for one night in November 2011 before shifting to another Venice hotel....

We came in to Venice vide an overnight train from Vienna and took the vaporetto from Ferrovia to Rialto (the hotel is a stone's throw from this vaporetto stop)
We reached the hotel around 9 AM and checked-in smoothly. However, our room wasn't ready so we accepted the hotel's offer to join a few other guests to visit a glass blowing outlet at Murano till afternoon, by which time our room would be ready.

The room that we were allotted seemed to have been refurbished recently and we found the bed to be rather comfortable and all the appliances - LCD TV, hair dryer, etc to be quite new.

A Continental breakfast was laid down in a corner area on the first floor and we found the spread to be adequate.

A small cafe is also located on the property which serves coffee and small bites.

Overall a rather ordinary hotel in one of the most exciting places on Earth!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wont2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 387 in Venice
1,465 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,953 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 387 in Venice
2,018 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £116 - £417 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Nozio Netplan srl, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing