We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing boutique hotel experience!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

I absolutely adored this boutique hotel. It is perfectly located between the two major areas in Venice, San Marco and Rialto. You have easy access to all major attractions and the walk is pleasant and beautiful. The hotel is impeccably clean. While it doesn't have a grand lobby, it has a beautiful rooftop with comfortable lounging chairs, perfect for sipping a bellini or appertif of your choice. The bellini is delicious. The rooms are very neat and clean, very tastefully decorated
with classy bedspreads and murano sconces. The staff is very cordial and helpful. My husband and I will definitely return to this hotel.

Room Tip: the only downside was hard pillows. if you like down pillows, then you need to bring your own.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foroughpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,048)
There are newer reviews for Hotel a La Commedia
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,053 - 1,059 of 2,048 reviews

Reviewed 4 May 2012

Excellent location, close to all major attractions and quiet during the night. Very clean and tastefully decorated with the added bonus of a rooftop bar to relax in the evening Sun after a hard days sightseeing. Staff were friendly and helpful and we were given a free trip to murano on private water taxi. Loved it.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cornedbeef1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2012

My wife and I spent four splendid days at the A La Commedia. Magnificent hotel situated on a quiet square. Many thanks to all the team for the warm welcome and quality of the offered services.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guy c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2012

My husband and I spent 4 nights at this hotel. The location is really convenient; easy walking distance to Piazza San Marco, Rialto Bridge. The room was very comfortable and the staff was extremely helpful. They provided maps, directions, suggestions on where to eat, arranged our Gondola ride as well as a ride to Murano. Our room package included breakfast which was quite good; fresh fruit, cereal, juice, excellent coffee, etc.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2012

we are just back from a 2 night stay at the a la commedia, as we decided to use the public boat transport this hotel was a stones throw away from the stop at Rialto which is also the stop for the boat to/from the Airport. 5 minute walk to St Marcs Square and 2 minutes from Rialto Bridge. On arriving the Staff were very friendly and informative of the sight seeing attractions providing a map and directions which were easy to follow. The room was spacious ( we had a Junior suite with a sofa and large king bed/balcony) and traditionally decorated with a large bathroom. Breakfast was mostly continental with scrabled eggs and bacon offered as 'hot' breakfast, additional to that there is a menu you can chose from but i think this may be an extra charge. Only down side, two (small) things - they dont have an iron which you can borrow, they only provide a ironing/laundry service which takes all day (drop at 9am to be returned at 4pm) so pack your clothes well ! There are no tea/coffee facilities in the room as almost every corner you turn in Venice there are coffee shops but being scottish - nice to have a cup of tea at the ready! that aside these things i can happily live with and i would definitely return there.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Y2APE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2012

Stayed three nights at the A la Commedia at the end of my tour around Italy and have to say it was absolutely fantastic.

For the last part of my trip I was travelling on my own, and the staff here did everything they could to make me feel welcome, unlike some other hotels who shoved me into box rooms at the end of corridors/tiny tables by the restaurant doors etc!

The hotel has a luxurious feel to it from the moment you walk in, and the plush, deep pile carpeting in the corridors adds to that feeling. My room was very large and very well equipped-everything in it was electrically operated, including the curtains.

The breakfast was superb, a fantastic selection of fruit compotes, fresh ricotta, warm breads and pastries.

The hotel was a little tricky to find at first, but that's half the charm of Venice anyway!

I cannot wait to return.

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank froebelfran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2012

This was our first stop on a two week trip to Italy, and it was a pleasant way to begin. We took the Alilaguna water taxi from the airport to the Rialto bridge stop and, from there, it was about a four minute walk to the hotel. We arrived at around 1pm and were greeted very warmly and showed to our room right away. The staff, without exception, were very nice, helpful and professional. The hotel and room were immaculate and the whole place was obviously very well cared for. The rooms are typical for Europe in size, but very opulent. We had a King bed with high quality linens and drapes, and ornate, polished decorations like Murano glass wall mounted chandeliers. The bathroom was huge and even more lavish than the room with, among other things, towel warmers and a 12" diameter shower head. I was surprised at the quality of the place because I booked it through an online tour company and it was an upgrade that cost only a little more per night (about $25) than the bargain rate place, located on Lido Island, suggested on the original itinerary. I should also mention that the package included the hotels buffet breakfast which was excellent; fresh food and plenty of variety.
I don't spend a lot of time in hotels when I travel, so all of the stuff I just mentioned was just a bonus to me. The location of the hotel was the best part of the experience for us. It is a perfect base point to make any destination on the island comfortably accessible by foot. My wife and I walked everywhere in Venice from that hotel and did this at quite a leisurly pace. It is minutes, literally steps, to the Rialto Bridge where you can cross the canal on foot, or jump on the water taxi. Minutes in the other direction and you will be in San Marco Square and everything that has to offer. On two evenings we walked from the hotel to the Cannaregio*** for dinner and the walk back was just right to help get the blood flowing again after a great Italian meal. If you don't wish to wander too far from La Commedia, there is shopping, dining and entertainment ( Teatro Goldoni) in the immediate vicinity. One evening we saw a bit of Vivaldi performed by a small string ensemble in a church around the corner from the hotel, which was very enjoyable.
If I return to Venice any time soon I would, without question, stay at La Commedia.

***I highly recommend the Cannaregio, by the way, if you want to get off the beaten track and venture where few tourists ever seem to go. Here you will find restaurants and cafes along the Fondamenta Misericordia and Rio di S.Girolamo that are the real deal and frequented by locals. If you go during the day and early evening, it's very peaceful. Later at night (after 9pm), some of the places get very busy, so plan accordingly.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DLM212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,864 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £126 - £608 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, LateRooms, Ebookers, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing