We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hotel, great staff, great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“great hotel, great staff, great location”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We had a great stay stay at this hotel & will definitely return next time we visit Venice. Our room was fantastic, so large, comfortable and clean. It was well situated - only 200 yards from the water bus & the Rialto Bridge & 10 minutes stroll from St Marks. Our room was well furnished & kept clean & regularly serviced. The staff were all extremely friendly & helpful. Breakfast was superb, Wifi worked well too...The only other thing that I would ad to this review is, if you travel to Venice make sure you experience this fantastic hotel it's truly first class as are the staff and the services...keep up the great work everyone, you should be proud of your establishment.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kimba1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    396
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
330
1,337
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sittingbourne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2013 via mobile

My wife and I visited Hotel A La Commedia for four nights. The hotel is situated close to Saint Marks Square and all it's attractions. We found this hotel to be comfortable and the staff to be attentive. One slight niggle was that the breakfast room was too small and the cooked breakfast always to be lukewarm and never hot. We would recommend this hotel to anyone who wants a central location at a reasonable price.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marty1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
99 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

On arrival we were advised that a power cut the previous night meant our room was not available at that time but that arrangements had been made for us to stay one night at their sister hotel near St Mark's Square with the promise of a free upgrade to a junior suite for our second night back at La Commendia. One of the hotel staff who escorted us to the other hotel took care of one of our cases and assisted with the other when possible but it was a bit of a hike. The big plus for the sister hotel was that it overlooked the canal on which is situated the Bridge of Sighs, although the room was a little tight, especially with regard to headroom - I had to duck when taking a shower to avoid toughing the ceiling. After a morning's site seeing we returned to the La Commendia and true to their word our cases had been collected and returned and our upgraded suite was first class with well appointed bathroom and private terrace on which to enjoy the complementary bottle of Prosetto. The roof bar was a great place to enjoy a pre-dinner cocktail and the bed was most comfortable for a good night's sleep -pity the staff don't appear to check the clock alarm when doing the room as obviously a previous guest had set it to wake them at 4.00am which wasn't welcome. Given the overall quality of the hotel the breakfast was a bit of a let down, lacking choice and quality compared to even the sister hotel. Nevertheless, a great venue from which to explore this wonderful city - certainly glad we didn't opt for the cheap option of staying in the Mestre District outside the centre of Venice.

Room Tip: Hope for a power cut the night before!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CruiseInvestor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We had a good stay at this hotel & will definitely return next time we visit Venice. It was well situated - only 200 yards from the water bus & the Rialto Bridge & 10 minutes stroll from St Marks. Our room was well furnished & kept clean & regularly serviced. The staff were all friendly & helpful. Wifi worked well too. Shame there were no tea & coffee making facilities but there was plenty of opportunity for refills at breakfast & drinks available in the bar.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judesreview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Montreux, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Our stay at La Commedia was very good ! We wanted for a long time to visit Venice and when we finally did we were very satisfied by our choice of hotel. The hotel is nice with beautiful touches of luxury. Service was very personal with a lot of attention to detail. Everyone was very helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. It is expensive but I think it is worth it !

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LudwigB91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saskatoon, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

Venice is expensive and this Hotel is no exception but the rooms are spacious and well appointed - luxurious actually. The staff is superb - endless patience with our questions and inability to operate the electronic keys ;-) They also added a third bed to a room when an additional niece joined our group at the last minute. The location is just a block off the grand canal very close to the Rialto bridge which really helps when you get a little lost in the maze of Venice streets and canals. Make sure you understand the electronic notification system for getting your room cleaned. We didn't and accidentally left the occupied light on all day so didn't get maid service.

Room Tip: Fourth floor rooms are a bit smaller but have wood beam cathedral ceiling and quick access to roof t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013 via mobile

Overall very good, luxury rooms, great breakfast and central location and close to grand canal. Easy to find from Rialto bridge. Roof top terrace ideal, but closing for winter. Limited TV for English.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alfa-NG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing