We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than the last visit”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #32 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Appley Bridge, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Even better than the last visit”
Reviewed 17 November 2013

This is an excellent hotel in every way: the staff are friendly,endlessly helpful and their multi lingualism puts us monoglot Brits to shame. Nothing is a trouble or problem for them.
The rooms are beautifully fitted, warm, comfortable and splendidly equipped. I would recommend a La Commedia without hesitation and look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank toonarmyAppleyBridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,010 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,533
    401
    45
    16
    15
See reviews for
333
1,357
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

I have stayed here previously on business and chose it for my wife's birthday trip to Venice for that reason. We booked a Junior Suite via bookings.com at a really great rate and then were upgraded on arrival. The staff are ALL very courteous and friendly and make you feel very welcome. It is not a big hotel and is better for that. The room we had was spacious but not ostentatious and modestly decorated. We sleep better and for longer than we can recall for some time due in part to the comfortable room and the utter peace that is Venice at night.
My only gripe was with the electronic key and lock which was one of the least user friendly ones I have come across and it seemed to cause problems for many guests.

The roof top terrace is okay but don't expect it to be spectacular. It does provide a welcome respite after a days walking around the city.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarkSE2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heysham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Stayed in this wonderful hotel as part of a two centre holiday and would fully recommend this hotel to anyone. Staff very helpful and polite and we were upgraded to a junior suite. Ideally located for everything in Venice. Roof terrace bar an added bonus too.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chris H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 November 2013

A great hotel, brilliant staff and perfectly placed!
The staff at the hotel where amazing and so helpful!
Rooms were cleaned everyday, fresh sheets and towels (and chocolates on the pillows - what more could you ask for).
Roof terrace is spectacular.
The hotel is perfectly placed for the st marks square and a stones throw away from the Grand Canal.
Will be going back ASAP.
Thank you Hotel A La Commedia!!!!

Room Tip: Our room was amazing!!!! and I would assume all rooms at at the same high standard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rebecca S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel for a three day city break to Venice. The location of this hotel is perfect for exploring Venice. It is bang smack in the heart of the Venetian shopping district and is a two minute walk from the Rialto bridge and no more than ten minutes from St. Mark's Square. From the water taxi, exit at the Rialto Bridge stop and the hotel (if accessed via a small ally is about a minute away by foot). The hotel doesn't back directly onto a canal but from the roof terrace if you look hard enough, you will be able to see a small patch the Grand Canal!

Directly outside the hotel entrance is a small square with two restaurants with seating outside. We ate here on our last night and the food was excellent. To the right of the seating is the alleyway that will take you right to the Grand Canal with Rialto Bridge views... If you head right out of the hotel you will soon find an authentic Italian bakery and coffee shop - highly recommended but it is busy in the morning so be ready to place your order so as not to irritate the Venetian early morning commuters!

I would agree with almost everything I have read in the positive reviews about this hotel. The only thing we were less than happy with was the breakfast. A few easy pointers to improve this quickly would be to keep the eggs separate from the bacon (vegetarians, Jews and Muslims would appreciate that), improve the quality of the breakfast cereal and pastries (perhaps include pancakes and/or waffles) and on Sunday the bread tasted stale (the bakeries are closed on this day so perhaps plan for this a bit better).

On one day we did have an issue with poor service at breakfast but this was dealt with perfectly by the hotel staff and we couldn't have asked for a speedier or more satisfactory conclusion to our complaint. This showed the hotel at its best - they genuinely wanted to take on board comments from their guests and acted swiftly when it was necessary. Very few hotels will get everything right all of the time, but credit to the Commedia, they did all that they could to put the situation right - top marks to the hotel staff here!

In summary, the hotel was well situated, very clean, well maintained and staffed with friendly and helpful staff. We enjoyed our stay at this hotel and would stay again. The rest of my review below is about things to do in Venice, so end here of you're not interested in that...

Venice First Timers: We took two excursions and both were excellent. I would recommend a guided 'Secret Venice' tour as this opens up the residential quarter of the city and a local can tell you so much about the history of the buildings and culture of Venice. Eating out in the residential districts is considerably cheaper than restaurants around the hotels (about half the price!). We also did a canal boat tour - again excellent and lasted about an hour (which was enough for us).

I would highly recommend the views from the Campanile in St. Mark's Square but get there early to avoid the long queues that build up later in the day when the cruise ships dock! We didn't particularly enjoy the Doge's Palace - long queues about 35 euros to get in and very packed inside. However, you do get a view from the Bridge of Sighs and for me this made the visit worth while. There is a zero photography rule inside the palace and we couldn't understand why non-flash photography would be a problem - people were snapping photos and getting VERY told off by the staff (don't say you haven't been warned!)... :)

If you walk to St. Mark's Square in the evening you can't help but find the whole place incredibly romantic. There are cafes with musicians playing for your entertainment. We made a choice to sit and have drinks to take in the ambience and beauty of this unique area of Venice - but do this with your eyes wide open! The menus don't have prices for a good reason! For two coffees and two cokes we paid £50! We expected it and the music and atmosphere was an evening's entertainment for us, but it isn't cheap... You can of course enjoy the music and atmosphere for free if you don't sit in the café!

One last thing, we wanted to buy a unique glass ornament that was made in Venice using Murano glass. It was difficult to know if many of the shops were hyping their prices to sell you cheap imported ornaments from China! We then stumbled on a small, charming artisan just off of St. Mark's Square (exit opposite end from the Church). He makes the sculptures in front of you using the real Murano glass of Venice. You can't get more Venetian than that! His name is Sebastiano Perez and his shop can be found at: San Marco, 1234/A, Venezia. If it ever breaks he will repair it free of charge on your next visit to Venice!!

Enjoy Venice - I'm sure you'll have a great experience!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms on the 3rd and 4th floors have balconies - probably pay more but would be a bonus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank RU1ofUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Fabulous hotel with great service,
2 couples stayed here in July 2013 for 3 nights on our self guided 16 day tour of Italy,
This was our first hotel a and a fantastic start to our trip.
Wonderful location close to Rialto bridge and easy walk to st. marks square.
Best complimentary breakfast of our entire trip.
Also the best hotel rooftop bar of our trip.
The staff was extremely friendly and helpful.
Will definitely be back to amazing venice.

Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Hone4209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odessa, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

How'd they sneak this building past the Venice architectural police? It's as modern as today sitting amongst all the renaissance buildings everywhere about. In any case, it's a wonderful hotel with all the amenities you would expect of a four star location. We had a terrific room with a sitting area, a balcony and a great bathroom with a rain shower. Loved it. And the staff was wonderful. Everyone spoke fluent English and were very helpful. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 386 in Venice
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Fastbooking, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing