We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

A great hotel in a fantastic location. Breakfast was lovely, although in a small room. The staff did everything they could to make our stay memorable. We had a lovely room facing the theatre right next door and there was no noise at all during the nights.
The concierge did try to sell us a gondola ride multiple times but we read the reviews and decided to opt for our own.
The rooftop bar was a great addition to the hotel, though quite cold during the evenings we ventured up there.

All in all would definitely recommend. So close to many sights in Venice and we felt comfortable and at ease the entire time that we were there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hatchlingstravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,961 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,496
    391
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
325
1,321
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

a great hotel in excellent location, clean rooms up to standard, friendly staff, good breakfast, nicely decorated for the holidays, hope to visit again soon - this time in spring/summer as would like to try the rooftop terrace for drinks

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kasia s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Camberley, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
112 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A New Year treat for my wife and I - exquisite hotel a short walk from the Grand Canal, Rialto Bridge and St Mark's Square, the Campanile of which can be clearly seen from the peaceful roof top terrace bar. The water bus stops a few minutes away and the water taxi will drop you almost at the front door - perfect. Very friendly, helpful staff (thanks Emanuele for the ice pack for my wife's knee) with excellent recomendations for trips and restaurants. Only B&B available so a good excuse to eat out and about - do believe the concierge when he says to avoid the restaurant immediately next door which was overpriced and poorly cooked. Romantic New Year's Eve on the rooftop, drinking Prossecco and watching the fireworks over St Marks!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nic H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 January 2014

So I would never call any hotel absolutely perfect - but La Commedia came very close! Me and my boyfriend stayed in Venice from 17th - 19th December for a mini-break and we could not have asked for more! The hotel is exactly what it says on its website and unlike a lot of places, it actually looks as it does in the photos in real life! Beautiful rooms, beautifully decorated and attention to detail. Rooftop bar is lovely and peaceful with gorgeous view, and staff are extremely kind and helpful. Everything I could've asked for and more!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sam W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were so happy staying there. Great location, you need to stay at least 1 night in Venice to get lost in their streets.
The Hotel was beautiful, great service, great rooms, clean. We were so happy staying there.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Facundo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Crowborough, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We stayed in this fabulous hotel over the new year and what a brilliant place it was.

The Reception and waiting staff could not be more welcoming and helpful,

My only criticisms and these are quite minor, are that drinking water in the bedroom is only available from the minibar and is therefore chargeable. Also (and perhaps this is a British thing) it would have been great to have basic tea/coffee making facilities in the room.

The hotel is in an ideal centralised location.

The rooms were spotlessly clean.

I would thoroughly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeteS358
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
34 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Small but cosy hotel. Located conveniently behind the Rialto Bridge. It is only a short water taxi ride from Venice SM train station. Take the one which goes to Rialto Bridge. It is only 7 Euro. Alight at Rialto Bridge stop, then turn to your right, walk a short distance, up and down the steps to a small bridge, you'll see another water taxi station. There is a small passageway after a convenience shop, go through this and you will see a pink building on your right. That's the lovely hotel.

When I was there just recently, Christmas decorations were put up and it gave the hotel a nice Christmassy feeling.

Check in was swift but since we weren't allowed to check in until 2pm (we arrived at about 12noon), we walked a bit and had lunch.

The room was not too big but neither was it too cramp. However, it overlooked the alleyway and hence not possible to draw the curtains. If you are a light sleeper, this may pose a problem too as after midnight, the voices of the people drifted up. I am giving because of this otherwise, it is perfect.

Breakfast was lovely. Although it was not as extensive as a huge international hotel, it was sufficient. The staffs were nice, especially this gentleman (sorry I forgot his name) who changed my pot of hot water so that my tea can be hot. Thanks so much :-)

Upon check out, do check your bill. When I was waiting at the lobby one day, three guests checked out and they were billed for a bottle of mineral water which they said they did not drink and the item was cancelled.

It happened to me too but the staff swiftly said if it wasn't consumed by me, then he will gladly waive the bill. I am truly puzzled and wonder if these missing bottles of mineral water was common recurrences.

However that said, A La Commedia is a lovely hotel and I will stay again.

By the way, do not eat at the restaurant opposite Rialto Bridge. It is a tourist trap and food is lousy.

Room Tip: Ask for a room which does not face the alley.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PALMS4EVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 719 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#24 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 743 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Agoda, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing