We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic beautiful hotel with great location.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 February 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It was beautiful, clean and perfectly situated. The staff was wonderful and I will definitely plan a stay at this hotel in the future. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly reserve again next time in Venice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,124)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

787 - 793 of 2,124 reviews

Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is lovely. It is very well and attractively furnished and ideally placed in Venice. It is a short walk to Rialto Bridge and to St Mark's Square and there are lots of restaurants around it. What sets the hotel part though is the staff. From reception to room services and bar to breakfast, the staff are warm, smiling and friendly and will help in any way they can. You never feel your request is inconvenient! It make sit a pleasure to stay there. We took a travel kettle as there are no facilities in the room to make tea (as is true for most hotels in Italy). We heard no noise from outside at all as everything is sound insulated but it is a quiet street that the hotel is on.

Room Tip: We chose one grade up from the most basic and got a 'junior suite' which was a large bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stayed here for 5 nights and the location could not have been better as everyone says. It's 2 mins from Rialto water bus stop and the line that goes back and forth to the airport stops here so really convenient. Also unlike some hotels it is easy to find. It's a lovely 5 to 10 minute walk to St Marks square. Another positive we came to realise is that it is not at the same high risk of flood that some other parts of Venice are. Apparently Venice floods 12 to 16 times in winter and St Marks Square is often under a lot of water. One night there was a high tide and La Commedia was fine but you would have been stuck if staying nearer St Marks.

The hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in...it was immaculate and the rooms were lovely. My only slight grumble is that in deluxe rooms the double bed is zipped together twin mattresses which is a pet hate of mine but the room was well equipped with a mini bar and the usual toiletries. The turn down service with a chocolate and a card letting you know about the next day's weather forecast was a nice touch.

There is a small bar on the ground floor serving nice cocktails but I thought the virgin cocktails at 10 euro were overpriced. The breakfast room is nice but the breakfast is limited as others have said but perfectly adequate.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They have 2 film channels in English and perhaps need to change them a bit more often. The wi fi is free but you have to get a code each day from reception.

There are plenty of shops , cafés and restaurants nearby and also concert halls...we enjoyed a concert of the four seasons. Our best meal was de Mamo a few minutes walk away towards Rialto.

Overall this is an excellent choice of hotel in a position that could hardly be beaten.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ezz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January 2014 and were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't the best we had in Italy but it was good. The chocolates left on the bed were a lovely little touch. The location was perfect and within steps of the waterbus stop so we didn't have far to drag our suitcases. Was also in perfect location to explore the city on foot. Would recommend A La Commedia to anyone looking for a good hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SannaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel through a British Airways deal and were delighted on many counts. The hotel is superbly situated for exploring Venice and very easy to find* We were upgraded to a 'junior suite', which was large, luxuriously decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was a comprehensive buffet consisting fresh fruit, a delicious fruit salad, yoghurt, rolls, pastries, ham, salamis, cheese, scrambled eggs and bacon. There is no restaurant as such for lunch and dinner, but snacks are available at the bar. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, chocolates on our bed every night together with the thoughtful touch of a nightly weather forecast. We stayed for four nights and do not hesitate to recommend this little oasis and would love to go back one day.*Our worries about finding our way around Venice were groundless.A tourist desk is the very first thing you see when you arrive at the airport and they will give you excellent advice. Initially we thought we would take a private taxi to the hotel, but it was raining so the 80 euros seemed a waste. We bought a seven day transport pass for 58 euros each, which included our trips to and from the airport and unlimited travel on the very easy to figure out vaparettos. We visited the Lido, Murano, Burano and Torcelli as well as going up and down the Grand Canal. Money well spent!

Room Tip: We had room 109, which we found to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank GeorgieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2014

We found this hotel thru internet by chance. Of course Tripadvisor reviews helped a lot. It was a marvellous hotel. Its location was perfect. The rooms were large and modern (which is difficult to find in Venice). The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was quite good for a 4 star hotel. I can imagine the Roof Bar will be lovely in summer but unfortunately we were in Venice in February. At this trip we were with children and grand children but however I visit this beautiful city I would stay at this hotel. Staying at hotel "Commedia" will not make your stay in Venice a "Drama"

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank altanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014

My husband and i stayed for 6 nights in this lovely hotel, I could not fault anything about it at all.
When we arrived we had been upgraded to a junior suite it was fantastic large and very comfortable very well decorated with a he bed.
The room was cleaned every day with clean bedding, and each night the bed was turned down the curtains closed and chocolates left on the bed!
The staff were amazing so helpful with everything. The breakfast was good plenty of choice every day, fruit salad, pastries, eggs, bacon, cheese, ham etc
The location was extra good a couple of minuets from the boat stops either for the bus boat or private taxi , we took a shared taxi on the way into venice with another couple that we booked beforehand, and on the way back to the airport we too the boat bus which runs every 1/2 hour and that was equally as good.
We could walk to everything from our hotel very easily as it is the perfect central location and coming back to such a lovely huge room after walking for hours was bliss, when we go back to Venice this will be the hotel we stay in again....

Room Tip: we had roon 110 which is a junior suite, a lovely big room wish a separate dressing area and a big b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank melrobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#26 of 385 in Venice
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,157 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £98 - £405 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Agoda, LateRooms, Expedia, Fastbooking, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing