We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Snobish but with a reason”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #28 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
42 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Snobish but with a reason”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

Hotel is located in a great position, practically in between the Rialto Bridge and P.zza San Marco...so, basically u can't get lost BUT, no matter how they tried, the personel was snobish, they have reccomended us APPARENTLY places to eat where they have their 'cut' and it was a total failure. I, speaking italian, was asking specifically for 'local' places and they have sent us to Bistro... one of the two most expensive restaurants which, by all means, is nice if u are the type of ppl who want 6-7 waiters 'dancing' around you ALL THE time... but ok...Hotel was great, we had a suite, service and all was at maximum lvl. If u can afford it, it is worth every penny spent....but be sure not to be a smoker... they do have a beautiful terrace but it rained all the time so...
Dont EVER forget, they, as all the other, can arrange a FREE trip to Island of Murano. OK, was nice, short and commercial from I remeber 25 yrs ago (we even bought something) but I wanted more of the 'bacground' so we went to the local museum as well...result: my neck hurts from stairing at the chandeliers but NO REAL history there... just technique. If u want a real bacground and a bit of romance, must read is “The Glassblower of Murano” written by Marina Fiorato. After read this book, and after I already been to Murano, it was the only reason I went to see that place again in research of bits and pieces of that 'story'... results: 0 points. As if 'they' are hiding that part of the history of Murano. So Museo Arceologico is a 'cra'p unless u want to pay 12€ (two persons) for.. looking at the old cups. But as I said, it is offered (seceretly) by all hotels, at least to go there...just be careful HOW u are getting back. Vaporetto states it stops at 'San Marko+... it didnt. It stopped at St. Zacccharia. We, foolis, didnt have the map and we made ALL the way to... nvm. So be careful.
But, getting back to the hotel... really romantic, really good placed, really expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: Room/suite no.110. Noo view but loads of choccolates for good sleeping. Very clean and spacious...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NataSharPei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,475
    384
    44
    15
    14
See reviews for
320
1,297
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

We absolutely loved this hotel. It was beautiful, clean and perfectly situated. The staff was wonderful and I will definitely plan a stay at this hotel in the future. I highly recommend this hotel and will certainly reserve again next time in Venice.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

This hotel is lovely. It is very well and attractively furnished and ideally placed in Venice. It is a short walk to Rialto Bridge and to St Mark's Square and there are lots of restaurants around it. What sets the hotel part though is the staff. From reception to room services and bar to breakfast, the staff are warm, smiling and friendly and will help in any way they can. You never feel your request is inconvenient! It make sit a pleasure to stay there. We took a travel kettle as there are no facilities in the room to make tea (as is true for most hotels in Italy). We heard no noise from outside at all as everything is sound insulated but it is a quiet street that the hotel is on.

Room Tip: We chose one grade up from the most basic and got a 'junior suite' which was a large bedroom...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 5 nights and the location could not have been better as everyone says. It's 2 mins from Rialto water bus stop and the line that goes back and forth to the airport stops here so really convenient. Also unlike some hotels it is easy to find. It's a lovely 5 to 10 minute walk to St Marks square. Another positive we came to realise is that it is not at the same high risk of flood that some other parts of Venice are. Apparently Venice floods 12 to 16 times in winter and St Marks Square is often under a lot of water. One night there was a high tide and La Commedia was fine but you would have been stuck if staying nearer St Marks.

The hotel is one of the cleanest I have ever stayed in...it was immaculate and the rooms were lovely. My only slight grumble is that in deluxe rooms the double bed is zipped together twin mattresses which is a pet hate of mine but the room was well equipped with a mini bar and the usual toiletries. The turn down service with a chocolate and a card letting you know about the next day's weather forecast was a nice touch.

There is a small bar on the ground floor serving nice cocktails but I thought the virgin cocktails at 10 euro were overpriced. The breakfast room is nice but the breakfast is limited as others have said but perfectly adequate.

The staff were friendly and helpful. They have 2 film channels in English and perhaps need to change them a bit more often. The wi fi is free but you have to get a code each day from reception.

There are plenty of shops , cafés and restaurants nearby and also concert halls...we enjoyed a concert of the four seasons. Our best meal was de Mamo a few minutes walk away towards Rialto.

Overall this is an excellent choice of hotel in a position that could hardly be beaten.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ezz100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

We stayed in this hotel in January 2014 and were upgraded to a Junior Suite which was large and very comfortable. The bathroom was HUGE. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The breakfast wasn't the best we had in Italy but it was good. The chocolates left on the bed were a lovely little touch. The location was perfect and within steps of the waterbus stop so we didn't have far to drag our suitcases. Was also in perfect location to explore the city on foot. Would recommend A La Commedia to anyone looking for a good hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SannaG2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 February 2014

We booked this hotel through a British Airways deal and were delighted on many counts. The hotel is superbly situated for exploring Venice and very easy to find* We were upgraded to a 'junior suite', which was large, luxuriously decorated and very comfortable. The breakfast was a comprehensive buffet consisting fresh fruit, a delicious fruit salad, yoghurt, rolls, pastries, ham, salamis, cheese, scrambled eggs and bacon. There is no restaurant as such for lunch and dinner, but snacks are available at the bar. The staff were helpful, friendly and efficient, chocolates on our bed every night together with the thoughtful touch of a nightly weather forecast. We stayed for four nights and do not hesitate to recommend this little oasis and would love to go back one day.*Our worries about finding our way around Venice were groundless.A tourist desk is the very first thing you see when you arrive at the airport and they will give you excellent advice. Initially we thought we would take a private taxi to the hotel, but it was raining so the 80 euros seemed a waste. We bought a seven day transport pass for 58 euros each, which included our trips to and from the airport and unlimited travel on the very easy to figure out vaparettos. We visited the Lido, Murano, Burano and Torcelli as well as going up and down the Grand Canal. Money well spent!

Room Tip: We had room 109, which we found to be perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GeorgieLouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
144 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2014

We found this hotel thru internet by chance. Of course Tripadvisor reviews helped a lot. It was a marvellous hotel. Its location was perfect. The rooms were large and modern (which is difficult to find in Venice). The staff was very kind and helpful. Breakfast was quite good for a 4 star hotel. I can imagine the Roof Bar will be lovely in summer but unfortunately we were in Venice in February. At this trip we were with children and grand children but however I visit this beautiful city I would stay at this hotel. Staying at hotel "Commedia" will not make your stay in Venice a "Drama"

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank altanbak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#8 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Sina Palazzo Sant'Angelo
#24 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Hotels.com, Agoda, Ebookers, Odigeo, Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing