We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Holmfirth
Level Contributor
113 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Great service from collection at the airport all the way through the services provided by this amazing hotel. Will visit again.
Breakfast selection one of the best. Bar staff and reception staff all keen ans very helpful. Made our stay very enjoyable.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank normski999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,985 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,515
    396
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
330
1,337
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Our 2nd memorable trip to this spotless and ideally located hotel, 2 minutes from the Rialto and 5 Max from San Marco. Excellent location for exploring the alleys and discovering real Venice, with options for both local and tourist restaurants and bars. We were welcomed by mostly the same staff from 7 years ago, polite, courteous and nothing too much trouble. Booked a fantastic private gondola trip via reception and we were personally escorted to the canal. When we checked out the porters take your luggage to the water taxi, a great help.
The hotel has a lovely roof terrace from which to drink I the sights and sounds of Venice, with a Bellini. Relaxing in the hotel bar after a good meal was a joy due to the fantastic service and personality of the barman Efrem, an individual of hidden depths and impeccable manners and humour.
The rooms are impeccable and maintained to a very high standard and breakfast was very relaxed and luxuriously presented,with superb coffee! We also met some lovely like-minded people who had chose the hotel for its high comfort and convenient location. Will be back again!
Grazie!

Room Tip: We have stayed in both a Deluxe and Junior Suite and both were of an excellent standard. Very quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2014

Loved the location, we got a room for 3 and service was immaculate. Everything you'd expect from a 4 star hotel you got it. Good value for money as well - as we got it through British Airways. Definitely will stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mphosis9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I am currently staying at Hotel a La Commedia. This is a very clean and precise hotel, located about 8 minutes north of St. Marks (well located, but a bit hard to find). The staff are very nice and speak English well. The rooms are furnished in pastels and appear quite feminine. The bathrooms are spacious. The only thing you should be aware of is that if you prefer a warm or cool room the temperature reverts automatically to a standard temp After a few hours unless you tell it do do otherwise. I don't expect this for a hotel in this price range.
As for the breakfast, it is above average but they don't do cooked food (eg omelettes or sausages). Otherwise very attentive. Good wifi in rooms but, as in many hotels, it isn't set to remember your password so you have to re enteritis. Good luck!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
Thank davidtinney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 March 2014

This is a superb hotel!! The rooms are beautiful, clean and well appointed. The staff are friendly and accommodating. The buffet breakfast is fabulous!! The hotel is very well situated, just a few minutes walk from the Rialto taxis stop and about five minutes from St Marks Square. Unfortunately, this can make it a little bit noisy sometimes with people walking from the vaporetta to St Marks, but this is what you pay for the convenience of being so close to everything!

We will definitely return here when we come back to Venice. It is absolutely perfect!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrigtrogK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 March 2014

A weekend away minus our small children for my husband and I. Hotel situated a couple of minutes walk from the rialto water taxi stop. No view of the grand canal ( unless you hung out of the bathroom window!) We were up graded but I suspect this room is often used for that purpose because the noise from the generater or airconditioning unit or whatever it was was quite annoying. If I had recieved that room after booking a junior suite I would have been disappointed but because they'd upgraded us we didn't bother. Well situated to walk to many attractions such as Saint Marcs Square. The staff were excellent and recommended super places to eat. The roof top bar was a really great touch and the Bellini's better than the ones in Harry's bar!!! It was October but mild (we are English remember) and we had the place to ourselves.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyD10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014 via mobile

The hotel is perfectly situated, 1 minute to Rialto & 5 minutes to San Marco. The staff are very friendly and the hotel is spotlessly clean. We had room 304 which is large with a balcony & in a quiet position. Breakfast was delicious, continental with scrambled eggs & bacon. The roof terrace is a real gem, it was really warm for March so was lovely to sit up there with a glass of wine. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone. We had a wonderful stay here.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarrieRoberts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
732 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Fastbooking, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing