We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, But Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #30 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Athens, West Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Expensive, But Worth It”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Just back from a husband and wife retreat to Venice and the La Commedia added greatly to enjoyment of the city. The staff is first class and knowledgeable. The facility is definitely 4 star and very clean. The roof top bar is expensive, but such a great place to recap the day and meet other travelers. We would stay there again in a heartbeat and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,987 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,516
    397
    44
    16
    14
See reviews for
331
1,338
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (237)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abilene, Texas
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Once again, Lisa at Beach Bum Vacations hit another one out of the park with this one!! Our suite was HUGE and beautifully appointed! The bathroom was by far one of the best of all the hotels we stayed in while in Europe! Even had a towel warmer! The staff here was pleasant and helpful. They gave good advice and made arrangements for a wonderful gondola ride that was very enjoyable. The location of the hotel is perfect! Short walk to St. Mark's square and not far from the Rialto Bridge. There was lots of shops and restaurants close by. The rooftop terrace is a must in the evening! The bartender and his helper were very attentive and polite. The breakfast buffet was adequate and and a great benefit. This hotel would be my "go to" in Venice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Paula F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2014

We loved our stay at the La Commedia on San Marco in Venice. We were a little worried as we approached the hotel from the Grand Canal, because we were looking at the back of the hotel. The hotel sits in the middle of the block, so there are no views of the water from its windows.

What really surprised us was how wonderful the service was in this hotel. They were very accommodating of every request we made. The location, just half a block from the Grand Canal, is also wonderful. You are a very short walk to wonderful small shops and squares and the really great restaurant, Ai Mercanti, which was recommended by the hotel staff and which we really enjoyed. The hotel is about 10-15 minutes walk to St. Mark's square where the major attractions are located.

Our room was attractively appointed but a little small as we were traveling with our teenage son and needed a roll away.

While we weren't "wow'ed" by the breakfast room (small) or the breakfast offerings, the location and service more than compensated.

We would definitely stay at this hotel again. The location and service were so nice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DAS123123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wimborne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This trip was to celebrate our 25th Wedding Anniversary and we were not disappointed. The hotel was centrally placed between St Marks Square and The Rialto Bridge - so the location is perfect. The staff were professional, polite, friendly and very helpful and when talking to the guests were able to switch between Italian, English, French etc with ease.

We had booked a Deluxe Double but on arrival we had a complimentary upgrade to a Junior Suite - thank you very much! The room was exactly as pictured on their website - truly stunning, with a huge massive bed! The entire Junior Suite was pure luxury and I cannot rate this hotel and its staff highly enough.

If we are ever in Venice again, we will definitely book Hotel a La Commedia again...

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SelinaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We had a one night stay at Hotel a La Commedia during a two week European vacation. We were so impressed by Lisa with Beach Bum Vacations & her choice of hotel for us in Venice. The front desk staff were friendly, helpful, & offered great recommendations. They arranged a gondola ride for us that ran as expected & smoothly. It is conveniently located between the Rialto bridge & St. Mark's square. It is an easy walk to each location.

The room was large according to the European standards that we had become accustomed throughout our trip. The bed was comfortable & the bathroom had great amenities & was surprisingly large. The rooftop patio was a great retreat from the bustling streets & served great drinks & snacks. The breakfast buffet was comprehensive & offered a great variety of food to get a good start to your day.

Overall, I would definitely make this my must stay in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank kbear25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel a La Commedia and found it to be a beautiful hotel with a wonderful staff. The balcony gave a beautiful view of other buildings around us (picturesque to say the least!). You can get to Plaza San Marco in 5 minutes.

The room we stayed in (3rd floor) was beautiful. It had a beautiful queen size bed and a fold out sofa (that was also very comfortable).

Would I stay at this hotel again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank jwbjpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Went to the rooftop bar here during my stay in Venice and found it to be lovely. It was a peaceful oasis with well priced drinks. I would especially recommend the fresh white peach juice which was delicious and refreshing.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Londonfoodgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Just opened in 2006, Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing