We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #29 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 21/7 for 3 nights for our silver wedding anniversary. Our tour operator mentioned our anniversary and we were upgraded to a junior suite. The hotel staff were lovely, and the location simply couldn't be beaten - about a minute's walk from the Rialto Bridge water bus stop and a 5 minute walk from St. Mark's square. You have to try Giovanni's cocktails at the rooftop bar!

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Donna H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,026 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,549
    402
    45
    16
    14
See reviews for
335
1,372
37
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (239)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights. We found the hotel easily (4-5 mins slow walk, no bridges) from the Rialto stop having taken the waterbus transfer from the airport. We arrived at midday and were too early to check in but reception welcomed us, went through the check in formalities, offered to look after our luggage and recommended a restaurant for lunch - what more could you ask! Our stay at the hotel continued in the same way - lovely room, excellent staff who are happy to make suggestions and provide maps and directions so that you get the most out of your visit, great rooftop terrace and bar. The location couldn't be better, very central to St Marks square but in a much quieter area.

Room Tip: With a room at the front of the hotel you can open the large windows and hear the hustle bustle from...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JEM5665
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed for one night prior to boarding a cruise out of Venice. The location is very conveniently located to the Rialto vaporetto and water taxi stop. No bridges to cross with luggage and easy transfer from the airport. Close to the action at St. Marks, but on a quiet street. We slept with the windows open with no problem. We traveled with our teen daughter and booked a junior suite with a king and single bed. The room was spacious with a large bathroom. Charming hotel with modern size and amenities. Staff was friendly and proficient in English. We easily booked the room online and received multiple confirmations prior to travel. Nice buffet breakfast with hot and cold options. We were able to check in early and have our luggage held the next day.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank jk566
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel exceeded our expectations. Ideally located close to Rialto Bridge but away from the very busy, congested tourist area, the hotel is in a small square with a wonderful roof terrace.

Easily walkable to St Marks Square and Accademia bridge along narrow streets and it is possible to avoid the overly crowded main routes discovering local shops and beautiful small bridges, canals and squares along the way.

We had 2 adjacent rooms (301 and 302) for our family of 5, both quite large with generous bathrooms. Both bedrooms had 2 windows and the bathrooms had windows too which was a lovely bonus.

Breakfast had a good selection of fresh fruit, cereal, yoghurts, cheese, cooked meats, pastries, rolls, toast, bacon and scrambled eggs! The staff were attentive and the dining room although not large was never overly busy.

Finally, another mention of the roof terrace - perfect! Shady sun loungers for relaxing during the day, and candlelit and beautiful in the evening, always with stunning views of the city.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank JMM33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved staying here. The location was great - really central, and just a very short walk from where our water taxi dropped us off. The staff took a personal interest in all their guests and were really helpful with maps, directions, suggestions of things to do, etc. Our bedroom was glamorous, if a little small for three people. The bathroom was massive! Another little extra was discovering the bar on the hotel roof, with a wonderful ambience. I'd stay here again, for sure, and I will certainly recommend it to friends.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Marion16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
perth
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We stayed for 5 nights in July and we loved the hotel. Right near the grand canal so you're not dragging your bags through Venice alleyways. 5 minutes to St Marks square and all the shopping.
1 minute to the Rialto bridge.Beautiful rooms....I have stayed in 5 star hotels that don't come close to La Commedia. And more importantly, the staff and concierge were unbelievable.They recommended great and inexpensive restaurants,bars and places to see.We came in late at the airport and they even arranged a "Meet and Greet" service that had us in our rooms from the airport in #0 minutes!!!
STAY HERE

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank orsonlives
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vero Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent two nights here and highly recommend it. The hotel is only about 250 yards from the Rialto Bridge vaporetto stop and a block off the Grand Canal. This makes it easy to access for local travel on the Vaporetto system, water taxi's, and the Alilaguna which runs to/from the airport. You are 15 minute walk from Piazza San Marco. The hotel property itself is very good. Rooms well appointed, roomy, quiet. The hotel has a great roof top bar / sun deck for a pre/post dinner drink. Need restuarant recommendations, go to Lorenzo at the desk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanSurfCity_NJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
1,844 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 385 in Venice
764 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Property: Hotel a La Commedia
Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Venice
#20 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel a La Commedia is located in one of the most lively areas of the historical centre a few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marco's Square. Boasting a superb Roff Top terrace lounge Bar during the spring/summer season on the fourth floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Fastbooking, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing