We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Venice with style, great value, superb service and awesome location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel a La Commedia
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 July 2010

I stayed here for two nights. Staff was always helpful and corteous. Hotel looks highly renovated, everything in great condition. The terrace is excellent to have a drink before go to sleep.

The hotel is really close to the Rialto bridge, so close to the 'vaporetto' stop and airport orange line pick up and drop off location. It's located between San Marcos Piazza and Rialto Bridge, it's also close to a couple of theathers and the Opera. A lot of shopping, from local souveniers to famous brands boutiques. Restaurants for every budget around the hotel.

We had a triple room, where you can accomodate up to 4 adults with no problems. It doesn't have Canal view rooms, but ammenities are the same or even better than other nice hotels with Canal views and prices a couple of hundred euros more. (I've stayed in a couple of those before).

In summary it's a great place to enjoy your visit to one of the most beautiful and unique cities of the world.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sober_man
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,265 - 1,271 of 2,125 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2010

We booked our stay in Venice through Citalia to stay at the Monaco Grand Canal.However having read some of the reviews about the hotel on trip advisor I was a bit wary of staying there.So I did some further research and found that the A La Commedia was recieving very complimentary reviewsa and switched our booking.We were so pleased that we did.The Hotel A La Commedia was perfect.Really friendly and helpful staff.The bedrooms were tastefully appointed,clean and comfortable.Good air con,luxury bathroom.We couldn`t fault the hotel at all.Good location,just a few minutes from the Rialto Bridge and a short walk to St Mark`s square.The roof terrace was perfect for an evening cocktail,watching the England game! The bar man certainly knew his football.Thank you to all the staff for making our stay in Venice so pleasant.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CiaoBellaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2010

This is a wonderful hotel in a great location in Venice!!! It is very close to the Rialto Bridge as well as the beautiful San Marco Square! The staff is very very helpful and friendly! The Bar in the lobby is great and the rooms are clean and very well sized! Would stay here again!

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rachieou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2010

We opted for a double deluxe and it was certainly worth paying a little more for a large airy room. The bathroom too had plenty of space and was very clean and modern. The staff at the hotel from the front desk, to the room maid and the waiter who served breakfast couldn't be more pleasant and nothing was too much trouble. Breakfast was good plenty of fresh fruit, choice of cereals, breads, pastries, yogurts, cheese, cold meats, fruit juice, tea/coffee/hot chocolate.

My only word of caution is for those who are allocated Room 404 - the hotel has recently opened a roof top terrace with a bar - which is lovely both during the day and particularly at night . However our room, Room 404 is adjacent to the terrace and although the terrace 'closes' at midnight at 12.40am, drinks were still being served and the noise from guests did distrub us. When the guests finally depart the bar tender then has to tidy the area which believe me you will be able to hear every footstep and chair being moved. If you are a heavy sleeper it may not cause a problem but for us it did although the front desk did act on our complaint.

Would I stay again, yes but not in that room.

  • Stayed: June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RaineofRedditch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2010

This hotel is thoroughly superb. We stayed for 6 nights and the hotel made it for us because of the luxury and convenience it offers. The location is superb, just 200 metres from Rialto and not much further to Saint Marcs. The hotel looks like it's just been refurbished and the rooms are palacial, which is unique for an Italian hotel in this price bracket.
There is no view from the room we were in, but it didn't matter at all. The location of the hotel means you can pop back to the hotel at any time without a need to detour, which means if the weather changes you can get back to the hotel without a worry.
The rooms are quiet and exceptionally well decorated with Silk on the walls with Merano glass light fittings and big marble bathroom.
The breakfast is good - we only had continental each morning, cooked breakfast is offered at a supplement.
Staff on reception are very friendly and helpful.
Overall a superb hotel and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Holidayseeker2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2010

We spent the first 4 nights of our honeymoon in Venice in this hotel, and what a hotel. The rooms are amazing, the breakfast was superb, and the location is perfect. The staff were so helpful, they booked us into some amazing restuarants, booked our romantic gondola ride and nothing was to much trouble for them. Don't go to Harry's Bar for a Bellini, ask Lucia at the bar at the hotel to make one for you it is amazing and not out of a bottle which it is at so many places in Venice. We will be back to celebrate our wedding anniversaries xxx

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Brownies40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2010

If you’re looking for a newer hotel with old world charm and elegance, this is the place to stay.

My husband and I just returned from an awesome stay at the Hotel a la Commedia and we’d highly recommend it to anyone planning a trip to Venice.

Here are the details of our stay:

ROOM: The rooms are exactly as pictured on their website. We booked a Junior Suite which could easily accommodate 5 people. It was a spacious, elegant, tastefully decorated room with a King size bed and walkout from bedroom to balcony, a reading light on both sides of the bed, 2 large mirrored closets, sitting area with pull-out couch, 2 flat screen tv’s, mini-bar and in-room safe.

The room also had a huge bathroom fully equipped with double sinks, hair dryer, magnifying mirror, toilet, bidet, deep soaking tub with rainshower showerhead and also hand held shower, clothes line, heated towel rack, stool, bathrobes and slippers.
We had no problem with the water pressure or getting hot water.

Entry to the room was by electronic key with a huge gold tassel on the end, not a magnetic card! Something we have never seen before.

HOTEL: The lobby contained a small entrance area with a two person check in desk on one side and a bar with seating area on the other side. Hotel staff were friendly and efficient.

The small elevator up to the rooms was awesome with dark smoked glass mirrors and a roof that mimicked a starry night sky. Something we’ve not seen anywhere else.

The hotel also had a rooftop bar where you could go to relax and have a drink. Unfortunately, it was closed during our stay due to bad weather.

Our room rate included a buffet breakfast, which included cereals, cold meats, pastries, fresh juices, cookies and fresh cut fruit. Eggs could be ordered for an additional 3.50 Euro - a far cry from the 50 Euro charged for breakfast by other hotels. Breakfast was served in their elegant breakfast room.

The Front Desk also arranges one way trips to Murano as well as gondola rides. We took the trip to Murano and it was well worth the trip. The hotel arranged a private water taxi ride to the island where we watched a demonstration on how they create their glass masterpieces. From there we were taken to the factory’s showroom where all their pieces were displayed. No high pressure sales pitch ensued. Their unique masterpieces on the second floor were out of this world and so were the prices. But one thing for sure, the quality was far superior to that of the other factories on the island.

We also took the gondola ride arranged by the front desk. That in our opinion was a bit of a rip-off. We were charged 30 Euro each for a 40 minute ride and shared the ride with four other hotel guests. The ride itself was great, with the gondolier pointing out various points of interest and providing historical details. We later went back to the same gondola stand to inquire about rates which we found out was actually 80 Euro for the boat for a 30 minute ride. Advice – if it’s just the two of you traveling, spend the extra 20 Euro and get a nice romantic gondola ride for just the two of you.


LOCATION AND DIRECTIONS:

Hotel a la Commedia is conveniently located close to Rialto Bridge and all other tourist attractions as well as within 10 minutes of Piazza San Marco.

It can be reached either by ACTV line 1 or 2, but line 1 is your better option. When we first arrived in Venice, we took line 2 which seemed to be an express waterbus to Rialto. However, when we got off at the Rialto stop, it was further away from the hotel. Although it was no more than a 5 minute walk, we had to drag our luggage over a small bridge with steps on both sides.

We later took line 1 and found that the Rialto stop for that line was closer to the hotel (only 2 minutes) with no bridges to cross. Just be careful NOT TO GET OFF AT THE RIALTO MERCADO stop. That stop is on the opposite side of the Grand Canal and you would have to drag your luggage across the Rialto Bridge or get back on the ACTV to get off at the next Rialto stop.

All in all we had a thoroughly enjoyable stay at the Hotel a la Commedia and would
return again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BeachNut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#26 of 385 in Venice
1,439 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,913 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 385 in Venice
2,157 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel a La Commedia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel a La Commedia

Address: San Marco 4596/A | Corte Del Teatro Goldoni, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Venice
#22 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#23 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £96 - £406 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel a La Commedia 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel A la Commedia is located in one of the most lively, interesting areas of the ancient Venice. A few steps away from Rialto bridge and the most famous San Marc’s Square, the hotel is also conveniently situated close to the shopping boutiques of Venice. The city’s most fascinating mysteries and landmarks among the narrow streets and the vibrant squares are just a step away from your hotel. The elegant building, parallel to the Grand Canal and in front of the Goldoni Theatre, was beautifully restored in 2006, and now transformed in the Hotel A la Commedia. The hotel features state-of-the-art facilities in all the rooms: advances air-conditioning system, mini-bar, safe, telephone, wi-fi broadband internet, LCD flat TV with cable and satellite channels, radio, cd player and hair-dryer. The warm welcome of its staff and the beautiful atmosphere make the Hotel A la Commedia a real jewel in the heart of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Fastbooking, LateRooms, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel a La Commedia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
a La Commedia Venice
a La Commedia Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing