We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous hotel for relaxation in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Ranked #80 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel for relaxation in Venice”
Reviewed 26 October 2013

The hotel is a renovated nunnery, so it isn't luxurious in the sense of surroundings, but the common area next to reception is quite impressive, with a huge fireplace, and comfortable sofas for lounging. The rooms are quite spacious for Europe, and you can see either the back garden or the water, so views are lovely. The staff were gracious in multiple languages, offering helpful suggestions. The free transport to the main part of Venice is very convenient (the hotel is on the Giudecca Island of Venice, immediately across from Piazza San Marco, which allows beautiful views without the noise and crowds), The spa was fantastic! Modern, with gracious staff who listened to what I asked for and delivered. I hope to visit again next time I'm in Venice!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SBfld40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

634 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    408
    145
    51
    20
    10
See reviews for
79
433
10
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Middlewich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2013

We have just returned from 2 nights at the Bauer Palladio and had a fantastic time. The hotel is in a lovely quiet location overlooking St Marks Square, so away from the crowds, but with a free boat transfer service across to a sister hotel which I can't fault. There was also a vaporetto stop within feet of the hotel so found it very easy to get around from there. We had a Lagoon view room which although the view was amazing and I could have quite happily just stood looking out of the window all day soaking in the view, we did find the room very dark, there were no tea/coffee making facilities and the king sized bed, although comfy was 2 single mattresses pushed together, which we found odd for a 5 star hotel. When we booked, the hotel had put the wrong prices up on a booking site, and they emailed a few times trying to charge us a lot more than the price we had booked it for, but to be fair, they did honour the 'bargain rate' eventually. For what we paid, we had a fantastic break, with amazing value for money. The view was to die for, but if I'd paid the full rate, I think I'd expect a lot more for my money with better equipped and decorated rooms. All the staff were very helpful and provided the best service although we didn't really use any facilities i.e the spa etc, so I can't review those, we found the bar and evening menus a bit on the pricey side, but didn't eat there so couldn't say if it was worth the cost...other than breakfast which was excellent with plenty of choice and set you up well for a days sightseeing. This is a lovely hotel in a beautiful building and all in all we had a lovely stay in the Palladio, and would love to return one day!

Room Tip: We stayed in room 226, a kingsize room with lagoon view...amazing views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allyR90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
We are delighted to hear that you had a pleasant stay with us.
Your remark will be useful in order to improve our service. Our daily mission is to meet guests' needs and expectations.
We look forward to welcoming you soon on another occasion.

Sincerely,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

We visited venice 16th September for 3 nights, from when we booked the hotel the service was great we emailed the hotel a few times and we straight away got a great feeling.
We arrived at the hotel and the reception staff advised we were too early to check in so they took our bags whilst we went out, when we returned back to the hotel we were extremely impressed with our room 212 it had a large bedroom, living area, large bathroom with both bath and shower walk in wardrobe with complementary safe & wifi whilst we were out for dinner the maid would come in light candles put our robes and slippers out.
Would highly recommend a lagoon view room amazing to look out your window at the boats going by but also fabulous in the garden we got engaged under the atrium there it could not have been any more perfect.
As the hotel is over the lagoon they provide a free half hourly boat back and forth to the sister hotel no more than 5 minutes away.
The only thing I would not rate is the price of the bar we paid €30.00 for 2 single vodka and cokes.
Overall a really lovely hotel we were made to feel really special for the whole stay and would highly recommend it to anyone, we will defiantly be returning.

Room Tip: Room 212 lagoon view very nice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robyn J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 16 October 2013 via mobile

My partner and I were really, really looking forward to staying at the hotel this month, though unfortunately we were unable to travel due to illness. I can't comment on the accommodation itself but the Bauer Palladio staff were wonderful - very prompt with their communications and understanding about our reasons for cancellation even though it was at late notice and a big inconvenience for them. They made the really disappointing process of cancelling a holiday much easier. We definitely hope to stay there when we (hopefully) make it to Europe next year.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank czturner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013 via mobile

We spent our wedding anniversary weekend at the Bauer Palladio because we had read all those nice reviews and therefore came with big expectations. Unfortunately they were not all confirmed.
The location is truly exceptional and the quietness of that place is really a plus, but when it comes to simpler things then one wonders about the qualification of a luxury hotel.
Here just two outstanding examples:
We wanted to reserve a place in the sauna and got told that a surcharge of 50€ (yes, fifty!!!) per person was asked. For that price we usually spend a full day as couple in a dedicated wellness center for a whole day.
The second negative thing which annoyed us a lot was the fact that we were told that a breakfast omelette cost extra, and that while being in the breakfast room and not even ordering a room breakfast. We have been in many 5• hotels before but the fact that two eggs, a few vegetables, ham and cheese mixed together and heated up in a pan costs extra was a "premiere".

We will not return to this place and definitely can't recommend it. There's far better places in Venice where you get real value for your money.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank Bavaria-Mexico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 1 February 2017
Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations about our service, expecially for the breakfast and the sauna. Our daily mission is to meet guests’ needs and expectations.
I've shared your comments with all our staff, your useful comments help us to improve and give a better service to all our guests.

If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please feel free to contact me

Kind, regards
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gmp67
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 October 2013

An elegant country garden is an unexpected addition to this lovely hotel which has beautiful views which capture the magic of Venice. The Bauer was the perfect hotel for us as we visited La Serenissima. We loved the calm, romantic atmosphere and the attention detail throughout. The only small whinges were that the water in the bathroom could have been hotter, the wi fi was appalling and it would have been appreciated if bottled water were offered free of charge. Overall though this was a delightful stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gmp67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 18 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Palladio Hotel &Spa
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 October 2013

The Bauer Palladio was a very nice alternative on the same island as the Cipriani. Much more reasonable and the room/ food was more than adequate. The breakfast was particularly good.

The staff were friendly and the location allowed easy access to the main island via a pleasant boat transfer across the grand canal to the sister hotel.

The concierge was very helpful, especially when booking water taxis and arranging for our luggage to be stored and transferred from one hotel to the other in our absence as we explored the city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank a_gentlemans_travels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Resident Manager at Palladio Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, 28 January 2017
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing you experience at Palladio Hotel & Spa.
Delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us. Your review is greatly appreciated.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.

Sincerely,
Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,223 reviews
Cannaregio
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
Ca' Sagredo Hotel
#44 of 385 in Venice
1,147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
#31 of 385 in Venice
790 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Palladio Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Palladio Hotel & Spa

Property: Palladio Hotel & Spa
Address: Fondamenta de Le Zitelle Giudecca 33, 30133 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Spa Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#62 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#98 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Palladio Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Palladio Hotel & SPA is an amazing building designed in the 16th century by the world-renowned Renaissance architect Andrea Palladio. The property is a rare jewel in Venice, with its 58 elegant guest rooms and 21 spacious Suites and Junior Suites, a private garden and breathtaking lagoon views. It is located on the Giudecca Island just across the basin from the word-famous sister properties Bauer Hotel and Bauer Il Palazzo. BAUER.Palladio Hotel & Spa has a warm and welcoming decor with a soft color palette of pastels. Each of its spacious rooms is beautifully detailed with the finest paint decoration and tapestries, while still maintaining its original identity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Lastminute, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Palladio Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Palladio Hotel Venice
Bauer Palladio Hotel And Spa
Bauer Palladio Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing