We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great little hotel”
Review of Hotel Dalla Mora

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Dalla Mora
Ranked #87 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We stayed at the Hotel Dalla Mora for seven nights in May. The front desk were always helpful and obliging - first rate. The rooms were small but well set up. Had to learn to close the windows and the shutters at night as the gulls in the nearby canal start screaming at 4 am, and noise from nearby open air restaurant tables goes on to 2 am some nights. Super location near bus station and handy to get by foot most everywhere. Very clean and tidy. Little balcony, roof garden, a nice retreat. Breakfast adequate - no fruit, buy some at local supermarkets - but unchanging and monotonous after a couple of days. Good coffee. wifi only pretty much works in the lobby but can cope. Only complaint - bath towels are lush and large but hand towels are like table napkins - almost non absorbent - better if terry cloth. Overall, fine and the owners can be proud. Liked the staff too.

Room Tip: Have a shower and sink in your room. Costs a bit more but you get the much larger room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frank137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (583)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

145 - 151 of 583 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

We stayed in a twin room while at the Hotel Dalla Mora. The room was on the third floor. Though the room was tiny, it was pretty well organized - with built-in's for your luggage, etc. You could see a small canal from our window. Even with the windows open, it was quiet. The breakfast was not outstanding, but it was enough to keep you going.

The location was good, and easy to find from the train station...though upon arrival it seemed longer than described. Perhaps it was because it was the end of a long day!! Once we started exploring, we decided it was a good location - not too far from wonderful sites, and yet not the crowds you find near San Marco. Felt good to not be jostled about while strolling the alleys!

The hotel has a terrace for its guests overlooking the small canal. A few tables with chairs. It was a pleasant location to sit and have a glass of wine. At 110€ for a twin room, I thought it was a pretty good deal.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelCapl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Pros
Good location-not to busy/touristy
Clean
Friendly staff
Right on the canal
Good wifi

Cons
Plain breakfast- the coffe was great but only croissants and rolls
Beds-2 double beds pushed together

Overall a pleasant stay, adventuring Venice from this location was easy and is a good deal compared to most hotels in Venice

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Felixross
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

Room: We stayed in quad room with bathroom. Outside our room, there is a lovely balcony that can see the small canal. Very old property but consider good maintain. Soundproofing not good need to keep our voice low.

Location: Near to bus station. If you take flight here, suggest to take bus to island, it is easy access from bus station(hotel website provide the map show how to walk to hotel) . We easy to get lost in Venice but never too hard to find Dalla Mora. :)
Close to train station too but quite a distance to San Marco. However for me I rather walk more to attraction with empty hand that carry luggage around in a city of full of bridges. Plus walk all the small street in Venice is full of surprise. It's interesting.

Ask receptionist to recommend you a good restaurant to have dinner. He gave me a good suggestion and we had our best meal in this trip.

Hotel provide very basic breakfast.
Very good value hotel in the island. I suggestion traveller to stay in island instead of mainland. Early in the morning of Venice before tourist come in and late night of Venice it's so different.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank YF_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

I have stayed in a budget hotel near Accademia for €95 single before. At €75 this hotel has much larger rooms, en-suite, a fantastic terrace (afternoon sun) and is absolutely spotlessly clean and well presented. Really friendly helpful staff. The location is an easy 5min walk from Piazzale di Roma (buses) however overall the location is not as convenient or 'immersive' as Accademia or closer to San Marco.

The only slight annoyance was that one morning the breakfast (included) room was full. I said I would go to the terrace and was told that was not possible and I had to wait for a space to eat inside. I thought this a shame. If the weather is good wanting to eat breakfast on a wonderful terrace on the canal is surely part of the venice experience guests want

Overall I cannot knock this place its terrific value

Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
Thank GlynCarre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

spent may2--6, 2014.
wanted a ground floor room with bath.
they had it for 100 euros/night.
front desk helpful, especially alessandro.
breakfast ordinary, but bountiful vs french hotels !
even old-timers can get from p.roma or train station to hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank travelroc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Very close to train and bus and good budget hotel. This was important for us and if arriving late in Venice you dont want to spend hours looking for your accommodation, as this is the city you will get lost in!

We spent considerable 'wine and strawberry' time on the lovely top deck overlooking the canal, which was tranquil and quinessential Venice.

Super friendly staff and uber clean rooms. It is after all a one star hotel so is good value and in a safe area. We had room 4 in annex with ensuite which was great except for noise from others using toilet outside front door of room. Lack of fridge, kettle, tea, coffee is to be expected for a one star. As per other reviews, forget breakfast.

We would return, and considering there are hotels close by charging €380+ @night, Dalla Mora is great value.

Sandwich and wine for €1.60 in bar near hotel is brilliant, as is fresh fruit barges and wine wholesaler close by - €3.40 for 1.5L of restaurant Pinot Noir Rouge!!

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SunshineAussies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#132 of 385 in Venice
439 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#136 of 385 in Venice
588 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#84 of 385 in Venice
1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
Hotel Bernardi Semenzato
#141 of 385 in Venice
939 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#108 of 385 in Venice
844 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
Hotel Ca' Dogaressa
#78 of 385 in Venice
1,169 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Dalla Mora? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Dalla Mora

Address: Salizada San Pantalon, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Venice
#85 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £55 - £112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Hotel Dalla Mora 1*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Dalla Mora reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dalla Mora Hotel
Dalla Mora Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing