We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would go back there!”
Review of Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Ranked #202 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Write a Review

304 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    136
    52
    11
    10
See reviews for
56
189
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
53 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

This hotel is well situated and very peaceful.
Our bedroom was small with no view but the bathroom was large and not ventilated. All was well appointed, clean and comfortable.
The staff had a 'hands off' attitude but were available should you need them and were always courteous and friendly.
The breakfast was quite extensive.
Overall we had a better experience here than we did in the rest of Venice where we found food poor, expensive and the service generally off-hand.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AHGPortsmouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea c, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
We are grateful that you had a super stay with us and we hope to see you soon another time with God's permit. We are always here to offer you the best that we could and apologise for any lack of service you highly expected. Hoping to improve in the near future. God Bless. Teresa and Isabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Ca' Fortuny has to be recommended for its location. Most importantly, it's in the middle of San Marco, and just 5-10 minutes walk to Saint Mark's Square, 3 minutes to the Grand Canal, and 5 minutes to the Rialto.

As it is in a little side street the rooms are quiet, but it is also just off a busier street so shops, restaurants, etc are really convenient. There's a newsagents on the corner - convenient for drinks, snacks, transport tickets and plug adaptors. There's a local square nearby which is nice for hanging out in, and a supermarket just round the corner - though not so easy to find, so ask the staff.

The initial directions we were provided with to find the hotel from Sant Angelo vaporetto stop took a bit of figuring out, and a few wrong turns, so you'd be well advised to double check the route on a map/GPS before attempting it. Not a big issue, but with two heavy bags, it was a bit of a drag.

We had a superior room which was comfortably big enough for the two of us, has a separate closet space, and a great bathroom - very spacious, immaculately clean and equipped with a spa bath.

Breakfast is okay for a small hotel - not fantastic, and certainly doesn't compare to major chains - but there's enough to fuel up for the day, including Nespresso coffee.

Staff are friendly and helpful - although sometimes hard to find as they also work in a sister hotel next door, and there only ever appears to be one person on duty at any one time.

I'm sure there are better hotels in Venice, but in a city where hotels are criminally expensive, Ca ' Fortuny offers good value for money in a great location.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank theyoungsoulrebel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea c, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guests,
We are very thankful for your review and grateful that you appreciated all of our hardwork even though sometimes we cannot avoid some negative parts. it is very true that we have such a good location, very peaceful and near all the commodities. A tip to know how to easily reach us is to do not hesitate to contact us via email and ask us all your queries because we are always here available to respond to you and give you all the responses an d recommendations you may need. Again, thank you for the patience you had with us. Hope to welcome you again some other time. God Bless. Teresa and Isabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paignton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 October 2013

Stayed here for a short break after the summer hordes had departed. A really good find: a great, central location, friendly and efficient staff and a large and well-appointed, quiet room with an extremely comfortable bed. A super bathroom, with a large spa bath which was extremely welcome after long days on the Venice tourist trail. Probably the best breakfast buffet I have come across in a small hotel. I will definitely be recommending this hotel to friends and hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mrskoch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea c, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, 15 November 2013
Dear Guests,
we would like to express our huge gratitude for choosing our hotel during your stay here in this very romantic city. we are so happy that you enjoyed it and thank you for recommending us to your friends because we are here to always give our best service. hoping for your return in the future. do not hesitate to contact us. regards... Teresa and Isabella
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
43 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2013

We booked through Hotels.com and got a decent deal for 2 nights. The rooms are small, but you won't spend any time in them anyway. The jetted tub was a bonus. There were some water damage spots in the bathroom counter, but overall it was in OK shape. The street is very quiet - so you will get some sleep. The staff were nice enough. The breakfast was really good. There were plenty of fresh fruit and carbs. It's in a great location! 10 minute walk to Rialto and 15 minute walk to San Marco.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southington, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Ca' Fortuny was a small hotel, but with friendly staff. San Marco was a ten minute walk, and it was a four minute walk to St. Angelo stop which services the Vaparetto stop and the airport shuttle which we used in our travels. We wished we were able to control the AC thermostat from our own room instead of having to contact the front desk, but the room we got were larger than expected with two bathrooms. Breakfast was good as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravelerLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nairobi, Kenya
Level Contributor
61 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Venice being our last stop in Italy, we had hoped for something decent. Ca' Fortuny exceeded our expectations. Very good value for money. Very centrally located but yet not really in the middle of the touristy places. Located in a quiet secluded area, a street away from the bustling touristy streets. We had a ground floor room very close to the reception area, and although we asked for a Standard Twin/Double Room, we got 2 separate bathrooms - which was such a pleasant surprise! Since our room was facing the street, our windows had permanent blinds - which was okay. We also had a mini sitting room/lounge area in our room just before the bedroom. Right across the street from the hotel, is a lovely small coffee shop where one can sit with cappuccinos & pastries watching people walk by. Staff manning the reception area were very helpful. I would definitely recommend this place, and I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaheentherani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
andrea C, Owner at Hotel Ca' Fortuny, responded to this review, 24 July 2013
We would like to thank you very much for such a positive review. We are always very happy to know our guests enjoyed their stay at Ca’ Fortuny and we do our best to make it as pleasant as possible. We hope to see you again here next time you will decide to come to Venice. Isabella and Teresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Torino
Hotel Torino
#207 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 600 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Luca
Hotel San Luca
#176 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Ca' del Duca
Ca' del Duca
#245 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
San Marco
Centauro Hotel
Centauro Hotel
#115 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 746 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#112 of 385 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ca' Fortuny? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ca' Fortuny

Property: Hotel Ca' Fortuny
Address: Calle della Mandola 3752, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #202 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Ca' Fortuny 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Ca' Fortuny reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Ca Fortuny

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing