We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dollhouse hotel”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #56 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 November 2013

This hotel, even in Venice, has arguably the smallest rooms we have ever stayed in. The entire hotel had everything we needed but in miniature size....except for Massimo the desk clerk/concierge extraordinaire. His service and attitude was outstanding and it was a pleasure to see him on duty, as opposed to some of the other clerks, who did not seem as knowledgable or interested.The breakfast was adequate but one stand-out was the 'death by chocolate' muffins.
For the first night, we had a room with a canal view but requested a change the next day as the noise from the Singing Gondoliers and the early morning maintenance boats was very loud. We were cheerfully moved to a quieter, but even smaller room in the back.The La Fenice location of the hotel was excellent and there were several good restaurants in the area and, although we were near everything, we felt miles away from the noisier tourist areas of San Marco and the Realto.

Room Tip: Unless you like lots of noise, avoid the rooms facing the canals.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank phcpr379
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (948)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

298 - 304 of 948 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We have just spent two nights at hotel becher. It was a fantastic stay, the hotel is in a great location 5 minute walk to most attractions. All of the staff were extremely helpful and accommodating, especially Massimo and the two breakfast ladies. The restaurant that Massimo recommended was also fantastic and both the staff and hotel helped to make our stay in Venice magical and memorable. We travelled with two children 11 and 2 and all the staff were very good with both of them. I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Venice for first time, I would definitely return again.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Scamp88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We stayed here from 26th October for 3 nights and would definitely recommend it (and have done already to family and friends). This is a charming hotel with equally charming staff. We stayed in room 306 which was a triple family room and loved it. The room was beautifully decorated and importantly was very clean. I loved the white fluffy towels in the bathroom! The hotel location is perfect and being able to arrive at the hotel by private water taxi is the only way to do it. We also left by private water taxi sharing with a lovely couple from Philadelphia ( all helpfully arranged by front desk). Breakfast was very good albeit an intimate affair as the breakfast room is "compact and bijou". Massimo recommended a few restaurants for us and Rosa Rossa was our favourite. Staying here made our trip to Venice extremely enjoyable

Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
Thank Horrified410
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a lovely hotel and perfect for a trip to Venice. The hotel is very well run and staffed with just the nicest, most helpful people. (Massimo arranged for another couple to share to water taxi to the airport as it's quite costly. The woman who is the administration manager came out to shake my hand when I left and thank me for staying.)
The rooms are extremely comfortable and extremely clean. The hotel is a 2 minute walk to St Mark's and a 5 minute walk to the Rialto. It's such a great location for walking all over Venice.
When I return to Venice, and I will soon, I definitely will stay at this hotel again.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled solo
2  Thank fezzer13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Becher for 5 nights in the family suite ,queen bed and foldout sofa bed.

The room had a great position overlooking a canel and is close to San Marco
\We arrived via water taxi from the cruiseport at the hotels private jetty which was very handy.

The hotel staff where very helpful and the continental breakfast was a perfect start to our day.

Room Tip: spend a bit more and go higher up
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

Hotel Becher is perfectly placed for any excursion on Venice, only minutes away from everything. A deliciously appointed boutique hotel in a quiet area with luxurious and tastefully decorated rooms in the traditional Venetian style. Ours, a junior suite, was blue and gold - with brocade floor-length curtains, gold embossed fabric on the walls, a comfortable double bed and a modern bathroom in tiny beige tiles, with a bathtub and plenty of hot water. Our room also faced the small canal, and several times in the late afternoon/early evening we would be treated to professional musicians and singers performing in the gondolas sailing by below our open windows.

Staying at the hotel Becher is being surrounded by smiling friendliness, capability and easy good manners. Especially Massimo Volcan at the front desk went out of his way to make our stay special, tremendously enjoyable and unforgettable - all the while appearing to enjoy it as much as us. You seriously want to listen to him when he offers to suggest good restaurants - he will direct you to intimate local places lightyears away from the run-of-the mill touristy traps, restaurants like Al Remer and La Feluca where you sample sumptuous traditional Venetian dishes among the inhabitants of the city.

I have been to Venice several times - I love the city and I've always adored my stays.
Hotel Becher, however, with its wonderful staff, has that something extra. It's like staying with friends. And it is THE hotel I will return to from now on.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Its a little hotel but its very nice and clean. The staff is very friendly and helpful. Its location cant be better, just a small walk to Piazza San Marcos but at the same time its not in a busy area. The room was very spacious and are very clean.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EstebanSV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 385 in Venice
913 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
Hotel Mercurio Venezia
#107 of 385 in Venice
877 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#63 of 385 in Venice
751 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#58 of 385 in Venice
1,280 reviews
San Marco
Bel Sito e Berlino
Bel Sito e Berlino
#73 of 385 in Venice
750 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#72 of 385 in Venice
1,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#64 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £94 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing