We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, clean rooms, private dock for water taxi”
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #59 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Location, clean rooms, private dock for water taxi”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Stayed for 3 nights in this place. The hotel has its own private dock for water taxis which is a great plus when you are lugging your bags from / to airports . Another plus is the lift albeit small .
We stayed in the Junior suite ,which is a bit small to accommodate 4 people....but this is Venice !
There are a lot of restaurants close by , even a supermarket . St Mark's square is just a 7 min walk although you don't realize it coz of all the window shopping !
We asked the hotel to pick us up from the St Lucia station as well as got dropped at the Airport. No hassles , very prompt and reasonable charge.
Pros :
Clean, charming room , great location .
Cons :
Limited choice in the breakfast , more a cold one.

On the whole, will definitely recommend.....

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank barmanin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    577
    257
    48
    13
    7
See reviews for
211
508
40
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
St. Petersburg, Florida
Level Contributor
64 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

We started our Italian vacation with a five-night stay here. I booked a triple room. Based on TA recommendations I asked if there was a place for 3 with separate bed and bathrooms for my daughter. It wasn't what I had initially booked, but the staff said they would try to accommodate us. They weren't able to the first night, and the three of us in a small triple room would have been tight, but they knew at check-in they would be able to move us the next day.

The suite overlooked the land entrance from our daughter's room and a little courtyard from ours. It was delightful. But more wonderful were the location and service, which was super in a very homey kind of way. The breakfast was the best we had in three sites in Italy - it's not fancy, but there were some nice cereal, fruit, cheese and bread options, and the cappuccino was very good.

We asked the front desk if we could have breakfast on the gondola landing and were able to on several mornings, which was wonderful. And on two evenings we had prosecco on the landing to end our night. The last evening there, in fact, they brought out not only prosecco but fresh cut fruit, and one of the front desk guys took a picture of us with a gondola passing by in the background that was our favorite memory of the trip.

The location was perfect. We were able to make it to Basilica San Marco for morning mass in less than 10 minutes, but we were away from the crush of tourists. We enjoyed the shops just around the hotel and got to know a couple artisans in the area.

When we left, the woman who runs he hotel gave us big hugs and hoped we would return soon. So do we!

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Drays7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 22 June 2014

If you are looking for a great stay in Venice, this is the place. The hotel is in a good location, centrally located and not to far from anything. Rooms were good size and comfortable, the breakfast was the best we had while in Europe and the staff was friendly and helpful. We didn't arrive in Venice until after midnight yet the staff was there to meet us and help us to our rooms. We also had a very early train out of Venice and the staff arranged an early morning water taxi for us which arrived at the hotel door step. A great place to stay in Venice. Shops, restaurants and San Marco area just around the corner.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Karyn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern VA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2014

I’m about a year late on writing this review, but my husband and I had a fantastic 5-yr anniversary stay at Hotel Becher for 4nts. I forget the staffs names, but they were very friendly and very helpful directing us to see places, yummy assortment of free continental breakfast (good cappuccino), cozy and intimate, and small rooms, but doable since we’re not in our rooms most of the time. This place was easy to find after we were dropped off from our boat ride. It took us probably about 15-20mins to find the hotel, no problem. Glad we had backpacks and one small carry-on (souvenir purposes :-) ); very easy to travel with.
The hotel was right off of one of many canals, so who really needs a canal view room when you don’t spend much time inside the hotel. I had originally requested a canal view when booking, but after we got there, it was unnecessary, though they never gave us a canal view room anyways; it’s alright. 
If you’re lucky enough, you’ll be able to sit by the canal on their small deck for breakfast (great view)….or for lunch, or snack and drink a good bottle of Italian wine by the water while the gondaliers go by and sometimes will serenade . You can sit for dinner, but who really goes for take-out and bring it back to the hotel anyways when you enjoy VENICE at night as well. There's also an extra dining room upstairs if the 1st floor ever gets crowded during breakfast; some days they are.
Anyways, we will definitely come back to this hotel someday. Great hotel!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetamethyst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SAGossGirl
Level Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

This is our 5th stay at Hotel Becher and that says alot. We always stay in room 310 with the 3 balconies overlooking the canal. It's large enough for our family of 4 with creative storage on our part. The staff couldn't be kinder. They go beyond to make sure you're taken care of. Fabulous central location. Water taxi in/out, it'll be the best money you spent. Life is short, enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank SAGossGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Spring, Texas
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

Easy to find (if you can follow instructions) and situated in a convenient location in the San Marco area. Comfortable hotel with good continental breakfast. We had a family room (3 of us), nice sized room with bathroom. Very helpful and friendly people at the front desk. We spent one pleasant afternoon sitting on the patio with a bottle of wine watching the gondolas go by.
The decor is old traditional (brocade covered walls).
There is much walking in venice and the wandering off the beaten track is all part of the wonderful experience. In fact, to get as far away as possible from the tourist areas (Rialto Bridge etc) and walk into the residential areas - there are still ancient churches at every turn and lovely cafe's. Just not so polluted by cruise tourists ("if this is Tuesday, it must be Venice")!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Loved the hotel. It may not be right on a major cannel, but it is not hard to find,. If you visit venice you have to expect a lot of walking, its the only way of experience Venice. We had a room for 3 and it was very large, we were on the canel side. The employee at the front desk couln not of been nicer. We stayed out late every night and he brought us tea, It was wounderful . For the amazing service and the wonderful location the hotel is a great find for the price. Since It has it's own dock, when we scheduled a water taxi for the return ride to the airport we were picked right on there on the first floor it made the retun very easy, and they opened up breakfast early for us so we would not miss it. I can not say enough.

Room Tip: Our room was on the canel side, so until about 10 o 11 pm you did hear the gondola go by and most o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank buns2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 886 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#68 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#18 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 887 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,535 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#60 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,213 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, ACCOR, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing