We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Dishonest place - avoid like the plague” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Becher

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Becher
Ranked #57 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Dishonest place - avoid like the plague”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

My stay in Venice - recuperating after a bad illness - was nearly ruined by this hotel. I booked it as have stayed at AD Place, sister hotel during the Carnevale in the past where all was well.

The decor, cleanliness, location and breakfast (bit limited) are all fine, wifi hopelessly slow. Should have been great. I asked for the nearest laundromat - as it was coming up to the weekend of August 15th, all were closed, the manageress of the hotel, Anna, made a phone call to the hotel's laundry service and quoted €10 per bag for washing and drying. So I gave her three small bags. I later asked did they iron, she said 'It will be a little more but yes of course.'

The next day the laundry returned with a price tag of €245 - more than I paid for the hotel. I nearly had a heart attack. This was 8.2 times the original price - as there are no prices written anywhere, I imagined it would be in the region of another €10 per bag - in total, one hrs ironing max. Anna shrugged and said 'but yes, you ask for ironing '. They did not charge per bag - this was per item - some items not even there!! For example €32 for ironing two swimming costumes - there was only one in the bag, and who on EARTH irons a polyester swimsuit?!

What should have happened was an immediate apology on behalf of their laundry service for having got it so wrong, a promise to sort out the problem and find out why I was charged per item not per bag and why charged for items not there. Instead I had to argue at length that this was outrageous and downright dishonest. Anna kept saying it was my fault and that I had to pay, kept trying to blame me. Then she came out with 'but I will have to pay from my own pocket if you do not' trying to send me on a guilt trip - really professional behaviour! This is simply untrue. This is a matter for the owners of the hotel chain, their accountants and laundry service.

What sickened me the most was the thought that had I been elderly, unused to travelling I would have been the victim of a very unpleasant, criminal con on the part of a company used daily by this hotel, and NOTHING WOULD HAVE BEEN SAID BY HOTEL MANAGEMENT. The only reason the manageress backed down was when I explained I would simply arrive with a police officer and interpreter to sort the mess out, that I had also been a police officer in the UK and recognised criminality when I saw it. She immediately backed down, crocodile tears appeared and said 'then I will pay it all myself'. Hmm. Funny that she balked at thought of police - are their accounts in order or some of the staff not legally registered? One wonders. Treated coldly by all staff from then on - the girl at breakfast doesn't smile at anyone anyway, one wonders what she is doing in the hospitality business if she hates visitors so much.

At checkout, no laundry cost. That speaks for itself. The fact that I knew I'd been scammed caused me distress for the entirety of my stay, knew that if I hadn't fought back I would have been hundreds of euros poorer - it was disgusting behaviour to upset a guest by insisting it was their fault, not apologise and only give in when the police were mentioned.

There are dozens of similar priced, central hotels in Venice. Avoid this one.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank quiettraveller045
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotelbecher, Direttore at Hotel Becher, responded to this review, 16 September 2014
Google Translation
Egregi signori,

scrivo in merito alla recensione del 20/08/2014.

La cliente mi ha chiesto il servizio di lavaggio, inizialmente solo wash & dry e in seguito ha chiesto che la lavanderia provvedesse anche alla stiratura di ogni singolo capo. Premesso che in ogni stanza della struttura, compresa la camera occupata dalla cliente, è presente una cartella con materiale informativa ed un listino prezzi della lavanderia esterna che fornisce il servizio dove è specificato sia il prezzo a Kg per colore sia quello di ogni singolo capo di abbigliamento senza ricarichi aggiuntivi per servizio albergo.

La mia discrezionalità verso l’ospite non mi fece ritenere adeguato informare la cliente, né di sottolineare che questo tipo di servizio, sarebbe stato costoso trattandosi di svariati capi di abbigliamento, oltretutto effettuato nel giorno di Ferragosto. La lavanderia ha consegnato il conto e a seguito della mia telefonata ha ammesso lo sbaglio di aver conteggiato 2 costumi da bagno anziché uno solo.

Pertanto prendo atto che l’ospite, il viaggiatore, possa esprimere disappunto verso la struttura, che questa non abbia rispettato le sue aspettative, non le piaccia il viso del personale o il modo di porsi, è libero di esprimere il proprio giudizio ma alla condizione insindacabile che rispetti la persona, le persone e non adotti la calunnia e l’arma del ricatto. Detta signora mi minacciò infatti di scrivere una pessima recensione e la mia risposta secca e decisa fu quella di dirle che il ricatto non mi si confaceva.

Non ammetto che la struttura sia trattata con insolenza, tacciata di posto disonesto e da evitare perché appestata e che soprattutto venga insinuato il sospetto di illegalità e di discriminazione verso lavoratori extra-comunitari che prestano servizio al suo interno.

Concludo dicendo che il discrimino e calunnia verso la persona dovrebbero essere soppesate e vagliate prima della pubblicazione.

Distinti saluti.

Anna Maria Maffei
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

888 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    255
    48
    12
    7
See reviews for
207
502
39
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

Venice can be a tricky city - after catching the water taxi twice and not being able to find the stop I was a bit flustered and on the verge of tears. I don't know if the lovely woman at reception could tell when i arrived but she was so warm, friendly and welcoming that I immediately felt better. She gave me a map and pointed out some places to visit. It's also worth noting that the hotel has an excellent map/directions on how to get there on their website.

I was told that Venice was the place to spend more money on accomodation and get as close to the Grand Canal as you can. Hotel Becher was a great pick - it's well situated so it's easy to travel to places on either side of the 'island'. The hotel is tiny but charming, ornate, clean and had one of the nicest bathrooms I saw in my Italian travels. Great little place and i would absolutely recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Travels_Of_Nat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stayed for 2 nights in this hotel and are quite satisfied . The room ( 305) was quite spacious and so was the toilet , it was with a small bathtub . The bed was majestic with mosquito net and carvings !The room was bit dark as the window opened into a courtyard but it doesn't matter as the whole day you are out . The breakfast is a bit of a dampener , they don't even serve eggs in any form considering the tariff they command. Location of the hotel is great, only 2-3 minutes walk to the shopping lanes and San Marco square. The reception staff were great , they are always smiling and willing to help you with directions and other requests . If Venice beckons us again , will definitely consider this hotel again .

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bibiNfifi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

What a great place! We had a wonderful room on the canal and loved listening to the gondoliers singing in the morning and at night. The little dock is a great place for breakfast.
This is not a fancy place but the location is great and the staff is wonderfully helpful. I'd go back in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JH3traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is a real find. It has the most beautiful little dock where you can sit and watch the gondolas go by. It is in a fantastic location on a street with little shops and close to St. Mark's Square (but not at all noisy or crowded). We only had one night, and they let us check in at 11:00 in the morning. Our room was large (held our family of 4 with plenty of room for luggage). Breakfast was great--lots of choices and something for everyone. I would recommend this hotel to anyone wanting to experience the charm of Venice.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank flyerATL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

My family and I were looking forward to staying at this hotel because of all the great reviews, but when we arrived the previous occupants had smoked in the room— #206, a family room—and the hotel had done nothing about it other than prop the door open to “air it out” (since the windows opened to the interior foyer of the hotel, no real fresh air was possible.) The staff member apologized, but assured us that he did not think it smelled that bad. Stated that he thought the previous occupant stood in the bathroom under the vent and blew the smoke into the vent.

We thought differently and said that the smoke was unacceptable (we are all allergic) but there were no other rooms available and there would not be anything available for the duration of our four day stay. He apologized again, looking quite embarrassed. We asked to be let out of our stay and find another hotel, but he said because of Expedia and commission rates it wasn’t possible.

The room itself had other problems besides the smoke.

• The ceilings were ridiculously low—our 10 year old could touch the ceiling without reaching—probably 6ft /1.8m tall. The images on the hotel site show beautiful, high-ceilings. But don’t expect that on the 1st floor (2nd in US).
• As mentioned, our window opened in the downstairs foyer of the hotel entryway. That was the view—into the hotel. The other room had a view of a wall of the building next door, 3ft / .91m away.
• Our safe was literally duct-taped together and wasn’t bolted down.
• The refrigerator didn’t work.
• The tub in the main bathroom did not drain and found a hairball the size of a blueberry in my clean towel.

We informed the desk staff of our unhappiness and our plans to leave. He stated that we would not be required, "as is normal," to pay for the entire reserved stay given the state of the room. To be expected. The next day, asked again to be refunded for the night we stayed because of the uncleanliness, inconvenience, etc., but refused saying that Expedia would not allow it. One desk employee acted as if the whole thing was not his problem and that we were being too ridiculous. Our child ended up sleeping with us due to the smell, the odor being so strong that our bags and clothes reeked of smoke. We all had raging headaches the next day as well.

Becher, a non-smoking hotel, should have done the proper thing and found us another room at different hotel and refunded all fees without question. Instead, they chose to give poor customer service and charged us dearly for it.

Luckily, we found the Hotel Bel Sito—larger rooms, friendly staff, lots of outside space, conveniently located, lovely breakfast, and even much less a night.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Room 206, a double room. The main room has very low ceilings(approx. 6ft.6in./1.98m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank redwagon70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2014

We booked his place based on TripAdvisor reviews and couldn't have been happier, having had previously bad experiences in Venice. Small private hotel on a Canal with direct canal access on arrival/departure. Great location, staff were really helpful and friendly. We did get a great upgrade to a Junior Suite but even without this it was really good value.

Room Tip: Ask for a Canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Russell S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#40 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 857 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Flora
Hotel Flora
#44 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,090 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#24 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,281 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Violino d'Oro
Hotel Violino d'Oro
#52 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,175 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Antiche Figure
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Becher? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Becher

Property: Hotel Becher
Address: San Marco 1857, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Family Hotel in Venice
#65 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Becher 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Becher reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Becher Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing