We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Out of Many - A Gem”
Review of Bella Venezia

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Bella Venezia
Ranked #217 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 14 May 2014

Arrived in Venice again and was wondering what our hotel would be like this time. How chuffed we were to find Bella Venezia. Situation is just perfect being equi distant to Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. And opposite the most accommodating leather/handbag/belt shop! Typical small alley way to reach the hotel and we knew we were in the wonderful city of Venice. Room was very attractive and comfortable. Only "off" thing was the plastic cups in the bathroom!! Come on! For a hotel of this standard, please put a proper glass in the bathroom! Never saw anyone in the bar area although it looked very inviting. Breakfast? Ok but nothing to write home about!

Room Tip: Ask for a extra large bed. We had a King and it was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Barbara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (418)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

90 - 96 of 418 reviews

Reviewed 15 March 2014

Great Location!!! Little bit hard to find, need to keep map with you to check all small "calle" in Venice.
Reception, Ms.Maria Teresa was very helpfull and friendly. Unfortunately, another staff on reception wasn't so nice to us, and offered to "go and see San Marco at evening, when it will be high tide. " Why he didn't mention,that we can throw away our shoes after this? Streets were full of water, very cold one and it's come very fast. I still didn't get, why he send us there....
The rest was super!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Stayed in this hotel for four nights and it was a great experience!

The hotel is in the center, near San Marco square, Rialto bridge and near a vaporetto stop! The hotel is located in a very small street near shops and restaurants!

We slept in room 205, big room! Nice bathroom, free wifi, flatscreen tv, minibar, ...

Staff is friendly and very helpfull!

Breakfastroom was small and sometimes people had to wait for a table, so go early!
Breakfast was good! Fresh fruit, yoghurts, pancakes, etc

I would go back definitly!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
4  Thank ClaudiaCP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2014

It definitely does at the reception!
After a while it gets better, until their mood drops again ! Maybe i got there there the wrong day, just after New Year's Eve...?
The place looks funky for a four star hotel.
I chose it for the location which was just fine, as opposed to the reception staff who was very unclear and unhelpful on to get there ( we arrived late because of trainbreakdown ! O Italia !!!)

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JeanneMorges
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 December 2013

La Bella Venezia is advertised to be a 4* hotel and surely the main building is. We were however staying in so called annex building, la Scala palace, which is located around 50m from the main building and which I'd rate as a 3* establishment (the air in the lobby is a bit "stuffy"). The location is fabulous, close to St.Mark's square and the famous Rialto Bridge.

The best way to get there from the airport is:
* either by a waterbus to station St.Mark- the duration is 1:20 and the ticket is 15€/person
* bus/taxi (flat rate of 40€) to P.le Roma and then a waterbus to Rialto
Note that the airport buses operate only starting from 5 am.

The breakfast, which officially starts at 7:30, is quite comprehensive, but if you are an early bird, you might need to wait for warm foods (bacon and eggs). They bring those only after 8. There's a nice choice of fruits, yoghurt and cheeses. Nothing to complain about.

There are lots of cafes and restaurants nearby offering so called tourist menu - around 15€/person and including a starter and a main course. Wines are pretty expensive, compared to other places in Italy.

If you like jogging, there's a lovely park just 15 minutes walk from St.Mark's. Just turn left and walk around the seashore.

The majority of the staff is polite and helpful, but they forgot our wake-up call and when we asked about it, the guy did not even apologize.

Upon departure you will need to pay city tax - for 3 nights we were charged 10€.

All in all - a pleasant experience!

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jola L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

I know Venice is expensive etc and the hotel rooms by and large are small but I was really disappointed with this hotel. We are very easy going and travel a lot and don't mind paying as long as you get what you are paying for!
Hotel was very well located, clean, good foyer I guess but I didn't find the staff friendly or helpful. The room was tiny compared to pictures I'd seen. Maybe we just had a bad one I don't know. Bathroom was tiny as well. No internet in room. Bed was uncomfortable. It had one of those electronic card keys that you had to put into a slot when you got inside the room. When you left the room it was too bad if you were trying to charge something! No iron in room but that's typical in Europe but you couldn't borrow one for half an hour! Bloke at reception was less than polite.

Room Tip: We lucked out here. Looks great in the photos and I'm sure there are some good rooms in the plac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ColinJVale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This little hotel is the perfect location for a few days in Venice. Located between the famous Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. The free Wifi was easy to get sorted out when we arrived and it had good coverage from our room. I had read a review on trip advisor about the staff being rude but I found them really nice and we dealt with several members of staff. It always helps if you try to speak a few words in Italian. We mentioned it was our anniversary and we received a complimentary bottle of Proseco which was a nice touch. Our room was a decent size considering space is a commodity in Venice. The hotel was clean and there wasn't much noise as there are no cars so it is nice and peaceful at night.

Do your homework on which restaurants to dine at before booking as they can be pricey.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Interestinplaces
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#140 of 385 in Venice
619 reviews
San Marco
Albergo Ca' Alvise
Albergo Ca' Alvise
#162 of 385 in Venice
591 reviews
San Marco
Antica Locanda al Gambero
Antica Locanda al Gambero
#124 of 385 in Venice
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#75 of 385 in Venice
901 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
San Marco
Hotel Al Codega
Hotel Al Codega
#23 of 385 in Venice
1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Venezia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Venezia

Address: San Marco 4701, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#96 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £78 - £372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bella Venezia 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Bella Venezia is a four stars hotel located in Calle dei Fabbri, in the heart of Venice, just few steps from Rialto Bridge and Saint Mark Square. It is easily reachable by all the public and private service on duty in Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, ACCOR, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Bella Venezia reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Venezia Venice
Bella Venezia Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing