We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Compact, well equipped room in a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Locanda Antico Casin
Ranked #237 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Compact, well equipped room in a great location”
Reviewed 26 December 2011

This hotel is very close the Piazza San Marco and many of the main attractions. If you're not looking for The Ritz, but want a place that's clean, good value and well located, I'd recommend this hotel.

My wife and I stayed at Locanda Antico Casin for three nights in late December 2011. The room we had was quite small, but the space was very well organised. It was essentially a bedroom with a small breakfast table, a large cupboard/wardrobe with an inset fridge, and a double bed. The main room also had a TV, skylight and aircon. The bathroom is tiny but modern and equipped with a hair dryer, a shower head with good water pressure and heated towel rails.

The breakfasts were simple - coffee (you chose which style of coffee the morning before), juice, toasts, spreads, croissants etc.

We could hear the couple in the room next to us talking and using the bathroom so our sleep quality could have been better.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mitch231
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    90
    59
    6
    6
    11
See reviews for
17
117
Solo
0
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Puerto Rico
Level Contributor
28 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

If you stay there you are a few steps form the San Marcos Square.
The staff is very friendly, specially the owners. I recomend these place, why to throw money in expensives hotel outside the center of the city? Belive me its worth the money.
CQC Puero Rico

Room Tip: Take the upper floor room, with the small balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie_q_PR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southbury CT
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

This small hotel is located near the San Marco Vallaresso vaporetto stop in a quiet area. The host is helpful, but ill-advised us regarding a non-existing train strike, so we missed our scheduled train to Bologna. He allowed us to store luggage both before and after our one night stay. A small European breakfast is served in the room. We had an ensuite bathroom, but not all rooms did. Venice is expensive. The one night stay was $175.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teacher017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights and would stay again! The location is unbelievable; it is tucked away on this quiet little street/alley less than a 1 minute walk from San Marco Piazza (St. Mark's). We were never bothered by any noise and always felt safe walking to/from our place and walking around. The bed was big and comfy (which had not been the case at our previous 3 places); plenty of room to hang clothes and unpack; we had room #2. The bathroom was spacious and clean and modern. As the website indicates, the front desk is only staffed until 1pm, but we did not have any issues with it. The staff were very friendly and helpful; spoke English. Breakfast is a typical Italian breakfast of croissant, toast, juice and you can request what kind of caffe you'd like. We supplemented with some yogurt and fruit that we bought at a market.
This place really is a gem of a find in Venice! I still can't believe how wonderful the location was!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelingbella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2011

We booked through Expedia (several months ago) and confirmed our stay two weeks before the trip (September stay). We received emails from the hotel confirming our stay (including directions to the hotel). We arrived at the hotel to find an empty reception desk (closed for the night) with a map and a letter in incomprehensible English. The letter told us that they had a problem with the bathroom and that our room was no longer available. The letter said they called “13 times” to tell us (amazing that they kept track of the phone calls). We did not have a single voicemail or email from the hotel on this matter. Based on several reviews below, this appears to be the hotel’s ruse. They will simply sign your room away to a higher bidder and make up some excuse as to why you don’t have a room anymore. I called Expedia immediately who proceeded to tell me that they can not guaranty this room and that their system showed it was never booked. I explained that I had a confirmation email from Expedia and an email from the hotel confirming my booking. They simply said, sorry, our system shows that the room is not booked in your name. When attempting to get us another hotel so we had a place to sleep that night, the Expedia agent said she found me a room “by the water and 20km away from the Venice airport”. FYI, all of Venice is “by the water” and “20km from the airport”. She had no idea where to tell me the hotel was other than that. I promptly hung up. We eventually deduced that the hotel appeared to have booked us a room in a different section of Venice but we had no idea if that hotel would honor either. Without any options at that point (now 8PM at night), we left the area and made the treck to get a water taxi to take us to the other part of Venice (further away from the main area). This hotel honored our reservation but charged us the rate of the original hotel even though it was a less desirable area and further from San Marco (this smells like fraud - corner the tourist and force him to pay the higher rate while booking the original room to another sucker for more). Do yourself a huge favor and do not book this hotel. It almost ruined our trip. This reeks of fraud and warrants investigating based on other reviews I have read. FYI, I am 27, have traveled to several European countries (staying in both hostels and 5 star hotels) and have never had anything remotely like this happen to me.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Spiro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This hotel is quite hard to find but in a superb location just a block from San Marco Square. The rooms are compact but cleans and stylish. Not for the persons who have problems walking up stairs. Staff extremely helpful. It was a pleasure staying here.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank helenesmajl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2011

We enjoyed our stay at the Locanda Antico Casin. It is in an excellent location, literally 100 yards from St Marks Square and therefore the prices are excellent in comparison to other accommodation options in the nearby area.

The hotel was clean and beautifully decorated. The breakfast terrace was very nice and the staff were very friendly and helpful. Finding the hotel could be a problem if you haven't done your research, but if you check the directions and location in advance it shouldn't be too much of an issue.

Also, the hotel does not have 24 hour staff coverage and you gain entry by entering a code into a keypad. Therefore if you are arriving late request the entry code before you leave to avoid any problems on arrival. We did not do this and had to phone the owner when we reached the hotel. It was not a big problem as the owner answered straight away and provided the code, but it is probably easier to get the code in advance.

The only problem we had was the size of the room. It was basically a bed, a wardrobe and very little space in between. If only travelling with luggage for the weekend it would not be a problem, but as we were visiting Italy for 15 days we were a bit short of space. I understand that some of the other rooms are a bit larger, therefore maybe you could request one of these when booking (we were in room 3). However, we only spent a very small amount of time in the room so it was not a major issue. Afterall, who goes to Venice to spend time in their hotel room!

On the whole it was a very good choice that I would recommend to other travellers.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steamy74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Casanova Hotel
Casanova Hotel
#292 of 386 in Venice
468 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Lisbona
Hotel Lisbona
#171 of 386 in Venice
456 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Firenze
Hotel Firenze
#66 of 386 in Venice
686 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Noemi
Hotel Noemi
#201 of 386 in Venice
394 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#141 of 386 in Venice
423 reviews
Castello
Relais Venezia
Relais Venezia
#117 of 386 in Venice
503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Locanda Antico Casin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Locanda Antico Casin

Property: Locanda Antico Casin
Address: Corte Contarina | San Marco, 30131 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #237 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Locanda Antico Casin 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Agoda and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Locanda Antico Casin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Locanda Antico Casin Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing