We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Venice location right off the Rialto”
Review of Casa Gottardi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Gottardi
Ranked #137 of 459 Venice B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
701 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 195 helpful votes
“Great Venice location right off the Rialto”
Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

The minute we entered the B&B, we knew it was the right place to be. Charming rooms with lovely decoration. We used this B&B as a home base for our week in the Venice area. We took a couple of overnight trips out of Venice. During this time our bags were stored and were waiting for us in our room when we returned. While there, we stayed in two of their three rooms. One had an en suite bathroom. The other did not...but it had a dedicated bathroom/not shared. Breakfast delivered to our room each morning was exquisite. Service was great. In particular, Eugenia catered to all of our needs including directions for our side trips and making calls when we needed to reach various places. We were a little surprised to learn the owner does not live on the premises. Hence, when we came in from a long day of sightseeing, there was no one around to ask any questions...ie. restaurant/dinner recommendations. Overall a Great value. We loved our time at Casa Gottardi.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Temecula
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2012

Susanna is the perfect host. She makes you feel at home in her small B&B. She or her very helpful assistant bring your breakfast to your room. It includes pastries, fresh fruit, drinks, etc. The kitchen is available all day for snacks and drinks. Our room was well decorated, clean, and met all of our needs. The location is great, near the Rialto Bridge. The rate is quite reasonable for what you get. The only downside is it is on the 4th floor. So it is an effort with luggage, but Susanna helped us with our luggage. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Not every room has a bathroom inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2012

This BnB is located in a great spot for accessing much of Venice with ease. My room was nice and clean with a very nice bathroom across the hall. However, the best quality was the service. Susanna and everybody else were extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, going out of their ways to help me during my stay. They suggested places to eat, visit, and even made me a little sandwich one afternoon in addition to the lovely breakfast and facilities. Susanna even picked up a plug adapter for me, as i lost mine in Florence. Great stay!

Hard to beat this place for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whittier, California
Level 6 Contributor
118 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2012

Casa Gottardi is a B&B located 100 meters from the main bridge in Rialto, Venice. Best priced B&B, the house is VERY clean and traditional European breakfast was delicious served by friendly Eugenia. She was also very helpful in giving us tips as where to eat at lower prices with good service. Susana the owner gave us information about the Alilaguna (less expensive and only service to and from the Marco Polo Airport) and the ATV ("water-bus" I call it or the public best priced transportation available) I recommend Casa Gottardi to everyone looking for a safe, clean, airconditioned and inexpensive place to stay in expensive Venice, Italy.

Room Tip: The B&B is on the fourth floor. No lift available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MissHernandez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We are traveling for a month with two adults and two kids (6+8). This stop in Venice is a massive highlight.

We got the directions in email that were easy to follow, arrived on a reasonably hot day to a welcome drink and smile.

We went upstairs, and for those who winge on trips to Venice about stairs and carrying luggage, it is a very old city with not many lifts when built.

The rooms are located on Level four in a stunning quiet lane close to everything. There is the grand canal, food, wine and shopping all close by.

We thank Eugiena (hope spelt right) for her warm hospitality and offers of assistance. They know the area well.

For the money you pay for the room and breakfast you get a full luxury service that will leave you wanting more.

I can not recommend this place enough for making our dream Europe holiday more than that. We will return and we will stay here again. Maybe a romantic week in Venice might be the go.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012 via mobile

This bed and breakfast was in the perfect location - so easy to find. Susanna sent us precise direction to get to her BnB with best price options as well. Her son Giovanni was there to meet us upon arrival and helped us with our bags up the few flights of stairs. Her gave us a welcome drink and recommendations for food and shopping areas. We met Susanna when she brought us an amazing array of breakfast choice the next morning. It was the perfect place to stay with air conditioning and so easy to find. It would be our first choice if visiting Venice again and would be our first recommendation to others traveling to the beautiful water city!

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clairos13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2012

My husband and I stayed at Casa Gottaradi for 3 days, May 15-17, 2012, and we would highly recommend this B&B to anyone looking to visit Venice. Upon arrival, we were greeted by Suzanna's son, Giovannii, who spoke excellent English. He was able to answer all our questions as well as provide recommendations for dinner. Yes, the B&B is on the 4th floor; however, Giovanni offered to help carry our luggage - we do travel light so not having an elevator is not a problem for us. We stayed in the double room with our bathroom outside the room which was fine for us. The location is perfect for visiting Venice - a couple minutes walk from the Rialto bridge and a 10 minute walk from San Marco's. There is a vaporetto stop very close by as well. Suzanna was a welcoming, kind and knowledgeable host. The breakfasts were perfect for us - capucino, expresso, juice, croissants, and a variety of cakes. Having it delivered to our room each morning was a nice touch. Thank you Suzanna and Giovanni for making our trip to Venice so memorable. Tina & Andy

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TinaDenver48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#186 of 386 in Venice
648 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 386 in Venice
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Santa Sofia Bed & Breakfast
Santa Sofia Bed & Breakfast
#365 of 459 in Venice
59 reviews
San Polo
Magic Rialto
Magic Rialto
#51 of 218 in Venice
22 reviews
San Polo
Residenza Laguna
Residenza Laguna
#360 of 459 in Venice
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gottardi

Property: Casa Gottardi
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 688, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #137 of 459 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will live in the very heart of Venice, just fifty meters from the Rialto Bridge, surrounded by its most important monuments, only a few steps from the antique market, soaking up the typical Venetian lifestyle. You will feel perfectly at home with us. You will find all the comforts you could need or desire. Our "casa" is a bright sunlit attic in a small 17th century palace near the "Canal Grande”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing