We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well-run B&B, exceptional service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Casa Gottardi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Gottardi
Ranked #117 of 466 Venice B&B and Inns
Walnut Creek, CA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Well-run B&B, exceptional service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2012

You can't go wrong here. The place is easy to find, just off the Grand Canal near the Rialto Bridge. I arrived after midnight, but was greeted cheerfully, given a rundown of what restaurants were still open and a plate of cookies. In the morning, an enormous breakfast was delivered. The room was comfortable and spotless, and quiet at night. This is a small B&B with 3 rooms and no shared living room space, so it's not the kind of place for hanging out in. But, hey, you're in Venice! I was in the smallest room, which is a double, the other two are big enough for small families. The double room has a large, private bathroom across the hall. I prefer ensuite, but this was no problem. The staff are all genuinely friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are on third floor and have no views, but place itself is really a good base to see Venice from.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m00nd0ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
62
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2012 via mobile

I stayed here with my mother on a recent trip to Venice. It is located in a street not far from Rialto bridge. We were emailed instructions on how to get there, which we followed precisely and had no trouble finding it at all.
The place is extremely clean, and Susanna and Eugene were so helpful and friendly. They let us use the washing machine, and keep a stocked fridge with drinks and snacks.
The breakfast is lovely. Fresh fruit, yoghurt and pastries every morning.
The only negative is the stairs. But Eugene helped with our really heavy suitcases (I always pack too much). So it wasn't an issue at all for us.
If/when I go back to Venice, I would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tab83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here for 2 days in September 2012. Thanks to Eugene for making the stay lovely and suggesting the best places to dine out. The place is located just across the rialto bridge on opposite side of vaporette station and was beautifully done up. The place is located in a narrow lane lending it the old Venetian charm. Eugene was very helpful and explained to us the water transport system which helped us explore the beautiful islands of Morano and Burano.The breakfast was fantastic and we especially liked the biscuits and croissants with assortment of jams and honey. Would definitely recommend a stay here if you are in Venice.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Arpit K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

This is a great little B&B near Rialto bridge. Its nice and neat and was a really good value in Venice. Every morning you get a great breakfast with fresh fruits, juice, coffee and breads plus you can get supplies for the day with free water bottles and juice. The only con (which didnt bother us at all) is that it is on the top floor with no elevator so may not work for everyone.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AmiSMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
632 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2012 via mobile

The minute we entered the B&B, we knew it was the right place to be. Charming rooms with lovely decoration. We used this B&B as a home base for our week in the Venice area. We took a couple of overnight trips out of Venice. During this time our bags were stored and were waiting for us in our room when we returned. While there, we stayed in two of their three rooms. One had an en suite bathroom. The other did not...but it had a dedicated bathroom/not shared. Breakfast delivered to our room each morning was exquisite. Service was great. In particular, Eugenia catered to all of our needs including directions for our side trips and making calls when we needed to reach various places. We were a little surprised to learn the owner does not live on the premises. Hence, when we came in from a long day of sightseeing, there was no one around to ask any questions...ie. restaurant/dinner recommendations. Overall a Great value. We loved our time at Casa Gottardi.

Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Nancy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Temecula
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2012

Susanna is the perfect host. She makes you feel at home in her small B&B. She or her very helpful assistant bring your breakfast to your room. It includes pastries, fresh fruit, drinks, etc. The kitchen is available all day for snacks and drinks. Our room was well decorated, clean, and met all of our needs. The location is great, near the Rialto Bridge. The rate is quite reasonable for what you get. The only downside is it is on the 4th floor. So it is an effort with luggage, but Susanna helped us with our luggage. We would not hesitate to return.

Room Tip: Not every room has a bathroom inside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank tonyandpatricia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Chester, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2012

This BnB is located in a great spot for accessing much of Venice with ease. My room was nice and clean with a very nice bathroom across the hall. However, the best quality was the service. Susanna and everybody else were extremely welcoming and gracious hosts, going out of their ways to help me during my stay. They suggested places to eat, visit, and even made me a little sandwich one afternoon in addition to the lovely breakfast and facilities. Susanna even picked up a plug adapter for me, as i lost mine in Florence. Great stay!

Hard to beat this place for the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris2341
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
Locanda Ovidius
Locanda Ovidius
#213 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#181 of 385 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Polo
Magic Rialto
Magic Rialto
#48 of 210 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
San Polo
Ca' della Scimmia
Ca' della Scimmia
#8 of 210 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
San Polo
Residenza Laguna
Residenza Laguna
#389 of 466 in Venice
3.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gottardi

Property: Casa Gottardi
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 688, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #117 of 466 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will live in the very heart of Venice, just fifty meters from the Rialto Bridge, surrounded by its most important monuments, only a few steps from the antique market, soaking up the typical Venetian lifestyle. You will feel perfectly at home with us. You will find all the comforts you could need or desire. Our "casa" is a bright sunlit attic in a small 17th century palace near the "Canal Grande”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing