We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location, excellent service.”
Review of Casa Gottardi

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Casa Gottardi
Ranked #136 of 464 Venice B&B and Inns
Tustin, California
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
“Excellent location, excellent service.”
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Casa Gottardi is a stone's throw from the Rialto Bridge and a wonderful base for a visit to lovely Venice. Susanna was wonderful with her email communication and booking was a breeze. The facility itself is on the third floor and there is no elevator so be prepared to climb. Not a problem for me or my kids but hubby struggled a bit. The rooms are comfy and are cleaned daily. Though at night, there is a noisy bar downstairs, if you shut the shutters and windows, it blocks out most of the noise. A mystery that has everybody baffled is my husband's shaver head disappeared from the bathroom during our visit. Susanna tried to find it but we never got it back. Aside from that, everything else was great. The continental breakfast was fabulous and the toasty warm croissants were so delicious. What a great way to wake up every morning! Giovanni met us when we arrived and gave us a map with some tips on where to go and eat. The refrigerator is stocked with water, juice, yogurt and fruit which I thought was wonderfully generous. One side note, the directions we received required that we drag our luggage over the Rialto Bridge (which is huge). I think if you go to the Mercato Rialto stop, you can get to the B&B without going up and down all the stairs of the Rialto. That's how we left. Susanna will be able to tell you for certain so you might want to double check with her. During our month long European vacation, we met a ton of people but at the end of the trip, when I asked my daughter to list the people she liked the most, she put Susanna in her top three. When we come back to Venice, we will definitely stay here again. The location, price and service can't be beat!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank victoriacr63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    112
    14
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
38
63
5
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bethesda, Maryland
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

We spent three wonderful nights at the Casa Gottardi in June/July 2013. It has several great features: its location so close to the Rialto Bridge; its price; it is spotlessly clean and comfortable; the kitchen is always open so you can help yourself to bottled water, yogurt, and fresh fruit; the continent breakfast is fine and you also can request cold cereal (if done in advance); the staff is very friendly and helpful; and it is easily walkable to the Mercato Rialto stop for the water ferry--which we thought was the easiest stop to/from the airport although not listed on the directions we received from Suzanne. The B&B has two possible disadvantages: First, it is located on the third floor (the equivalent of four flights of stairs by US standards) and there is no elevator. Eugenia helped us with one suitcase when we both checked in and out, but you should be prepared to carry the rest yourself. Two, the B&B is located on a narrow "street" which acts as a echo-chamber for the restaurant-bar located nearby on the ground level--but not a problem if you have earplugs.

Room Tip: There are tradeoffs: Two of the three rooms have a large bed plus a bunk bed and a connected bathro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank paula0123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 May 2013

Great location - a minutes walk to Rialto Bridge. Susanna gave us great directions and was very welcoming when we arrived. Amazing breakfast spread and the room was very spacious. Only negative that was during our turn down service some of our papers we had stored in the cupboard were thrown away as rubbish. Luckily they weren't too important - but a little upsetting. Apart from this our stay was great and we would highly recommend this place to others.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lauren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, CA
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

The location is excellent and the accommodations are very comfortable. Value for the money is very good. The rooms had individual climate control regardless of season. I was in the room with bathroom down the hall, and the bathroom was almost as large as the bedroom. The bedroom had a table for sitting and a chair for relaxing.

It's best not to think of this as a B&B in the traditional sense. There is no common space, so you probably won't meet your fellow travelers. And the hosts -- either Susanna or her assistants -- will meet you in the morning to bring you breakfast, which consists of coffee/tea, juice, fresh fruit, yogurt, cornetto (croissant with apricot jam inside), and a few other simple baked goods. Personally I like having a little protein like cheese, but the yogurt helped. But you won't see them again in the afternoon or evening, so get all your questions answered when you arrive or in the morning.

A quick note about laundry: they provide free laundry, which is a great plus, but they dry it by hanging it out on a line out of one of the bedroom windows, so unless you pick that bedroom they can only get to the line mid-day the next day. So assume that laundry dropped off in the morning won't be back until afternoon the next day. Also, you might ask them to use a little less detergent, since it was very heavily scented.

FYI you can hear people outside at the local restaurant/bar until around 11PM, if memory serves. You might want earplugs, but it wasn't too bad.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FoggyEthan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

We just got back from a fabulous 1 week trip to Italy. Casa Gottardi is smack in the heart of Venice at a great location right next to the Rialto bridge. So literally, the second you've reached Venice, you've already seen one of its things-to-do.

The rooms are nice and spacious. We got a nice king sized bed (or maybe queen) and got greeted by Suzanna and her son. Her son actually gave us a big picture of Venice with tips and suggestions on things to do which was really helpful.

The breakfast was really good too with fruits and biscuits and water (which is a big plus) available all around the day.

One con that you might want to consider is that we did not see an air conditioning unit. I'm not sure if one exists, but since it was April, opening the windows was sufficient for us. If its one of the hotter months, might be a problem.

Overall, I'd recommend this place.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aarti R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
susannarita, Proprietario at Casa Gottardi, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Aarti, we would like to thank you for the kind review. We would just like to point out that each room is equipped with individually controlled air conditioning system. This system is positioned within the upper door of each cabinet and the remote control is placed on the desk. We regret that you have not used.
Arrivederci.
Susanna
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stellenbosch, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

Our family of 5 stayed in December in 2 rooms. The rooms were very clean and spacious enough for us and our laugage. It was easy to find from the airport, a waterbus and over the Rialtobridge and believe me in Venice this is a big plus. Susanne was an excellent host very friendly and with a lot of advice on where to eat and what to do. A nice touch was her son inviting our boys out for a night in Venice. The breakfast served in our room was wonderfull.One small problem was the bar in the ally where the people was very noisy until late at night. Will stay here again when in Venice

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Callie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Walnut Creek, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

You can't go wrong here. The place is easy to find, just off the Grand Canal near the Rialto Bridge. I arrived after midnight, but was greeted cheerfully, given a rundown of what restaurants were still open and a plate of cookies. In the morning, an enormous breakfast was delivered. The room was comfortable and spotless, and quiet at night. This is a small B&B with 3 rooms and no shared living room space, so it's not the kind of place for hanging out in. But, hey, you're in Venice! I was in the smallest room, which is a double, the other two are big enough for small families. The double room has a large, private bathroom across the hall. I prefer ensuite, but this was no problem. The staff are all genuinely friendly and knowledgable. Rooms are on third floor and have no views, but place itself is really a good base to see Venice from.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank m00nd0ggy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Polo
"Antica Locanda Sturion" Residenza d'Epoca
San Polo
Hotel Marconi
Hotel Marconi
#190 of 385 in Venice
655 reviews
San Polo
Pensione Guerrato
Pensione Guerrato
#148 of 385 in Venice
573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Rialto
Hotel Rialto
#121 of 385 in Venice
2,134 reviews
Cannaregio
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
Al Ponte Antico Hotel
#1 of 385 in Venice
1,289 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Gottardi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Gottardi

Property: Casa Gottardi
Address: Calle del Sturion San Polo 688, 30125 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Polo
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #136 of 464 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
You will live in the very heart of Venice, just fifty meters from the Rialto Bridge, surrounded by its most important monuments, only a few steps from the antique market, soaking up the typical Venetian lifestyle. You will feel perfectly at home with us. You will find all the comforts you could need or desire. Our "casa" is a bright sunlit attic in a small 17th century palace near the "Canal Grande”. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing