We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel!”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #25 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 July 2011

Stayed for two weekend nights in July 2011. While the hotel is a little difficult to find among the streets and alleyways of Venice, the search is worth the effort. The hotel is on a quiet courtyard festooned with flowers. Continental breakfast was the best we had in any of the five other hotels we've stayed at in Italy. Rooms are spacious, wonderfully air conditioned, and beautifully decorated. Staff was friendly and helpful. Even though I will never visit Venice again in the summer time (too many tourists, hot, etc.), this hotel was a welcome retreat at the end of an exhausting day. A little tip, take the #1 Vaparetto to the Rialto stop. It's a much shorter walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valstewart557
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

895 - 901 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 21 July 2011

Stayed at the Hotel Al Codega in October of 2010 during our first trip to Venice, and it was an enjoyable stay.

The hotel is well located, between the Rialto Bridge and Saint Marks Square, and is situated inside a square... out of the way of regular foot traffic, which helps with noise.. Finding it was not the Herculean endeavor that it is frequently made out to be. Bring a copy of the map they send you and just look at the pictures other reviewers have posted of the entryway to the square and you should be fine. Took us 5 minutes to find it once we got off the Vapo at the Rialto stop.

The staff were great, helping me by providing tips on gondola rates and nearby places to secure a ride, as well as suggesting a local restaurant where they would eat and even calling in to make our reservation. Half the staff were native English speakers and the Italian staff also spoke English very well, so no need to worry about any language barriers.

The room was nicely decorated and larger than we anticipated. The bed was absurdly comfy. At least I assume it was. It was our fourth night in Europe and marked the first time I didn't wake up at 4am. Instead we (unintentionally) slept a full 12 hours our first night there...

We had issues with no hot water the first morning, but that might have been a result of not waking until 11am.

The house PC and internet connection were sub-par when compared against the other places we stayed while abroad.

Finally, the place is a bit pricey compared against places we stayed, but this is Venice and pricey is a recurring theme.

All in all the good really outweighed the minor quibbles we had. We would stay here again, if we wanted to stay in this section of Venice on our (eventual) return.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank perducci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2011

Upon arrival, staff were welcoming and helpful. The breakfast area is quaint and the hotel location is central

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Spive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I stay at Al Codega 2 months ago in May. It was a nice hotel. Getting to the island was easy thanks to fellow travelers info on TripAdvisor but actually finding the hotel was a challenge. I hope to help others by letting you know it's close to San Marco Square and right around the corner from the Hard Rock Cafe. There are really no street names so it's hard to describe. There are so many alleyways. The hotel, like most, is very small but clean and has an Old World charm. The wi-fi was great and cheap so I was able to connect and do some schoolwork. If it's warm enough and you get a chance, take a water bus over to the island of Lido. Roundtrip was 13 Euro. Walk to the end of the island (about 5 mins), it's a beautiful beach island. At the end, there is a free beach with a restaurant. It's a must while there.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kutecris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2011

we stayed for 2 nights on our honeymoon trip to Austria and Italy.
the location is great, just a few minutes walk from st. Marco's square and the rialto bridge.
great large rooms with good air conditioning, a TV, a breakfast table, a large bathroom.
very good service, the staff was happy to assist, when we came for a nap on our second day, they tidied the room up again after we left for dinner. breakfast is a nice buffet with good cheese, ham and great coffee.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank almalik78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2011

This hotel is in a perfect location, 10 minute walk from both the Rialto bridge and St Marc's Square. It is slightly difficult to find, however the map on the website (the italian one), makes it very easy. The waterbuses run through the night which is very handy.
The staff were extremely helpful and knowledgable.
The breakfast room is rather small but fits most guests in nicely. Unfortunately they do not have a restaurant, but there is a small bar. The rooms were small but very cosy, the TV in the mirror is a novelty. We had a large shower cubicle but no bath which was disappointing. The bed was made from memory-foam which was very comfortable.
The continential buffet breakfast was very nice.
We had a view of a wall opposite with limited view of the sky, but let in plenty of light. However where the hotel is located I doubt there is a better view.

Room Tip: Get map off hotel's website.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChrisW1264
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2011

Wonderful hotel, comfortable bed, spotlessly clean with very friendly staff. Provided us with a snack and tea/coffee when we left at 7 am.

Every member of staff we spoke to was friendly, polite and helpful. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LindaWolverhampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,054 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#18 of 385 in Venice
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
2,121 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#23 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#43 of 385 in Venice
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £84 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing