We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel Value”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 May 2013

Get the negative out of the way....it is a confusing place to find even with the map graciously provided by the hotel but then so are most of the places in Venice and it is actually more fun to get lost. The hotel is a newly refurbished, boutique hotel, in a small private court yard about half way between the Rialto Bridge and St Marks Sq. Fantastic location, quiet and easy to walk to any sites, shops, restaurants and transportation but away from the tourist noise and traps. Excellent price to value. Nicely decorated, with modern rooms of European size, ours had a sitting area. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. Free breakfast buffet was very good.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TheresWaldo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,439)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

688 - 694 of 1,439 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2013

This hotel is excellent in all respects. Lovely hotel in a great location and the staff were very polite and helpful. The breakfast was really good too. We had a good sized room which was very clean and well equipped. Our first time in Venice and we loved it. It was so nice to just wander around with no cars / traffic to worry about.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KenKnighton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We spent four nights at the Al Codega in early May. The location is terrific, halfway between Rialto and St Mark's, yet by asking for a courtyard room and keeping the shutters closed it was perfectly quiet. Ok, the room wasn't big but it was clean and well-equipped: the aircon was a blessing even this early in the year. Breakfast was fine but a little limited. Staff were friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Courtyard-side is quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janet C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2013

In terms of the room and breakfast, this hotel was far and away the most luxurious we stayed in during our 18 day stay in Italy. The room was quite large, with sort of an entrance hall and bath to the right and bedroom a couple of steps up to the left.

We neglected to print the map and got on the wrong vaparetto, so we didn't get off at the Rialto stop as directed by the hotel. (It is actually incredibly EASY to get to the hotel from Rialto, not so easy from the San Marco stop.) We felt hopelessly lost and called the hotel. They sent someone to pick us up and we were actually only about two more turns from the hotel.

The staff was wonderfully helpful and professional. The breakfast was, again, by far the most decadent of any of our four hotels. Cheeses, biscuits, eggs and ham, breads, fresh fruit, and wonderful looking desserts were all available. (They also served breakfast later than any of the other hotels – up until 10:30.)

While we were there, Venice flooded because of a combination of rains and high tide. You could tell the locals from everyone else because the locals were wearing tall, rubberized boots. We saw many tourists walking about in bare feet and rolled up pants – I thought they were surely insane because it was far too cold for that! We also saw tourists wearing disposable waders. The next day, as we were checking out, I was talking to Salvatore about the flooding and he mentioned that the hotel had them available for its guests. So, if there's a flood while you're visiting, be sure to ask for some of them. It actually looked kind of fun for the folks who had them.

The hotel staff gave us wonderful recommendations of things to do. I wanted to shop for wineglasses on Murano and they suggested that my husband go to Burano because of its beautiful, colorful houses and to Torcello. He had a terrific day and took some gorgeous photos. We asked for a restaurant recommendation one night and just loved the seafood restaurant that they recommended.

The hotel and courtyard really are as beautiful as they look in all the pictures that reviewers have posted. I'd highly recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Venice.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank AnnCS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Stay here and you'll sleep in peace and quiet, in spotless rooms that offer the perfect blend of tradition and comfort, in a tranquil courtyard set back from the hustle & bustle of Venice, yet within a few minutes walk of its main square, San Marco. Fuel up for the day with the incredibly tasty breakfast, return the smile of the friendly, professional, helpful staff, and set out to explore this truly beautiful city from the ideal base. We did. And we didn't pass a single hotel en route that gave us reason to consider anywhere other than Al Codega when we return... and return we will!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank e r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

We stayed here two years ago for our honeymoon and we returned for 5 nights and found the hotel was better with subtle improvements, one of which was the extensive choice of breakfast food. The rooms are very Venetian in style and colour and spotlessly clean. We intend to return to Al Codega regularly to enjoy what Venice continuous to offer.

Room Tip: we stayed in a deluxe room which gave us plenty of space and cannot comment on the standard rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dave S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 May 2013

This was a family trip with my parents (aged 75 and 79) , brother, and sister. The hotel was not hard to find at all, as we had downloaded a very helpful simplified street map from the hotel's website. Upon arrival we were impressed by the hotel's central location and look and cleanliness. The hotel was just a short walk from St Mark's Square and the Rialto Bridge. The foyer on the second floor was staffed by extremely helpful and friendly staff at all times (24 hours), who were always ready to offer help and advice. The rooms were spacious and very well appointed, with excellent air conditioning. The breakfast arrangements were excellent too, with a much greater choice of food than I had expected, and very friendly staff to hand. We all enjoyed our stay here, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Mar60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 385 in Venice
862 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#13 of 385 in Venice
1,057 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
Hotel Palazzo Abadessa
#18 of 385 in Venice
786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#31 of 385 in Venice
2,125 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#23 of 385 in Venice
923 reviews
San Marco
AD Place Venice
AD Place Venice
#43 of 385 in Venice
937 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#29 Family Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £89 - £261 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing