We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real surprise”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #23 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Tucked away in a very private square, you walk through a tiny portico to find this hidden Venetian gem. The Hotel is a 5 minute walk from the St-Marc's Basiillica and a short walk from the Rialto vaporetto stop. The rooms are very clean and the air conditioning fantastic. Room size is generous by Venetian standards. I has reserved 2 rooms, one for my wife and I and another for my 3 kids (ages 20, 17 and 12) , they accomodated my request for side by side rooms without any issue. Upon making the reservation I received via email a welcome note from the owner which included a map for finding the hotel. Looks exactly like a treasure map and believe me, you'll need it to find the hotel. Venice is quite the maze and the Al Codega is really tucked away so keep that map handy. Breakfast was excellent and offered eggs and meat, baked goos, fruit, cereals etc. An excellent hotel choice in a city with many overpriced hotels that show their age, the Al Codega didn't disappoint and exceeded our expectations.

Room Tip: Make sure you bring the map or you'll have trouble finding the hotel
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carlo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,400)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Al Codega
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,400 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

Done my research before booking this hotel so hoped it would be as good as the reviews suggested. We were extremely happy with everything about this hotel, the location is great for all the main attractions, our room was lovely, the breakfast choices were very good, the staff friendly and helpful, Lorenza rang and confirmed our pre booked tours for us and gave us tips on other things to see and do. We had no problem with finding the hotel.
From the airport we took the blue Allilaguna line for a longer ride to pass some time and to see a few sights. we got off at San Marco and made our way to the hotel. For our return to the airport we took the orange line from Rialto, which was a much shorter and quicker journey. My tip would be take the orange line for both as the walk from Rialto is nearer to the hotel and easier than San Marco with no steps to climb with suitcases. We took a travel kettle so that we could have an early morning or evening cuppa.

Room Tip: Our room was right by the stairs and lift (308) which could be noisy at times. On the plus side this...
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LilSwindon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

My husband arrived after a long international flight to a rainy and overcast Venice. Exhausted and damp to the core, we pull out our map (the on provided by the hotel on their website) and begin the arduous process of finding this hotel. We knew we were in the right area, and upon eventually finding the hotel, realized that we had walked past the courtyard half a dozen times as we circled the block. My advice, get SPECIFIC instructions from the hotel before you arrive, especially, if like us, you're weary from travel. Once we arrived, however, they hotel staff was extremely welcoming, and we were shown to our room immediately. The hotel is set in a charming courtyard, and opening the windows allows you to hear the romantic bells that ring around the clock in Venice. Do be aware that if you choose to open the windows like we did, you are inviting in tons of mosquitos (venice is on the water after all...). I have been fortunate enough to be a magnet for them, so in retrospect, I would have enjoyed the courtyard through the glass and saved myself quite a few bites the next day. The hotels location is superb, just a few minutes to st marks and rialto, as everyone's said. The breakfast was delicious, and unlike some places we stayed, they were refreshing it constantly. We only stayed one night and then headed off to florence, but we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at Hotel Al Codega.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Stephanie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

We recently returned from a stay at this hotel and were pleased with our selection. The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Our room had a very comfortable bed and was very clean. The hotel itself was spotless. Breakfast was very good with hot and cold food selections, pastries, toast, yogurt and fresh fruit salad. Wifi was very good in the breakfast area. The hotel was a bit hard to find but two landmarks would be the Armani store and the American Bar and Grill. When you come upon these two turn right and look for the first alleyway which takes you to a courtyard and the hotel is right there. Will definitely stay here again and recommend to friends.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank wheretonext58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 October 2013

After our decision to take a 12-day Mediterranean cruise out of Venice, we decided to stay at this quaint, wonderful hotel for 4 extra nights in Venice, before departing on the cruise. Taking a water-taxi from Marco Polo Airport to the 'Carbon' drop off pier near the Rialto bridge, allowed us easy navigation to the Hotel Al Codega. Please, just ensure you have printed off the Directions Map off the hotels Web-site or do a search on other Trip Advisor reviews of this hotel for well detailed instructions by other customers of the hotel for excellent instructions as to how to get
to the hotel. Agreed, it is tucked away in a small courtyard that locating may appear difficult, but if
you're prepared and do a little research pre-arrival, it's not too difficult. The location of the hotel is
PERFECT. You are 'minutes' away from Rialto Bridge and 'minutes' away from the San Marco area. Hotel staff were a real pleasure to interact with - always a smile, and a willingness to help with whatever you may be asking. I had some pre-arrival questions for them and used their email contact address. I always received prompt, friendly responses.

The rooms were very clean, comfortable, and decorated wonderfully. We requested a basic Deluxe Room, overlooking the courtyard when we initially placed our online booking. Upon check in, they advised us that we had been upgraded to one of the mini-suites, which basically had a king-size bed and an adjoining sitting area, with a chaise lounge for my wife. Housekeeping was excellent. Our room was always neat as a pin, when we returned after a long day of wandering.

Breakfast each morning had many choices from cold cereals, fresh fruit, pastries, bagels/toast, bruschetta, cold meats/cheeses and even a couple dessert items. The tiny glasses of Tiramisu were quite tasty. Cappuccino’s and espresso are available upon request.

The check in desk is on 2nd floor of the hotel but there is a small elevator available to get your luggage there, available on the ground floor.

The front desk staff (Lorenza and Andrea) were most helpful in providing directions to nearby sites and dining suggestions. We had a couple amazing meals, thanks to their suggestions.

Room Tip: Research ahead of time on how to get to the hotel from certain landmarks you know you will be near.
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelling_greg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Great hotel. It is conveniently located between the Rialto bridge and st marks square and is reasonably priced for that area. Staff was very helpful before the trip answering email questions and once we got there helping with restraunt choices. We had a regular hotel room which was clean and well maintained. The breakfast that was included in the price was very good for a continental breakfast with some regular breakfast items like bacon and eggs. The room was small but we never had trouble finding seats.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Diane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 October 2013

Location is the best you can find, very close to Piazza San Marco and everything else. Hotel is small but room is spacious and clean. Very quiet and secluded despite its very central location. Highly recommend.

Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank warmjune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
2,048 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#25 of 384 in Venice
907 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#9 of 384 in Venice
793 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#19 of 384 in Venice
833 reviews
Castello
Hotel Le Isole
Hotel Le Isole
#14 of 384 in Venice
991 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £93 - £342 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing