We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFUL!”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
61 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“WONDERFUL!”
Reviewed 19 February 2014

Great location, food, service, bed! Off the beaten track, yet centrally located. Just 7 minutes from the Rialto or San Marco. As others have described, once you get your bearings, you really appreciate coming home to this quiet little oasis.

I won't repeat all the accolades other guests have heaped on al Codega. Read the reviews and book your room!

Room Tip: We loved room 410...spacious, clean, quiet. Lovely courtyard view. We will definitely stay here on o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GreenAcresWV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    298
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
187
839
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We stayed here in August and we thought it was great. It was so close to everything but tucked away in a small courtyard. It was difficult to find but thanks to other reviews we printed out peoples comments and were able to find the Armani store which is very close. Everything was great. The breakfast was plentiful and our room overlooked the courtyard. We were very comfortable here and the price wasn't too expensive. We would definitely go back!
Thanks to all the staff for being so helpful and friendly!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mcatherine14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
38 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2014

The hotel is extremely well located for San Marco, Rialto and the Grand Canal area. It was somewhat difficult to locate and you can tell it is a new establishment since most locals did not recognise it. There is no way to access it from the water channels so you need to get off the water taxi or vaporetto (whichever you choose) and walk a few blocks. Reception told us to give them a call and a young man came to fetch us. Once we were shown the way it was easy to locate.
The hotel is located within an enclosed yard or small square so it has no views but to that yard or adjacent streets. This makes the whole atmosphere a bit dark.
Our room was large indeed and very modern. Bathroom was on the smaller side but still with sufficient space for a comfortable shower.
On the not so good side: Staff was polite but not overly helpful and the second day of our stay we had to remind them to make our bed since housekeeping was nowhere to be seen after 3 pm. The dining room areas was trully small but offered a good and varied menu.
Reception area is also minuscule.
For the price, I would say it is an excellent choice given location and size of rooms. On the fownside, the lack of views and small common areas.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mechka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, CT
Level Contributor
91 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2014

When a popular hotel like Codega is reviewed as many times as it has, one is bound to see similar comments. This month I spent 8 nights at Codega and volunteer these observations. Codega is beautiful, situated in the middle of a lively area, but isolated by a few steps into a perfect (Venetian) courtyard. Repeat Venice visitors understand its rhythm - finding Codega the first time will then be easy - you see a doorway that appears too narrow to accommodate a four star hotel. Repeat visitors know to plow ahead. The service desk is up a level and a half from the ground floor and that second floor has a little bar with a comfortable, antiqued common room with books and original art. I upgraded my room to Superior Double or Twin Room. It was adequately spacious with a safe, TV (very few channels but you're not in Venice to watch TV), very comfortable bed, well-appointed room. Hotel is 4 stars, but the service team is 5 stars. Engaging, unfailingly helpful and upbeat to everyone, you felt taken care of. Special mention for the elegant woman who runs breakfast and to Michele at the front desk - friendly, candid, great recommendations. I found the breakfast offering to be adequate, no more but service was superior. For me, an initial challenge was Codega's inability to change dollars to Euros. Also, wifi is a discriminator for Codega - they include it in the price - one appreciates that benefit when other hotels charge up to 28 euros per day. For a 4-day period my wifi was mostly down - I felt disappointed that management didn't get that done more quickly for me. T be fair, I used the common area to access wifi. Toiletry amenities are not 4 star - soap and shampoo are not quality and no moisturizer is provided - that's a downer with the dry heat in a room. I'll bet Codega will improve and get even better. They appear driven to succeed. Recommended.

Room Tip: My preference is to be on the second floor - my room had no view - but good to be close to the front...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DB-Orange
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 February 2014

All the hotels in venice looks strange from outside so don't make a judgement from exterior.
This is a super location and you are next to st marks square that's where everybody comes.. On line 1 of boat taxi so pretty convenient to go anywhere.
Very helpful staff and high spec rooms. Small though but all hotels are like this..
Narrow lanes and less space! Abundant water.
That's venice.
I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R123216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel is a little difficult to locate. Follow the instructions of previous reviewer Carol. However turn right when you see the Armani store and turn right again into a courtyard to the hotel. Breakfast is good and room is clean. The only downside is wifi is very weak in the room. My room is 403.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Cecilia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014

Had the most perfect time in Venice and the hotel played a big part in this, the location was fantastic and the staff were so friendly and helpful! Stupidly we left our passports in the room safe but we had left our luggage there whilst we had a final look around and they had found them and put them in a envelope for when we picked up our luggage so it was happy days.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gail154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,958 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,524 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 884 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing