We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to everything but far enough away to be quiet”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #26 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Close to everything but far enough away to be quiet”
Reviewed 11 May 2014 via mobile

Three weeks into our European holiday and we enjoyed 2 wonderful nights of rest here after exploring the delights of Venice
The hotel is situated in a quiet little courtyard, away from the hustle and bustle of the nearby Grand Canal, but a very easy walk to the Rialto Bridge, San Marco Square and other major sites. Being so close to the Rialto Bridge also means very frequent Vaporettos in both directions
Our room was beautiful, spacious (junior suite) with separate day lounge area. The bed was comfortable, we had the best sleep of our holiday so far (not really sure if that can be attributed to the bed or three weeks of walking around 15km a day, either way, sleep was bliss!)

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank CarolynM66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    979
    298
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
187
839
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (185)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Level Contributor
50 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Stopped 3 nights at the Al Codega and would recommend highly. Great location as 5 mins from St Marks square and the Rialto Bridge. Hotel is in a nice courtyard and the décor is nice throughout the hotel including the rooms. All the staff were very friendly and the breakfast was very good, especially the scrambled eggs. Will stop at this hotel again when returning to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireRA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel staff were so helpful. Before we even arrived they assisted with info on transport options from the airport to the hotel. They were always welcoming, friendly and helpful. Our room was lovely and it was a treat having the beds turned down each night. The continental breakfast exceeded our expectations and was a perfect start to the day. Location wise the hotel was perfect too. We enjoyed a wonderful trip to Venice.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Victoria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rugeley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

The hotel was in a perfect location ,very friendly staff bedrooms were cleaned every day ,and beds turned down each night breakfast was plentiful , while we were there we had our 35 wedding anniversary ,for this we were given champagne and flowers , on the day wonderful surprise ,you would love it ,it is so quaint and beautiful .Away from the hustle and bustle but close enough to make your way to rialto bridge, St Marks Square on foot ,all in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janean S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

There are many good things to say about this hotel, but it's location is the standout feature; 5 minutes walk from St. Marks in one direction and 5 minutes walk from Rialto bridge in the opposite direction. We had a superior double room which had a neat alcove with an additional bed for our daughter. Rooms were reasonably spacious and very clean and comfortable. Staff we're very helpful and the housekeeping staff particularly so when our daughter became ill with a bug that was doing the rounds of Venice (according to the pharmacy). Breakfast was an array of small fancies, and I see it mentioned in many reviews, but I'm not sure that it was geared to Northern European tastes. Overall a very good choice of Hotel and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend it.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim263
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for our honeymoon and couldn't fault it. The rooms were lovely and spacious and were cleaned every day. There was plenty of breakfast choice every day we were always full. We didn't eat here for dinner so not sure what the evening meal was like but if it was like the breakfast we're sure it would've have been very good.
The tv is built into the mirror on the dressing table which was a very nice touch.
The hotel is a little hard to find at first but once you get used to it it's quiet easy, it's about 3-4 mins from St. marks square and the Hard Rock Cafe.
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we hope to return and stay here again soon.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jems16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Reading all the other reviews our expectations were high for this hotel. We were not disappointed.everything about this hotel is absolutely brilliant and we would not look at any other hotel when we return to Venice. We had viewed the directions to the hotel on YouTube and my husband had requested a map from the hotel prior to our visit, so it was not too difficult to find. We were greeted by very pleasant and helpful staff. The bedroom was spacious and very clean and decorated to a very high standard. Buffet breakfast was excellent with a really good selection of meats, cheeses, cereals, fresh fruits and pastries. The only criticism was that there was not a lot of room around the buffet stands if there were a lot of guests in the room at once. A minor detail!
Location of hotel very good with San Marco and Rialto only a few minutes walk away.
Looking forward to visiting Venice and this Hotel again very soon.

Room Tip: We were told to ask for courtyard room but room 304 was quiet enough
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#29 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,959 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Ca' dei Dogi
Ca' dei Dogi
#25 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 766 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Antiche Figure
#9 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,525 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,773 reviews
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#16 of 385 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 885 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing