We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel, Perfect Location”
Review of Hotel Al Codega

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Al Codega
Ranked #27 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, UT
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel, Perfect Location”
Reviewed 17 October 2009

This hotel lived up to the hype:
Excellent: Location, bed, bathroom, decor, service and free continenetal breakfast.
Nice quiet stay, the staff had very good restaurant recommendations. My only complaint is that the Wireless internet is not free (seriously, all hotels should provide this service for free). We would certainly stay there again!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank imsoezgoin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,338 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    995
    299
    27
    15
    2
See reviews for
189
853
43
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
waukesha,wi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 September 2009

My husband and I spent 2 nights post cruise here. We loved the location, in a small courtyard, in great walking distance for everything. Away from the noise and crowds of the the crowded Grand Canal area. The hotel has only 28 rooms. Our room was very small, but we booked the room knowing it was the "classic" double. Even tho it was crowded with our bags, it was full of beautiful furnishings, including Murano lighting fixtures, fabric walls, tv built into the mirror,beautiful updated bath..shower only. The breakfast was included in our very reasonable rate (for Venice) and was cold...fresh croissants and bread, fruit, cheese, meats, cereals, juice etc. Plenty to chose from. The staff was wonderful. With the windows open to our room, it was noisy with people walking by on a side road. But in the evening the windows blocked out the noise beautifully and we slept very well on the great mattress! We definitely enjoyed the atmosphere of the small sitting area and enjoyed the use of the computer for a minimal charge. Wonderful hotel!!!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank embandjhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pittsburgh,pa.
2 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2009

I spent an incredible amount of time researching Venice hotels. I booked a room here strictly on the very favorable reviews that I read on this site. They were 100% right. The room was large ., the largest so far, and especially clean. It was nicely appointed and very quaint . It WAS difficult finding the place, especially dragging 3 bags around with us in the cobbled streets. We didn't have time before we left for Venice to download the map that the hotel sends out with the confirmation, so I would recommend you doing that. It was very convenient to the Sam Marco area , but because it is located in a courtyard, it was very peaceful as well. The breakfast was fine, not over the top, but certainly adequate.The staff was very courteous and responsive to any requests. Of all the 5 hotels that we stayed at during this last trip, this hotel was definitely a true gem and I would stay there again

Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank pittsburghtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2009

Nice room; hotel located in a cute little courtyard - hard to find it initially - however everything in Venice is hard to find until you get your bearings; recommend printing the map the hotel sends you with your confirmation; have patience - you WILL get lost; good breakfast

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lruminski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide
Level Contributor
46 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2009

We had a last minute change to this hotel as our hotel on the Grande Canal was fully booked. What a relief.

This litte gem is tucked away in a beautiful courtyard within walking distance of the San Marco Piazza. The room overlooked the courtyard with three windows that opened outwards. I felt like I was in the country as it was so quiet without the hustle & bustle of Venice.

The room was immaculately clean and tastefully decorated. The staff were always friendly and willing to assist. The breakfast was delightful and presented very tastefully.

I am in the hotel industry and this boutique hotel is right up there with 5 star hotels.

What a pleasure to have stayed there.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Dewingsue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
1 review
Reviewed 9 September 2009

This place is an absolute gem. Nicely tucked away in a courtyard in the heart of the San Marco sestiere, the Al Codega has style, charm, friendly staff and is nicely appointed. Large rooms with air conditioning (a must for August in Italy!) and a good breakfast spread in the morning.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pants026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2009

This hotel had an excellent location - right in the centre of everything and only a few minutes walk from San Marco (St Mark's Square). If you print off a Google map to walk to the area of the Hotel and then the map the hotel provides to find the exact location of the hotel then you should have no problem finding it.
The staff were very friendly and helpful and our room was very clean. We were very impressed with the size of the room (there was a little hallway with a wardrobe and somewhere to put our bags) and the beautifully tiled bathroom. The room also had air conditioning which kept us nice and cool. The breakfast was lovely with alot of different things to choose from in the buffet including cereal, eggs and cake! This was one of the cheaper hotels in central Venice near San Marco which is why we chose it - however we thought it was a lovely hotel and excellent value for money.

Tip - Make sure you go for a "Tourist Menu" when dining out - this will save you alot of money on the final bill!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LaurenPete
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,985 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Residence Corte Grimani
Residence Corte Grimani
#24 of 385 in Venice
891 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,793 reviews
Castello
Hotel Sant'Antonin
Hotel Sant'Antonin
#17 of 385 in Venice
938 reviews
San Marco
Corte Di Gabriela
Corte Di Gabriela
#10 of 385 in Venice
731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Al Codega? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Al Codega

Property: Hotel Al Codega
Address: Corte del Forno Vechio San Marco 4435 | San Marco, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#20 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Al Codega 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Al Codega reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Al Codega Hotel
Al Codega Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing