We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, terrible water pressure.”
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #105 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This place is in a great location for getting around Venice - in between the Rialto and Piazza San Marco. The rooms are small, with barely enough room to navigate around the bed, but I imagine that's normal in Venice. The water pressure in the hotel made for the worst shower experience I've ever had. If someone else is using the hot water, the temperature becomes very cold, and it seems as though whenever anyone flushes a toilet in the entire hotel, the water becomes scalding, except of course if someone else is already using the hot water, then water stops flowing out of the shower head altogether. This made the total shower time about a factor of 3 greater, on average, because I had to stand there waiting for the water temperature to return to normal.

The breakfasts were fine. Canned pears and pineapples, small highly processed cups of yogurt, OK pastries and coffee from a machine.

Members of the hotel staff were friendly, but it's annoying the amount of paperwork one needs to sign off on when first arriving. I've been other places where a similar number of signatures were needed, but they didn't demand you do so before checking into your room.

They have air conditioning, which is great. The only annoying thing about it is that there are no controls for it in the room. One needs to call the front desk and ask them to turn it on or off.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (610)
There are newer reviews for Hotel alla Fava
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 610 reviews

Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Alla Fava. The staff is fantastic (Sara is so nice), rooms are very small and the shower is a fun exercise every morning to get the right temperature ( too hot or too cold). Breakfast was divine. The hotel is just five minutes from Rialto ( the directions from the hotel website were great) and maybe 10 minutes walk from San Marco. Would stay there again for sure :)

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Acpfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (early 30s) and I was extremely disappointed when I walked into our room. For the price I was expecting a little more. The beds were uncomfortable and the linen was basic. Air conditioner was very noisy and the wifi (which we paid for) kept logging out and wouldn't let us back on. Although the lady at the front desk did provide us with a new log on for no charge, which we really appreciated.
The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room in very small so get there quick.
The location was fantastic as less than 5 minute walk from St Marks square and the Rialto bridge.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kylie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was my first time in Venice, and to be completely honest, I didn't know where to begin when choosing a hotel to stay, so I decided to go with this one based on its ideal location and the price. My main needs were that it was in a safe location with easy access to the main sights and to public transportation. The hotel fulfilled all my needs and more; the location is ideal, right by the Rialto bridge, with easy walking distance to all the main sights. At the same time, it is tucked away from the main busy streets, so it gives you a break. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, and simple, and I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful, attentive, and friendly. I also loved that breakfast was included (and that it was quite yummy!).

I would highly recommend this for both short and long term stays in Venice, especially if you are looking to save a bit of money in this expensive city.

Happy travels! :)

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

we stayed for 4 nights in March 2013.The hotel is quite easy to locate and is within easy walk from the rialto vaparetto stop.If you reach the square with the Disney store simply go down the side alley over the bridge and the Alla Fava is right there so manageable with luggage.First impressions very favorable we were greeted by Sara,and shown to our room.She spoke good English and was very friendly.The room was tall and narrow with 2 twin beds window overlooking the alley and if you craned your neck you could see the canal.it was clean and beds were comfortable en suite bath had a nice selection of toiletries,clean fluffy towels good shower plenty of hot water.the location was key as Hotel Alla Fava is central to almost everything a tourist needs in Venice we walked all over.Breakfast was served in an old cellar nicely decorated with a good selection of food breads pastries cheese meats and yoghurt and fruits coffee tea juice there was a toaster too.I was very happy with our choice and would definitely recommend the Hotel to others.Clean safe good location very good breakfast pleasant desk staff and priced right do not hesitate to book this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Ruth D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

Nice hotel in a convenient but more quiet area. Staff was extremely helpful in recommending restaurants and places to visit. Room was small but comfortable. Would definitely recommend to others and return in the future.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Leanne N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2013

We went in the Hotel Alla Fava for our wedding birthday and what we found there was a very beautiful hotel, very good situation in Venice downtown, easy to reach and not expensive.
That said, the most important thing for us is the way we've been welcomed: that was just PERFECT! We were there during the America's cup and even during this overloaded period all the staff remains available, friendly, arranging and very professionnal. I really hope to be able to go back in Venice and i'm pretty sure it will be in the Alla Fava Hotel ... except maybe if they are full!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Gaetan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#83 of 384 in Venice
435 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#101 of 384 in Venice
429 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#99 of 384 in Venice
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#131 of 384 in Venice
438 reviews
Castello
Hotel Canaletto
Hotel Canaletto
#111 of 384 in Venice
1,137 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#106 of 384 in Venice
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #105 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £88 - £855 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava overlooks Campo della Fava, a small square where Casanova used to meet his young lovers. In the square, the church of Santa Maria della Fava hosts some famous works by Giambattista Tiepolo and Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. Hotel Alla Fava is one minute from the famous Rialto Bridge, one of the main sights in Venice hosting the rich and colourful fruit and vegetable market which enlivens the heart of the city every day. St Mark’s Square and the Bridge of Sighs are also at walking distance. The main public transport hub on the Grand Canal is 3 minutes away and connects to the main sights, to easily reach the islands in the Laguna: Murano, Burano and Torcello. When staying at Hotel Alla Fava, everything Venice has to offer is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing