We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Hotel alla Fava

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel alla Fava
Ranked #102 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
100 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Really great location 5 mins to Rialo and 8 to San Marco in a small square. Lovely staff. Breakfast is good and the shared bathroom is clean. Shower is pretty small so if your a big person its a tight squeeze. We had a small room which was clean and suitable to our needs. Would recommend

Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank SAMANTHA J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

585 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    233
    255
    68
    20
    9
See reviews for
119
288
60
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Czestochowa, Poland
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 August 2013

Great STAFF - nice, friendly, willing to help ... and great location - the heart of the city!

I would recommend. Although some of the rooms are so small that putting step through the door at once you are in bed ... ;)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Karolina L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level Contributor
43 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013 via mobile

The hotel is all about location. Very near to San Marco and Rialto. Hence you can practically reach everywhere in Venice easily by taking vaperatos. Reaching the place is simple enough for us. We took Alilaguna straight to Rialto. From there, it was just a 10-15 mins walk (difficulty level: medium).
The hotel itself is OK. It's a small hotel with even smaller room with smallest shower room we ever encountered. Water pressure was quite slow but not too bad. Breakfast was fine but after 2 days, we got tired of the same thing. The staffs are really friendly and courteous, stark contrast to those working in restaurants and cafes.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Xander_Shah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Haven, Connecticut
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 July 2013

This place is in a great location for getting around Venice - in between the Rialto and Piazza San Marco. The rooms are small, with barely enough room to navigate around the bed, but I imagine that's normal in Venice. The water pressure in the hotel made for the worst shower experience I've ever had. If someone else is using the hot water, the temperature becomes very cold, and it seems as though whenever anyone flushes a toilet in the entire hotel, the water becomes scalding, except of course if someone else is already using the hot water, then water stops flowing out of the shower head altogether. This made the total shower time about a factor of 3 greater, on average, because I had to stand there waiting for the water temperature to return to normal.

The breakfasts were fine. Canned pears and pineapples, small highly processed cups of yogurt, OK pastries and coffee from a machine.

Members of the hotel staff were friendly, but it's annoying the amount of paperwork one needs to sign off on when first arriving. I've been other places where a similar number of signatures were needed, but they didn't demand you do so before checking into your room.

They have air conditioning, which is great. The only annoying thing about it is that there are no controls for it in the room. One needs to call the front desk and ask them to turn it on or off.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Matt G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level Contributor
54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at Alla Fava. The staff is fantastic (Sara is so nice), rooms are very small and the shower is a fun exercise every morning to get the right temperature ( too hot or too cold). Breakfast was divine. The hotel is just five minutes from Rialto ( the directions from the hotel website were great) and maybe 10 minutes walk from San Marco. Would stay there again for sure :)

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Acpfernandes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 July 2013 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 nights (early 30s) and I was extremely disappointed when I walked into our room. For the price I was expecting a little more. The beds were uncomfortable and the linen was basic. Air conditioner was very noisy and the wifi (which we paid for) kept logging out and wouldn't let us back on. Although the lady at the front desk did provide us with a new log on for no charge, which we really appreciated.
The breakfast was good, but the breakfast room in very small so get there quick.
The location was fantastic as less than 5 minute walk from St Marks square and the Rialto bridge.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kylie141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2013

This was my first time in Venice, and to be completely honest, I didn't know where to begin when choosing a hotel to stay, so I decided to go with this one based on its ideal location and the price. My main needs were that it was in a safe location with easy access to the main sights and to public transportation. The hotel fulfilled all my needs and more; the location is ideal, right by the Rialto bridge, with easy walking distance to all the main sights. At the same time, it is tucked away from the main busy streets, so it gives you a break. The rooms are clean, air conditioned, and simple, and I found the staff to be exceptionally helpful, attentive, and friendly. I also loved that breakfast was included (and that it was quite yummy!).

I would highly recommend this for both short and long term stays in Venice, especially if you are looking to save a bit of money in this expensive city.

Happy travels! :)

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
2 Thank Klara K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Rio Venezia Hotel
Rio Venezia Hotel
#88 of 385 in Venice
412 reviews
San Marco
Hotel San Samuele
Hotel San Samuele
#105 of 385 in Venice
470 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Casa Petrarca
Hotel Casa Petrarca
#137 of 385 in Venice
430 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel San Salvador
Hotel San Salvador
#100 of 385 in Venice
411 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Orion
Hotel Orion
#110 of 385 in Venice
777 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Hesperia
Hotel Hesperia
#90 of 385 in Venice
977 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel alla Fava? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel alla Fava

Property: Hotel alla Fava
Address: Campo de la Fava Castello 5525 | Campo della Fava, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #102 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel alla Fava 2*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Alla Fava overlooks Campo della Fava, a small square where Casanova used to meet his young lovers. In the square, the church of Santa Maria della Fava hosts some famous works by Giambattista Tiepolo and Giovanni Battista Piazzetta. Hotel Alla Fava is one minute from the famous Rialto Bridge, one of the main sights in Venice hosting the rich and colourful fruit and vegetable market which enlivens the heart of the city every day. St Mark’s Square and the Bridge of Sighs are also at walking distance. The main public transport hub on the Grand Canal is 3 minutes away and connects to the main sights, to easily reach the islands in the Laguna: Murano, Burano and Torcello. When staying at Hotel Alla Fava, everything Venice has to offer is just a short walk away. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel alla Fava reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing