We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot in Venice”
Review of Oceano Mare B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Oceano Mare B&B
Ranked #52 of 457 Venice B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
rome
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“The perfect spot in Venice”
Reviewed 9 August 2012

The B&B is located in a very quiet area of Venice and only 5minutes from San Marco square. The building is a real Venetian house and the owner, Nicola, was very helpful: he also provided tips and guidances for the best places to be in the city. The breakfast is good and we felt very safe and confortable since the very first second we step in the room.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank monicamasRome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    141
    39
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
38
100
6
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Poland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We had a fantastic stay in this B&B which is located away from the horrendous crowds of S.Marco next to the Arsenale in a charismatic quiet residential area & convenient for the ferries to the southern islands & Bienale gardens. It was a real pleasure to hang out in the neighbourhood & wander through the labarynthine narrow streets of Castello, & a great pleasure to meet Nicola, who takes obvious pride in providing a very high level of customer care for a modest operation. As mentioned in other reviews coffee is available all day as is a selection of useful guide books and maps, all of which Nicola will make time to talk you through. Our room was small, but well furnished & kept clean & proved a welcome break from the high temperatures. Nicola is a great host & genuinely hysterical conversationalist who makes you feel like you're visiting an old friend. All is all it was sad to have to leave & I hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryPawlowski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 July 2012

it is only B+B but it was realy good, clean and very obliging. i would recommend it to all tourist. and also Nicola, the owner, is very helpful and a good guide. it was a fantastic experience to live in a typical Venetian house. nice nice nice!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank nael a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darlington
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2012

Last minute decision to vist Venice for 4 nights(back 2 days ago), can't believe our luck in finding this great little B&B. First, Nicola the owner is a wonderful host. he sent clear instructions and regular communications about travelling from the airport( Alilaguna Blue Line) then met us at the stop and showed us to the B&B, pointing out landmarks to help us find our way through a maze of tiny streets.He made sure we had a drink and a map before leaving us to settle in. Our room was at the back and quite small but was spotlessly clean and quiet with very comfortable beds and plentiful clean towels(changed regularly).The air conditioning was effective and the mini bar basic but the cheapest we've ever had. The location is approx 10-15mins walk from St Marks square,in a very old part of Venice,it had a very local feel. Breakfast was simple, plentiful and fresh, typical continental with unlimited access to tea/coffee at all times. Nicola was very helpful with advice on getting around,places to visit and eat, all in all it felt like staying with a friend rather than in a hotel. We had a great stay and would certainly return.If you like local, simple and homely this is for you but you will need toilettries/own hairdryer might be a bonus if you use it lots.After reading other comments, we also visited the Lido and enjoyed a relaxing, different side of Venice for an afternoon but were advised that the water isn't very clean in August. We recommend taking the waterbus no.1 along the Grand Canal early morningfor a great view.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NorthernGirl40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Close to the centre of Venice, but far enough away from tourists. Good value for money, and a nice modern looking B&B. A warm, friendly host, who was keen to give advice on where to go.
A nice spread was laid out for breakfast, with a coffee machine available all day.
There are some church bells that go off frequently, which might annoy some. Personally didn't bother me.
Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hibbytam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2012

I would give this B&B a 4.5 rating if I could. My husband and I stayed in the Occhi di Mare room on the third floor for 6 nights: double bed, ensuite bath (shower only), facing away from the main street. Bed was comfortable, A/C worked well, great shower, room cleaned daily and good simple breakfast daily (with fruit) provided. We loved having the tea/coffee/hot cocoa machine at our disposable at all times! Nicola was a funny and hospitable host with lots of great stories and recommendations to share. The bar at the nearby campo had refreshing spritz for 1,80 euros (vs. 2-4 euros elsewhere). Location-wise, not the most central area but we preferred to be away from the main tourist drags. Note: wifi signal in our room was a little spotty and bathrooms don't include any toiletries. Over all, we had a comfortable stay at Oceano Mare and would not hesitate to make it our "home" when we return!

Room Tip: Rooms on the 2nd floor may have stronger wifi signal. Family rooms available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ememef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2012

Nicola was a friendly, excellent host. He met us at the water bus stop as we decided to take the water bus from the airport direct to Venice. He told us many stories about Venice and "Simple Minds" , as he used to work for one of the guys who was in "Simple Minds". The suite myself and my boyfriend were given was good value for money. As we had a hallway and a separate room with a sofa and desk alongside an en suite and our bedroom, it was practically two rooms for the price of one! The breakfast was also amazing, with everything you need to set you up for today. Food provided ranged from cheese to cakes to cereal. Tea, coffee and juice was freely available throughout the day. This was particularly useful in a city like Venice, where a cup of coffee can set you back 10 Euros if you go to a very "touristy" place. Our host also recommended local restaurants for us and things to do. This is probably the best value for money accommodation in Venice. I would highly recommend! :)

Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank daisy_blonde_87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
B&B Casa Baseggio
B&B Casa Baseggio
#69 of 457 in Venice
192 reviews
Castello
Ca' Bauta
Ca' Bauta
#40 of 457 in Venice
241 reviews
Castello
B&B Gli Angeli
B&B Gli Angeli
#194 of 457 in Venice
93 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Veneziacentopercento Rooms & Apartments
Castello
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
Bed & Breakfast Giardini
#110 of 457 in Venice
120 reviews
Castello
B&B Laguna724
B&B Laguna724
#218 of 457 in Venice
9 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oceano Mare B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oceano Mare B&B

Property: Oceano Mare B&B
Address: Castello - Calle Dona 2703, 30122 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #52 of 457 B&Bs / Inns in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Oceano Mare B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotel.de, Priceline, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oceano Mare B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing